Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker

Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker

Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker brews a full 12 cups and dispenses one fresh cup at a time Forget the Carafe™ means no pouring, no spilling, no breaking and no burnt coffee flavor Features a removable water reservoir makes filling easy Adjustable auto shutoff which is customizable from 0-4 hours Gentle warming heater maintains coffee's temperature with no hot plate to scorch coffee flavor Versatile brewing, choose from bold, regular or small-batch options Can be programmabled for iced coffee Dispense coffee with one hand Model Number: 47900
Average Customer Rating:
4.206 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(146 Reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (146 reviews)
5 stars
93
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
12
1 star
11
118 of 146(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Truro, Nova Scotia
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Bad experience

Date:April 16, 2014
"I first bought this coffee maker 6 months ago but it failed to produce hot coffee. I did contact the manufacturer and they did replace it though I had to pay the shipping. The second one was bit better but now is extremely slow to make the coffee and will not use all the water put into it so it's hard to judge how much water to use now. I'm extremely disappointed and am not on the hunt for something better."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

Trouble

Date:March 4, 2014
"We bought this machine 6 months ago and are disappointed. The push button to dispense the coffee continually gets stuck and causes coffee to pour onto the counter. The bottom of the brewing basket looks as though coffee is burnt onto it. Not the best tasting coffee."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nepean, ON
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Pretty Good Brewer!

Date:March 4, 2014
"I bought this Hamilton Beach BrewStation to replace my old Hamilton Beach BrewStation when it bit the dust after several years of good use. This one has newer features that the old one didn't have, such as the 2-bean selection for a stronger brew and variable "keep warm" time settings. The new detachable water reservoir is very handy for filling without spills. The coffee tastes great immediately after brewing. The two drawbacks that I find with the newer model is that 1) the heating plate seems to get too hot and, in a short time, the coffee tastes "burnt". The heating plate develops coffee build up quickly which again indicates to me that the heating plate is too hot. And 2) the dispenser button is very stiff and, even with 8-12 cups of coffee inside the unit, you need to steady the unit with one hand while dispensing the coffee so that the coffee machine doesn't slide around on the counter. I've had this newer unit for about a year and it's still performing with reliability. Programming feature works beautifully, too! Good value, particularly when you catch it on sale!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Disappointing!

Date:January 22, 2014
"Bought this product after reading the mainly positive reviews. Although I do like the removable water reservoir, it leaks if we use the programming feature. We wake up with a puddle of water and only about half of the intended amount of coffee. And now, after only 4 months of use, the reservoir that holds the brewed coffee has cracked and is leaking coffee into the bottom of the machine. Glad we didn't pay full price for this coffeemaker!"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Suprise!

Date:January 3, 2014
"This product was not as exactly as shown . I don't like all the pieces that come off. The warmer has stopped working after five months, until now I have sworn by Hamilton Beach Products ."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Coffee from a Different Perspective

Date:November 26, 2013
"Due to a medical condition my hands shake terribly, therefore, when trying to pour coffee from a glass carafe more coffee was on the counter than in my mug. Very frustrating. With this coffee maker I no longer have to pour coffee, but just push my mug against the button and wow no messy spills.
The coffee stays so hot and fresh for hours. I love it. Thank you HB and CT for giving me this coffee potj."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

avoid

Date:November 13, 2013
"worked fine for 4 months, now leaks water builds up below where the coffee sits and must be drained each time to avoid it leaking on to the counter. love the last design hate this one not even worth returning it even under its warranty as its only 5 months old"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Wow! What a great idea....

Date:September 25, 2013
"My husband who is the coffee drinker in the house picked this Brewstation for a variety of reasons.
1. This coffee machine comes completely apart for cleaning.
Ever try cleaning the water reservoir because of the slime that builds up at the bottom over time? Fighting to turn it at the right angle to get to it.
*Well with the BREWSTATION, the water reservoir comes completely off to be filled or cleaned.
*The brewed coffee holding compartment is large. Ever put alittle too much water in and have it overflo? The BREWSTATION made it big enough that if that happens... no overflo. :)
*My husband's coffee cup is huge, holds 6 cups and it fits under the dispenser spout.
* It is very easy settings, and has reg/bold setting.
*Does anyone else hate the beep when the coffee is done? and if the coffee maker is left on another beep before shutting itself off?? The BREWSTATION has NO BEEPING. It's silent! You hear the muted sounds of coffee brewing but that's it.
Now that that has all been said, let me say that my husband read all the reviews before getting his machine and had a couple people complain about leakage. Yes, we had the same problem but if you take a minute and a screwdriver and tighen the screws holding the warming plate in place under the coffee holding reservoir. We are assuming that the screws are tightened by machine.. and not quite enough, just tighten a couple turns is all it needs to ahear back with the
heat resistant silicon.
"
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor design

Date:June 25, 2013
"I like the concept, but design needs improvement! There is a steam hole on top of the lid at the very back of the unit...every time I brew coffee the steam shoots out of the hole and steams my kitchen cabinets, which over time will wreck them!!! I have to have it pulled all the way out to the edge of my counter which looks stupid... If this doesn't bother you, it is overall a good coffee maker."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta, Canada

Love it!!

Date:May 20, 2013
"I bought my husband one of these when Canadian Tire put them on sale back in 2008. He loved it! It just died this month(not even, just the basket broke, the element still works!) and luckily, Canadian Tire had them on sale again. The new updates are awesome. We love the extra bold feature that makes your coffee a little stronger, and the fact that you can program it to stay warm for up to 4 hours! All in all a great item!"
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Delhi, ON, Canada

Makes good coffee

Date:May 19, 2013
"Makes good coffee and seems to use less coffee than a drip system. Like that there is no caraff also."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great coffee maker

Date:May 18, 2013
"We absolutely love this coffee maker. The changes they have made are great, and make brewing a pot super easy!"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Huntsville, ON, Canada

ok

Date:May 14, 2013
"love that you don't need a carafe, but doesn't keep coffee hot!"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:vancouver

Amazing deal

Date:May 13, 2013
"Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker sale price is incredible deal for this basic yet full functional machine"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great quality

Date:May 13, 2013
"Great quality for a great price from Hamilton Beach."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal' qc

Very good for coffee on the go

Date:May 7, 2013
"Very good, just a warning to avoid spilling don't move your mug too fast"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island

Wouldn't have anything else.

Date:April 26, 2013
"I live in a remote area and when my original BrewStation failed after many years of faithful service, I was without a brewer until I was somewhere where I could get another BrewStation. Features: after 2 hours, the heater shuts off so that coffee doesn't get over-cooked and concentrated. It also greatly extends the life of the unit. The coffee stays fresh and a cup can be given a shot in the microwave all day and is still good coffee. Love not having a carafe to spill, break, or burn. I've had the present unit for 10 years and its as good as new."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great for the First 1 1/2 Years But.....

Date:April 11, 2013
"I was very happy with this coffee machine but am sad to say that after a year and a half of trouble-free use, it is now leaking everywhere. I had read this about the machine before I bought it but balanced that off all the positive reviews.
I clean it regularly but to no avail. Leaking started slowly but has now rendered the machine useless.
Sad, as it makes decent coffee and excellent iced coffee, yet I expect a coffee machine to last longer than this.
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, Ontario

Not worth it

Date:March 29, 2013
"I bought one of these last year, it's a pain in the bum to maintain. The coffee is not too warm on start, but it will heat up quick, however, cleaning is a pain, and now it does not pour at all. I tried to clean it and ended up breaking it... not worth the effort."
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach BrewStation™ 12-cup Coffee Maker
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC

Excellent Choice

Date:March 4, 2013
"First review I have ever written and thought I would write one because I found the other reviews helpful. Ok here is the lowdown on this coffee maker. I have had it for about 2-months now and I found it does take some getting used to. Here is my specific feedback:
Coffee quality is good and no burnt taste that you get from carafes just like they say. The reservoir is easier to fill that a regular coffee maker, just open it up and let the water run while you grind your coffee. The cord is very short and I had to re position it as a result. There is a fair amount of condensation like some of the other reviewers mentioned, although I just shake it off in the sink and would consider a minor inconvenience. The reservoir is easy and fast to clean, quick rinse and you are done. The coffee maker can move if you push hard or coffee levels are low, however if you have it up against a wall or are gentle with it, no issue there. You can get coffee very easily while it is brewing and it doesn't drip like some coffee makers do when you do that. Heads up, we couldn't fit the extra tall Starbucks travel mug in there although we just filled up our mug a few times and poured it in. All in all, would give it a 8.5 out of 10.
Cheers and hope this helps."
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8