Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Specialty Appliances or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Samurai Shark Knife Sharpener

Samurai Shark Knife Sharpener

Multi-purpose sharpener for cutlery, scissors, tools, appliances, etc.Even sharpens serrated blades
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Samurai Shark Knife Sharpener
Review 1 for Samurai Shark Knife Sharpener
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC

Ok but not good

Date:October 7, 2014
"Could never get consistent results. After sometime it would not hold the same angle."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Samurai Shark Knife Sharpener
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:toronto
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Nice kitchen tool

Date:October 6, 2014
"This knife sharpener works well, is affordable and takes up little space. Good tool for my kitchen"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Samurai Shark Knife Sharpener
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC

Good, but not for use with high-end knives

Date:April 29, 2011
"I've owned this for about 4-5 years, I think.
It has served me quite well and contrary to a few other reviewers, I feel the build quality is good and it feels quite solid.
I would agree that the adjustment dials are too small and quite a pain to use, but since I've owned it I don't think I've used them more than 5-6 times. Although perhaps if they were easier to use, I might have used them more.
The key thing to note about this product, other than it works quite well, is that it really strips a lot of metal off your knife. This is exactly why a previous reviewer indicated that this sharpener is fine for your less expensive knives.
If you have knives worth over $100 DO NOT ruin them with this product. Knives of high quality need to be gently sharpened with a stone. Never use anything that remove strips of metal on your quality knives.
I myself don't own anything of very high quality so I don't mind stripping away with this sharpener.
In summary, if you're buying your knives from Canadian Tire, then this is the product to sharpen them."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Samurai Shark Knife Sharpener
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:K-W, ON

Works great...but didn't last

Date:September 5, 2010
"This is a terrific tool for keeping your kitchen knives their sharpest. It functions on the same principle as the stay-sharp knives that are sharpened each time they are slid into their case. If you like razor-sharp kitchen knives, this is the tool for you. Unfortunately, mine fell apart after about 6-months of use. I am probably going to buy another, but if that one also falls apart I will look for something else."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Samurai Shark Knife Sharpener
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Recommended for sharpening knifes, etc.

Date:January 25, 2010
"This product is very good at restoring dull knifes, scissors, etc. back to their original sharpness.
If a can opener is a necessary item in any household, then the Samurai Shark Knife Sharpener is an essential tool for the kitchen or tool room."
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Samurai Shark Knife Sharpener
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon, SK

Pretty Good

Date:January 22, 2010
"This is a convenient sharpener and a good product for the price."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Samurai Shark Knife Sharpener
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa,on

can't go wrong

Date:November 30, 2009
"Very,very user friendly,would buy again if i need another,will never use sharpening steel again"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Samurai Shark Knife Sharpener
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

An interesting tool.

Date:August 14, 2009
"This was purchased mainly for the purpose of sharpening/honing gardening tools: i.e. pruners etc. Tools with a single edge such as pruners don't really open up wide enough to use the "delta" blade properly, it would have helped if there was a little less plastic around the edge of this product.
The idea of this sharpener is quite sound but over generalized in many cases. For your average $20 kitchen knives I wouldn't hesitate to use this to bring back an edge, but for those with more expensive knives, the angle used to re-profile may not be akin to that found on your own blade. The V shaped blade doesn't seem to have an adjustable angle, but does have an adjustable width for tools with a thicker blade.
It's no substitute for a proper stone + oil sharpening block, but it is okay for your "rougher" more aggressively used edged products. May require extra patience when using for gardening tools.
It's build leaves something to be desired, but when considering the price to performance ratio, it's really not bad. However in absolute terms, there's too much plastic, and the knobs you need to turn are a bit small.
For those of you who are wondering whether this is really a sharpener, and not an edge honer, the manual inside says it does take off a thin film of the edge, so with that description it does qualify as a proper sharpener, but its method of sharpening reflects that of a honer.
Overall = OKAY, for your cheaper tools."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Samurai Shark Knife Sharpener
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Surrey, BC

Works great. a must have

Date:July 25, 2009
"I bought this to sharpen some kitchen knives that have gone dull and it works. It works well. I also brought my old Swiss Army Knife back to life with it.
Also worked well sharpening scissors.
I've had it for about 2yrs."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Samurai Shark Knife Sharpener
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

RAZOR SHARP & SIMPLE TO USE!

Date:December 11, 2008
"I love to cook and any cook will tell you, a sharp knife is a must. Yes I do have a "traditional" knife sharpener in my expensive block of knives, but nothing sharpens like this, INSTANTLY! Great buy! and A must have!!"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings-Only Reviews for Samurai Shark Knife Sharpener
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1