Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Starfrit Rotato Express

Starfrit Rotato Express

Starfrit Rotato Express is ideal for peeling and paring vegetables and fruitsNo need to touch or hold the vegetable while it is being peeledNon-slip baseCompared with two spare blades (stored underneath)Includes 6-volt adapterReplacement blades can be purchased by the consumer through the vendor's C
Average Customer Rating:
3.533 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
9 of 15(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Starfrit Rotato Express
Review 1 for Starfrit Rotato Express
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Renfrew, ON, Canada

potato peeler

Date:May 9, 2013
"I was very glad that Canadian Tire refunded my purchase. This is one Starfrit product I do NOT recommend as I have problems with my arms. You are better off buying an apple peeler for potatoes than this."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Starfrit Rotato Express
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingston, ON, Canada

Best Kitchen Tool Ever

Date:December 5, 2012
"I have been using Rotato's for years. My ten year old one died in the middle of peeling 35lb of potatoes. Got a new one at Can Tire and finished the rest of the potatoes in no time!
I am giving these as gifts for Christmas this year!
Best kitchen tool ever!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Starfrit Rotato Express
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:London Ontario

Starfrit Rotato Express

Date:November 17, 2012
"I Bought this for my Mother today, she has Parkinsons so I thought this would come in handy for her. BUT! as soon as I took it out of it's box and set it on the counter, the cheap plastic arm that holds the blade fell off!, and a spring went flying across the room. I managed to snap the plastic arm back in place, and I found and reinstalled the dinky spring that helps the plastic arm hug the potato while it cuts (by the way..the spring is a joke!...it looks like a flimsy ball point pen spring! )
Anyways...I brought this piece of junk back to the store and exchanged it for an electric can opener, that I thought might help my Mom as well.
Don't waste your time and money on this flimsy piece of poorly constructed "TOY".
By the way...the first potato that my mother grabbed to put in the unit, couldn't even fit in it! It will only peel medium to small sized potatoes, and it still leaves a substantial amount of peel still on both ends of the potato as well...so you still have to peel it anyways! FLIMSY!! & USELESS!!
"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Starfrit Rotato Express
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON

Was good for the first few times

Date:May 15, 2012
"When I came across this product last summer., I was pretty happy with my purchase. I used it a about 5 times that summer. I would of used it more. But as anyone knows. Boiling potatoes in the summer gets too hot in the kitchen, plus all the condensation. I didn't use it till later that fall once it cooled off. I got about 5 more uses out of it till it started slowing down. then eventually just died. So, it pretty much cost me $2.50 per use. Meh :/ ...no biggy.
I guess that's the price for being lazy..
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Starfrit Rotato Express
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whitehorse, YT

This thing is fun!

Date:February 7, 2012
"I just got finished peeling another large pot of potatoes. This thing is great! It gets the peel off the potato lickety split.
Note: It doesn't peel clean! There's a bit of peel left on the top and the bottom. Any large eyes or rotten spots are not trimmed out. It does handle REALLY odd shaped potatoes.
However, unlike what the directions say, you don't have to hold the machine while it peels the potato. It takes about the same amount of time to trim up and cut up the last potato while it peels the one you are working on.
My children (6 & 8) love this thing. We now fight over who's going to peel the potatoes.
Bottom line, I think I can get a pot peeled about 3 times faster than by hand. I have peeled at least 50 potatoes by now, and haven't noticed any blade dullness yet. (It comes with 3 blades. More can be ordered from Starfrit -- though it might be nice if CT carried them.)"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Starfrit Rotato Express
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, Ontario

Fantastic, I was very impressed

Date:October 30, 2011
"We just purchased this and my wife is so happy with it. She made too many potatoes for supper just because she was having so much fun peeling them. A great little machine. Plastic is not too sturdy so be careful when pushing the top part into the potato. Make sure the lever comes down by pushing down the front and back at the same time. Other than that it seems sturdy enough to last, and at a fair price."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Starfrit Rotato Express
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC

Not very good!

Date:October 19, 2011
"When I used this peeler to peel apples, it doesn't peel the top or bottom of the fruit so you either have to cut them off or peel them manually anyways.
It worked okay at first, but then after a few apples, it kept getting clogged and needed to be cleaned. Evenutally it stopped working altogether and the blade even fell off! It worked for less than an hour!
I returned it and am still on the hunt for a peeler that works."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Starfrit Rotato Express
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kanata, On

Braked after 10 times use

Date:March 11, 2011
"I bought this product in December 2010 and used maximum 10 times. It does peel potato fast and really save your time. After 5th time of use I noticed that motor making weird sound and rotation slows down sometimes. I check my power adapter and even installed new batteries but it did not solve the problem. Finally it completely died. It was a good idea however quality of this product is unacceptable."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Starfrit Rotato Express
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB

Best kitchen utensil ever!

Date:December 3, 2010
"My husband bought this for me for Xmas 2009 so I've been using it almost a year. I absolutely LOVE this peeler and will NEVER go back to manual peeling again! In minutes I can peel potatoes for stews, soups, and mashed potatoes!
I never used to make mashed potatoes during the week because it just took too long and was a huge hassle during the week. Now we have mashed potatoes all the time!"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Starfrit Rotato Express
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hazelton, British Columbia

Fun...

Date:November 22, 2010
"If you have to help your wife by peeling the spuds, this is the toy. It's fun to use, works well and is a breeze to clean up. You can even deep fry the peelings for the kids, they love them. Makes a tedious job fun."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Starfrit Rotato Express
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:alberta

love it

Date:January 28, 2010
"i have never peeled a potato/apples etc by hand again. i love this gadget."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Starfrit Rotato Express
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Grande Prairie

Don't waste your time

Date:November 21, 2008
"This product was useless. Tried to peel an apple when I got it home and it just kept plugging up the blade. My apple looked like someone had tried to kill it. Returned it and got my money back. The old starfrit manual apple peeler was a 10 times better product."
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Starfrit Rotato Express
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sudbury, ON

Great Purchase

Date:April 9, 2008
"I love the Rotato Express. I especially love it for peaches. It really is a must have for every kitchen. You will love to use it."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Starfrit Rotato Express
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia

Best Kitchen Gadget

Date:March 24, 2008
"This is a great product. It does a great job peeling potatoes, apples etc., saves lots of time, peels items in a matter of seconds. It peels cleanly too. Great product for anyone with stiffness in their hands and finds a manual peeler hard to use.
You can plug it in to use, or operate it using batteries.
This is a must have. Saves times and works great.
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Starfrit Rotato Express
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vaudreuil

One of the best purchase I ever made!

Date:March 10, 2008
"This is a great item! My husband and I purchased it because I was allergic to the starch on potatoes. Little did we know that the Rotato would save us so much time. It peels a potato in 10-15 seconds.
We've used it for apples, pears, potatoes, etc. I highly recommend this to everybody!"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?