Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Roll Away Cat Litter Box

Roll Away Cat Litter Box

Cleaning the litter box is not fun, so make it quick and easySelf cleaning litter boxEasy to use with little maintenanceDesigned to work best when combined with clumping style littersMinimizes dust creationSome assembly requiredMade in Canada
Average Customer Rating:
4.038 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
20 of 26(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Review 1 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Great Litter box

Date:June 9, 2014
"I have really bad tendonitis in my wrist so scooping a regular litter box is agony. Being able to roll this box over to clesn the litter is great."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

works great

Date:May 6, 2014
"As long as you are using quality kitty litter and cleaning often, this product works great! super easy and fast. some small pieces get missed but is an easy clean up after."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dartmouth, NS, Canada

roll away cat litter box

Date:May 21, 2013
"I recently picked up the 'roll away cat litter box' and am so glad I did ..I have had many cat litter boxes over the years and have always gone with scoopable litter ..I really hated scooping that cat box every day ..this litter box has really changed that because it is so easy to do it doesn't feel like as much of a chore ..you simply roll it to one side then back to the other and it sifts the waste into a side compartment which is basically a drawer you pull out and dump then stick it back in add litter if it is low :) wow I am so impressed and also the price was great ! I defientely recommend if you have cats to get this box and never bend over to scoop again"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing product. Would recommend to everyone

Date:May 7, 2013
"I purchased this product because of my allergies when I was given two cats. It was a god sent. Inside has two lines one for the minimum of litter required an one for the maximum amount to be in the box. It is designed to keep litter in and not tracked all through my home. When it's time for a cleaning u role it one way, then the opposite way then gently bring it back to the middle. Once done all the dirty litter is now in the pull out drawer to be dumped. You literally just pull it out it comes right out and dump it into a bag then slide it right in. NO FUSS! NO MESS! I would recommend this litter box to a stranger on the street that's how impressed I am with it. I hope future buyers love it as much as I do.."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Taber, AB, Canada

Best litter box ever

Date:December 14, 2012
"We have had cats for almost 40 years. This litter box seamed like a good idea so we bought one. It works exactly as shown on the package. Mind you we have a small female cat and she has no trouble fitting inside the box."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary Alberta

Roll Away Cat Litter Box

Date:December 2, 2012
"I got this a few months ago and have to say I love it and a way better way of dealing with litter than scooping but... The one problem I do find it it is to small. It would be great for a kitten or very small cat. We have three cats and as I was watching one in there the other day I realized why there is always a mess on the sides with urine and clumped litter. It is so small that he couldnt move in it properly to be able to go without hitting the sides of the box and then he couldn't cover it up after going as he couldn't move inside properly. He had his head and paws outside the box trying to cover it up . Just doesnt work LOL. If they increses the size of this box it would be great or maybe just having a small cat would be OK"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada

AWESOME TIME SAVER!

Date:October 12, 2012
"We had 2 medium cats and it worked perfect for them sharing, even if we were rushing, we just tipped came back home and cleaned it. Even our 6 year old came to not mind doing the litter. Great product!"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:January 17, 2012
"So I was in the process of adopting a cat from the shelter and I was really debating on an automatic litterbox. I HATE cleaning litter boxes... So I was reading reviews for many different boxes and I've read so many great one's about this litter box. I figured if so many people are raving about it, it must be good! So now after using this litterbox for a couple weeks now I can honestly say that I LOVE IT. The only time I have ever had to scoop was when tet litter was stuck to the side. Only once is over 2 weeks Ive had to do this... so no complaints here. I understand that it seems like a little "much" to spend on a litter box, but to me its completely worth it!! Go for it because its honestly less then one minute and its all there in the little slidy thing. NO COMPLAINTS ITS GREAT!!!"
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Too small

Date:July 7, 2011
"Followed all tips from review ".. if you use it properly", but the problem is that the cat has to use it, and there is simply not enough space inside to sit in working pose and then stand aside and bury results. Mind that it is not a large Maincoon, even not a big domestic cat, rather on lower side of medium sized cats (Nebelung mix).
Cons:
- too small to be used by medium sized cat,
- looks too big for the room,
- requires a lot of floor space to roll the box sideways, on the roof and even little more, this floor space should be unobstructed from the top - for you to bend while rolling box (can't kneel). Common litter box under side table is much more comfortable for both of us and looks less obtrusive.
- After using it open and adding roof only to remove wastes, solid waste breaks when rolling and smears over the rooftop inside, what adds even more work. This usually doesn't happen when use common spatula.
The same clumping cat litter was used in both cases.
Pros:
- it can be used open as a deep litter box,
- less sand outside than with low, common litter box,
- cat appreciates deep sand in the box,
- it works for collecting clumped cat wastes after adding the roof, if you don't mind all additional work and space required,
- size should be enough for a small cat.
I appreciate the effort of manufacturer to make our life easier, did my part by buying and not returning this product, but it is not working for my cat.
FYI: outside the lower part of box looks the same size as a common litter box, but after adding grid it becomes 1/3 smaller, just enough for cat to sit and do its job, head and tail outside the box."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB

Works well if you're willing to use properly

Date:February 16, 2011
"I've owned this model and the larger model sold elsewhere for over 6 months now. I'm very happy with the results, however I've learned some tips that have made for the best experience.
- this model is too small for multiple cats. Great for 1 cat, or perhaps 2 if they're small
- you must maintain the proper level of litter for this to work well. I've found that keeping a depth of 3" works great. After doing a "roll", I usually top up the litter with approx the same amount of material that I removed. I have a nice scooper that I keep in the litter container for this.
- you must be willing to roll this unit regularly (for me it's every day). Failure to do this will result in lumps too big for the catcher bin, and chunks sticking to the bottom. If you're not willing to do this then you're wasting your money here. The rate at which you roll depends on your cat(s).. you'll find out in a few days how often you need to do this.
- Some people have complained about the catches, however I've had no problem with them. Just make sure they have engaged fully and check them once in a while to see if they've come undone.
- These units will keep your litter lasting longer than a regular pan, however at some point you will have to do a complete change. You can tell it's time for that when things are not too "fresh" anymore and/or you have a lot of small clumps that slip through the "grate". I usually do a full changeout at the 6 week point and do a complete change inside at the same time.
- My cats love these units. Overall I think it results in a cleaner experience for them, and an easier job for me. I keep a bin next to the unit (with a bag and tight lid) nfor dumping the chunks each day; this system has resulted in a lot less work and odour to deal with."
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:BC

Overall pretty decent

Date:January 29, 2011
"The only problems I have with this litter box are that my cat is quite fat and with the cover on she doesnt seem to be able to use it so I just keep the cover off and put it on to clean it and that smaller pieces sometimes make it through the screen so they dont end up in the catch all and the litter isnt completely cleaned. It's still the best litter box I've ever owned because I despise cleaning litter boxes and this one takes all of 1 minute to clean"
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:October 16, 2010
"I love this litter box! It is such a great time saver and my cat always has a clean litter box because it takes literally a minute to clean it and dispose of everything. I use it with Worlds Best Litter and it works miracles! I just roll it and flush it all down the toilet"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Stratford, PEI

Not A Good Product

Date:May 31, 2010
"It looks good and the concept of this litter box is great, you roll it over and collect the undesirables in the catch tray. This part of it worked as stated, but it is a very messy product. The cat can't seem to keep the debris inside of the container. I was constantly sweeping up cat droppings from the floor. My cat isn't that big, medium size at best! If you don't want to be cleaning up after your pet all day or have your house smelling like cat poo, I would not purchase this product."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

using it as normal litter box

Date:May 13, 2010
"clumps too much and yes I've tried a bunch of types of litter... Had to make sure it didnt have too much litter in it either or it didnt work and would pour out ( couldnt use much) Was a pain to pull out of its spot just to roll it. I took out the 'filter' part and I'm using it as a normal cat littler box (I had 2, next time I'm just going to buy a simple box)."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The absolute best!

Date:December 13, 2009
"I've had mine for 3 yrs now and absolutely love it. I put the bottom half into an oversize garbage bag and then after smoothing the bag out, put the screen carefully in. I then fill it with litter and smooth the bag some more before putting the top on. The litter doesn't stick (which it does in any box) and clean it every day. Sometimes you have to tap the bottom but thats it. When it comes time to give the whole box a deep cleaning, its a breeze to take it apart and remove the bag so all the litter stays in the bag and whala your box is empty! If you don't clean it often enough the drawer will become too full when rolled and get stuck, but if you leave it that long, its going to smell just like any uncleaned littler box. Yuck! If you over fill it with litter as well, clean litter will spill into the drawer and be wasted but after using it a few times, you get the hang of not over filling it. People say they don't even realize I have a cat except for seeing the cat as there's absolutely no smell and I have to keep my litter box on the main floor by the bathroom and bedrooms.. I use Independent's store brand litter which works extremely well in this box. I have the small one as my cat isn't very big but I bought 2 large ones for my son's 3 cats at his home as they're quite a bit larger and never had a problem with the cats using them. I'd recommend this box to anyone!"
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product

Date:October 30, 2009
"Easy to use, no more arm breaking jobs to clean the litter box. Be sure the clips on the side are secure. Only down side is it does generate a bit of dust when you roll it."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada

Even my 8 yr old daughter can do it

Date:April 9, 2009
"I decided to purchase this product after reading some of the other reviews. I believe that 7 out of 9 said they liked this product, I'll make it 8 out of 10. It is so easy to clean and saves a lot on time and effort so even my daughter can do it. Iloveagoodproduct wish I had known before how well it worked I would of purchased it long ago."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS

helpful

Date:December 22, 2008
"I've had ups and downs with this, one cat had many accidents outside the box and one has had Not one problem with it.
If it doesn't have enough litter "stuff" gets stuck, a little small for one of the cats (the smaller one for some reason), i use walmart brand litter and it works great with it, also a lot cheaper. I haven't tried liners, i always keep litter full.
I empty it everyday because even though we cannot smell it the cats can they are sensitive and need constant cleaning of their bathroom. I don't/haven't wasted any litter beause i don't over fill it, you learn how much it needs to be at it's full potential. Overall it is pretty good. You need space to roll it though or you'll need to pull it out, or just scoop it as usual.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Nakusp, BC

Disappointing Product!!

Date:November 18, 2008
"We purchased this product thinking it would be ideal for our home. We soon realized that the box is far too small for a typical cat. We were constantly cleaning up "accidents" OUTSIDE of the litter box. The cats did not like going inside such a small area. WE can also vouch for the fact that good litter also ended up being wasted as it ended up in the disposal tray. Litter also ended up clumping and clinging to the sides of the litter box without the use of expensive liners. We also found the locking mechanism to be of a poor quality. Overall the concept is a great one but the execution is severely lacking for this product. We will be returning our Roll Away to the store."
-6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Roll Away Cat Litter Box
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast & Easy

Date:November 4, 2008
"Roll over litter box is amazing! So easy to use! Just roll it over, roll it half way back and empty the tray! Takes seconds. No mess! Can even use tray liners so litter does not stick to bottom. Have given demos to several friends, they have all been amazed at how fast & easy it is and are buying their own. I highly recommend this product!"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2