Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Bike Racks or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for SportRack 2 Bike Tilting Platform Hitch Rack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

SportRack 2 Bike Tilting Platform Hitch Rack

Tilting Platform Hitch Rack carries up to two bikes with a max weight of 90 lbsUses rubberized hooks to protect the bike's finishHooks and wheel tray adjust to fit all bike frames and sizesCentre post folds down for easy rear of vehicle accessFits 1-1/4" or 2" (3 or 5 cm) receivers
Average Customer Rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
8 of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SportRack 2 Bike Tilting Platform Hitch Rack
Review 1 for SportRack 2 Bike Tilting Platform Hitch Rack
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Wrecked the finish on my wife's new bike

Date:May 31, 2014
"The arms that press onto the top tube of each bike loosen with travel, the foam disintegrates at the point of contact and the arm wiggles all over the bike frame effectively removing the paint finish. Tightening it with Hurculean strength and wrapping it with electrical tape was to no avail."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for SportRack 2 Bike Tilting Platform Hitch Rack
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cheap solution if your bolts has been strip.

Date:June 10, 2013
"I have this rack for two year now and it has been great except if your bolt has been strip, Cheap $0.43 solution is to bring your bolts to a hardware store and get new bolts replacements. I went to Lowes and it cost me 0.43cents per bolt. I bought 8 just in case if others will be strip.
If your buying at Lowes below are the bin details:
Carriage Bolts- Zinc Plated
Bin No. 234738
5/16 x 2 1/2
0.43cents each
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for SportRack 2 Bike Tilting Platform Hitch Rack
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Holland Landing, East Gwillimbury, ON, Canada

Great product, HOWEVER.

Date:November 28, 2012
"Like other people, I tighten the clamps too hard and stripped the bolts. Very poor quality, however, a quick fix with screws from C.T.C. For the price I paid, on sale, and the way it holds the bikes I would still say buy this over other types of racks. Just let very weak non O.C.D. people tighten the clamps."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for SportRack 2 Bike Tilting Platform Hitch Rack
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo, BC, Canada

Would reconsider product

Date:September 2, 2012
"Purchased in July. Used on a 4000KM trip which required the two bikes to be placed into and removed a minimum of 2 times a day over a 3 week period. The clamps that hold down the bikes in the cradle have now stripped. Appears that the bolts that are supplied to provide the tension for the clamps are very low grade"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for SportRack 2 Bike Tilting Platform Hitch Rack
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Fair value

Date:August 15, 2012
"I have had this rack for a about three years and first impressions were good. But now I am thinking about replacing it as I am having several minor problems. The plastic ties holding on the pins didn't last a year (and now I have lost a pin) and the rubber around one of the hooks has worn through. Also I can't tighten one of the hooks anymore."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for SportRack 2 Bike Tilting Platform Hitch Rack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ancaster, ON

Awesome bang for the buck

Date:April 17, 2011
"I bought this rack 5 years ago and its stood up to everything I've thrown at it including downhill bikes and driving across the country and back. Lasted until the rack got hit by another car so I guess it's time for a new one!"
+44points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for SportRack 2 Bike Tilting Platform Hitch Rack
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:edmonton, ab

good buy

Date:May 3, 2010
"just purchased this unit. assembly straightforward. plastic parts of questionable quality. mounting bike was quite simple. 500 km @ highway speed, bike never moved and no adjustments were necessary. so far , so good."
+42points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for SportRack 2 Bike Tilting Platform Hitch Rack
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing, on a long trip...

Date:September 17, 2009
"I was quite hopeful with this unit, based on favourable reviews, and the inherent attractiveness, to me, of a system that provided support to both the bottom of the bike and the top.
Having used it on a 4,000 km road trip, I’m a bit disappointed. It did go together well, and is sturdy and all that, but I’ve noticed the following:
1. the tower on my set up leans about 5% to the rearward. I’m not sure why, if it’s my hitch setup or not, and it doesn’t affect anything but attractiveness, but still…
2. more important, the system depends on what are essentially upside-down padded hooks to be clamped to the vertical post and slid down, and tightened to clamp against the vertical post, to keep the bikes in place. Driving down a rough interstate, especially if expansion strips or concrete slabs are involved, causes a lot of bouncing in a vehicle. That bouncing seems to be too much for the clamped-on hooks to control, and the rearward one constantly needed to be lossened, pushed back down, and retightened. Twice, fellow motorists had to signal that a bike was loose…the bouncing had displaced the hook so much that it no longer kept the bike upright, and the bike fell over to a 45 degree angle. Luckily the wheels are heavy enough that no damage was apparent, but it was not good.
I guess I’ll take the clamping thingies apart and make sure it’s not my error and then I’ll look for some augmentation strategy, like strong bungie cords or a ratcheting strap. The bottom line is, I’m disappointed to have spent the money, then finding myself worrying about the bikes on the back, awhile needing to do a little additional engineering."
+45points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for SportRack 2 Bike Tilting Platform Hitch Rack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bike Hitch Rack

Date:June 9, 2009
"This bike rack was a great purchase. It was very easy to put together, very easy to use and the quality of the unit is outstanding
There are better hitch racks out there but not for the price.
This rack exceeded my expectations"
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for SportRack 2 Bike Tilting Platform Hitch Rack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern Ontario

Good carrier

Date:May 23, 2008
"We recently purchased this bike carrier and have only used it once so far. Very easy to use, inserts into trailer hitch receiver easily, mounting bikes is great and they don't seem to move at all. So far, we would recommend this item."
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for SportRack 2 Bike Tilting Platform Hitch Rack
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

A better design

Date:November 10, 2007
"For heavier bikes (like electric bikes) or odd shaped frame-mounted suspension bikes this is a much better design for carrying them around. No different in concept from the bike carrier found on transit buses, this holds bikes securely and with less wobble and movement. Only catch is that it can only hold two bikes."
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for SportRack 2 Bike Tilting Platform Hitch Rack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Perfect Bike Carrier

Date:October 3, 2007
"We bought 2 electric Schwinn bikes and this double bike rack - We like this design as there are supports for the tires and the bikes are not just dangling in the air."
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?