Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Barware or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for 72-Bottle Wine Rack

72-Bottle Wine Rack

Space-efficient design lets you assemble a connoisseur's collection in small spaceSturdy steel construction combined with the natural beauty of woodHolds a variety of bottle sizes up to 1LReady to assemble
Average Customer Rating:
3.97 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
28 of 33(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Review 1 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Value

Date:August 31, 2014
"So not be put off by negative comments regarding assembly, it is very easy and should easily be done in one hour. A few tips
Make sure you have a level service, I put a floor mat on our table and it was ideal, no bending. Start off with four of the slotted strips to form a #, use the wooden blocks to hold the structure together and add more slotted strips. I did not have to use a mallet much, most of the blocks can be pushed in by hand. When installing the backing strips just hammer the nails half way so you can adjust fit, it magically squares everything .
When complete the unit looks great, excellent value for money on a per. Bottle basis
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great product; Bought several

Date:June 29, 2014
"I currently have four racks attached to the wall and stacked one on top of another, two wide two high. There is a trick putting them together, watch the video. However, I did learn a few tricks along the way, after putting the centre post in, I continued to add posts across the centre and along the outside, forming a letter "H"- it will make more sense after you've see the video. Also on the advise of another review, in place of the nails I used #6 wood screws, he used 1"1/4 and I used #6 1" screws. I feel better about that considering that they were ultimately stacked and wall mounted. The local store did not have the extender kits in stock, which I am glad because I used several pieces of PVC white plumbing pipe, big enough and long enough to hold a wine bottle and act as supports between the two racks instead which I feel is sturdier. Also these were mounted against a plywood wall AND I used plumbing strapping for additional support."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

It works for me

Date:March 4, 2014
"We bought 2 racks. Watch the instruction video twice. Started putting together the first rack, tried to do things my way, and was frustrated. Watch the video again, followed the step-by-step way of putting it together. And voilà, one rack. Put together the second rack exactly as per the video in 35 minutes. Very happy."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Quick, Easy, & Sturdy

Date:February 17, 2014
"Can't believe how many websites I checked out for a simple high bottle count storage solution I could just slide into a basement closet. Went with two of these and I had them both together and full of wine within a couple hours. The video online of how to assemble it is crucial. One in five blocks give you a hassel but a rubber mallet worked great. One major flaw is how sharp the the metal is. Be mindful around it with your hands as i took a few chunks out of my knuckles. Currently have 134 bottles tucked away and I couldn't be happier. I also recommend wall mount hardware to properly secure each unit."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sturdy Product

Date:October 15, 2013
"We've been using one of these racks for 6 years now. It's been through more than a thousand bottles of wine and is still standing like brand new."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:calgary
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Worst product ever.

Date:September 7, 2013
"Front of rack is unsecure and falls apart when bottles are added. Repairing item is difficult without unload entire rack and removing from wall. Building item was time consuming, with the finished product very flimsy. Total cheap junk."
-5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS, Canada

Worth the effort

Date:May 27, 2013
"I assembled two of these over the last year.
Albeit they can be cumbersome to assemble, some finesse and skill are required, you will be rewarded with a sturdy high capacity wine rack.
If you build two, make sure you leave a 3.75" gap between the units to achieve an additional 9 spaces.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible product

Date:March 2, 2013
"I don't know who writes these reviews but this is a terrible product. The metal cross bars are of poor quality, they warp as you're trying to assemble the rack. I will be returning this product immediately!"
-14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ONT

Excellent for wine collectors

Date:September 5, 2012
"I purchased 4 of these units for my husband who is an avid wine collector. They went together without any problems whatsoever and really helped organize the collection. We are going to have to drink more wine or buy more units :)"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Medicine Hat, AB

Great wine rack!

Date:August 25, 2012
"This worked out fantastic for us. The unfinished wood looks great on it's own, but we were able to stain it to match our kitchen. We even used fleck paint to paint the metal to match the light switch face plates in our kitchen. It is SUPER sturdy and works better than we imagined. It is actually quite simple to put together, just follow the directions, look at the diagram and you are good to go! Not to just need to fill it up with bottles!!"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kamloops, BC

Holds the wine...

Date:February 5, 2012
"I've got two of these 72 bottle racks and one of the 30 bottle racks. They do the job just perfectly. They don't look that great, but I keep my wine collection hidden in a closet anyway. I'm not sure why so many people had a hard time building it. Just follow the directions and do it on a hard (perferably concrete) floor. Don't try to build the metal frame completely first before inserting the wood pieces. Use the wood pieces to provide support to the metal peices as you contruct it. ie. Hook two metal bits together, and secure them with one wood piece, then add more metal, then support with wood. Otherwise, it would be a nightmare. I used the nails that came with it with no problem at all. Was a breeze."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ON

GREAT PRODUCT

Date:January 11, 2012
"wait for this to go on sale for 50%. It's an excellent product and like everyone says, easy to put together if you take your time.
i purchased 2 of them with the joining kit and stacked them in my wine cellar and lagged to the wall. look great when full of wine.
an excellet wine rack for the sale price.
"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:BoisBriand

Some assembly Required

Date:June 26, 2011
"Some assembly Required that's an understatement! Took me about 1 hour. I like puzzles and this felt like one, was fun to figure out if you have the time. Just be sure to have some patients and assemble all the metal and wood pieces together. My arm was tired after hitting all those nails (I think there are 72, 1 for each piece of wood! ) Looks nice once assembled but I got it on sale would never pay the 99$ asking price I got it for less then half that. 1 note just lightly put all the nails in all pieces then hit them all in at the end. This will help in setting up. Yes and the first step you can assemble the metal mesh fully as I did or assemble little parts and use the wood to hold it together I read some others did that after and would have been easier then keeping the pieces together that way."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Owen Sound, Ont

solid wine rack

Date:May 13, 2011
"Like recent reviewers I had no problem assembling these racks. However I had initial problems with steps 1 & 2 as the metal frames are fiddly. I found it easier to assemble the outer frame and then to hold it with the corner wooden pieces. The to add internal metal bars and to add the wooden pieces as I built it up. This way you start to have some internal rigidity which makes it easier to move around. It took less than 30 mins to complete metal frame with all wooden dividers in place. I also found it easier to use screws as other people have recommended"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

best wine storage option

Date:December 11, 2010
"yes patience is needed but it's not difficult to assemble. i have zero patiience and got this done within 90 minutes. the only recommnedation is to use # 6- 1 1/2 woods screws, do not use the nails they provide you with. if you're looking for wine storage this is must buy when on sale!"
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Patience required

Date:November 3, 2010
"Once set up this rack is sturdy, relatively attractive and expandable. The assembly, though simple will require some time and patience. I was able to assemble it in an hour but dropped a few f-bombs along the way. Getting the initial frame set up is a challenge and may require an additional set of hands after that it's just mind numbing assembly but easy. Seems a bit pricey for what you get so I reccomend waiting until it goes on sale. I suppose I would buy it again to expand but there's got to be better products out there in the price range."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga

Great Wine Rack

Date:September 11, 2010
"Have read the reviews about this wine rack and cannot believe people complain about putting this together. I took my time and it only was a couple of hours. Solid, looks good, and holds my wine perfectly. Don't hesitate about purchasing. BUT. Wait until it goes on sale. Usually 40-50% off. Great deal.
cheers"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

OK, But Not as "Easy" as Claimed

Date:August 17, 2010
"I purchased the wine rack yesterday. I came home at about 9:30 and started to assemble the rack. My hope, based on prior reviews, was that I would be finished within 30 minutes. By 11:00 I had to quit for the night and had to re-start this morning.
The instructions are a cut above useless. You get 4 pictures, no written instructions and I ultimately had to abandon the instructions. The instructions would have you build the metal frame first and then add the blocks. This is almost impossible. Instead, I had to put together a few of the metal slats together (doing it the opposite of the diagram) and then put on the blocks to keep it together. I then expanded this until I could add everything together. In effect, I combined steps 1 and 2 and eventually it came together.
Maybe I purchased the one where the guy whose job it was to saw the slits in the blocks was having a bad day, but some of the slits were wonderful and the block just slid right onto the frame, while most of the slits were poorly sawed and required a bit of work.
The metal is aluminum and flexible. This is both beneficial and also a real pain because you are constantly worried about bending or breaking the metal. This might have been a little less of a concern if they provided you with an extra or two but you required 81 of each of the metal strips and you got exactly that many, so no mistakes could be made. This became problematic when I made a mistake in the hammering phase as I didn't understand the diagram at first and then had to take out the nails which caused one strip to get very bent out of shape and then had to be re-bent.
In the end, I did get the wine rack assembled and it looks nice enough. It was not as impossible as some of the prior reviews have suggested - although I could certainly see where the frustration came from. By the same token, it ultimately took me about 3 hours to get it put together as it was certainly "fiddly" as one prior review put it. 30 minutes to assemble - no way. As my wife said to me last night while I said a few choice words at one point (and after I had read the reviews before I bought the product) - "don't say you weren't warned"."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fiddly but great value

Date:July 26, 2010
"I'm about to purchase the smaller wine rack to complement our existing one.
These racks are very fiddly to assemble, personally I found it very easy once I got the initial hang of assembly. For me, the easiest way was to start in a corner with the outer pieces and then work in from there.
Once assembled and attached to the wall, they are rigid and firm. As someone else posted, not the prettiest piece of furniture but once filled with great wine, who cares??"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for 72-Bottle Wine Rack
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't waste your time

Date:January 27, 2010
"What a joke of this product. I returned it with pleasure. hard to assemble, poor design, terrible instruction, expensive.
My previous review on this items was never posted???
"
-8points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2