Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Exterior Cleaning Products or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Meguiar's® Scratch X

Meguiar's® Scratch X

Safely removes light scratches and swirlsIdeal for vehicles with oxidation, blemishes and bonded contaminantsSafe for clear-coat finishes207mL
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Meguiar's® Scratch X
Review 1 for Meguiar's® Scratch X
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great for minor surface scratches

Date:May 3, 2014
"Works really well for minor surface scratches on my black vehicle but when it comes to the deeper scratches, it just does not cut it."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Meguiar's® Scratch X
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingston, ON
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Really good

Date:March 31, 2014
"After the freezing rain I didn't know better and used ice scrapers to get the ice off of my car and ended up scratching all over my brand new car! Luckily this product with minimal effort got rid of all the visible (but not deep) scratches on the paint as well as black trim on the windows. Just 30 seconds of rubbing with sponge and clean off with a microfiber cloth and it looks as good as new. Highly recommended."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Meguiar's® Scratch X
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:GTA

Surprisingly good

Date:May 10, 2012
"ok,this won't do very deep scratches even though it reduces their appearance a lot but for everything else it seems to work very well with minimal effort. Terry cloth pad and buffing with microfiber towel afterwards gave me very good results for minor scratches in the clear coat and wood trim. Recommended!"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Meguiar's® Scratch X
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not Great

Date:May 22, 2011
"Maybe ok for very very very light scratches or swirls, but anything else, not as anticipated."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Meguiar's® Scratch X
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:surrey bc

good formula

Date:February 22, 2011
"eliminates alot of the surface scratches and deep scuffs and swirls in paint. not for very deep scrathes."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Meguiar's® Scratch X
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worked great, better than what I expected!

Date:August 19, 2010
"My black truck was scratched up by a tree branch and the white scratches were noticeable enough. I got a quote of $380 to have it done professionally. One of the scratches was a bit deeper than the rest. I bought this product to avoid a fight with the hubby and it worked great. I didn't expect miracles but it certainly worked well enough on all the scratches I applied the cream to. I couldn't be more pleased. I did a few applications in the shade and buffed it out. I'm not a car person or a handy person at all, so I was happy with the ease of use and how well it worked."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Meguiar's® Scratch X
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clear coat scratches only

Date:April 29, 2010
"I used this when I had someone jump on my truck with a sandy bathing-suit. It scratched my entire hood. I applied this with a terry towel and buffed it off with a microfiber cloth and it took out 90% of the scratches that didn't go to the metal. Would definitely recommend to anyone."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Meguiar's® Scratch X
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't use on a black vehicle!

Date:May 31, 2009
"Don't use this on a black vehicle. I used it to try and remove a few spots left from bird droppings and it left a very light haze of swirls/scratches. I now have to polish it out."
-22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Meguiar's® Scratch X
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Gatineau, QC

Not bad for minor stuff...

Date:April 22, 2008
"If you think of fixing swirls and scratches by hand although possible, it will take a long time. You might want to try applying this product with a Random Orbital Buffer with a wax applicator bonnet and apply a bit of pressure to the desired area. Don't stay too long in one spot as heat is required for polishes and compounds to work better.
This is a very mild compound and will require patience and time to achieve results."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Meguiar's® Scratch X
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Only for really minor scratches

Date:October 22, 2007
"Originally bought this to remove minor spiderwebs on my car's paint surface. Didn't really notice a difference after applying. It could be that my car has a relatively hard paint service (BMW 3-series), so the polish didn't take much off the clear coat.
I have heard good things about this product from other people, so give this a shot if you have very minor spiderwebs or defects. If you have bigger scratches to take care of, then invest in a porter cable random orbit polisher.
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Meguiar's® Scratch X
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Don't expect a miracle

Date:October 4, 2007
"Don't get me wrong this is a good product for very,very fine scratches, just don't think it's going to fix that key scratch some one put down the side of your car. Application is easy removal requires a little more effort."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?