Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Paint Care or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover

Quixx Paint Scratch Remover

High-performance scratch remover permanently removes small, big and deep scratches from all paint finishesQuick and simple to use with professional resultsKit includes: One tube of repair polish, One tube of finish solution, Two polishing cloths, Four strips of sandpaper
Average Customer Rating:
3.611 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
13 of 18(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Review 1 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brossard, QC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Boosts the owners mood

Date:April 12, 2014
"Some "fellow driver" has hit my rear door with his door and disappeared. Maybe it was done on purpose because the scratch was not there just one day ago and I know I did not park anywhere close to other cars on that day. Yes, cars do get minor dents, scratches etc but when someone does it on purpose to your 3-week-old new $60K SUV - you can imagine that any owner would not be very happy about it. I did my research and found this product and similar 3M one. I have decided to go with Quixx for two reasons: it is made in Europe and its application is fully manual, unlike 3M where you need to use a drill. For small and very local scratches I felt more comfortable about using the product with my bare hands.
As instructed, I have tested its tube #1 and #2 first on an area just under the hood cover - it has the same paint as rest of the car and invisible when the hood is closed. After applying it I could not see any difference "before" and "after" so I have decided to proceed.
I had another area on the door step where there was a couple of tiny scratch marks so I have decided to try it there first. Just the tube #2 was not enough so I have tried #1 followed by #2 and it did the trick.
Then I proceeded to the scratch on the door. After cleaning it and doing the water test I was confident that the damage was not that significant so I started without the sandpaper - just tube #1. That was not enough, I still saw the marks. So I have cleared the area again and this time used the sandpaper provided, as prescribed - for about 15 seconds, no more. The result did look a bit scary but I expected it so I proceeded to the tube #1. After that I almost could not see the scratches so I have moved to the final phase with tube #2. After that - cleaned the area and applied some good wax to it. Then I asked my wife to come and find the spot that was damaged and she could not do it.
Clearly the product works. What I also like about it is that it is reusable, so it is not a kit that you open, use once and discard the rest."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vaudreuil
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Incredible

Date:September 25, 2013
"I had droughts this product worked, but after reading so many positive reviews I decided to give it a try.
I had these scratches from some tree branches on my 2011 Jeep after riding in the trails. One in particular was all along my hood, and it bothered me. It wasn't deep, I could not feel the scratch with my fingernail. I bought Quixx Scratch remover and it worked perfectly. Scratch is completely gone.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works as intended. But only as intended.

Date:June 24, 2013
"First when they say scratch they mean those scuffs under the door handles, and scratches that look like that and are that deep on other parts of the car.
If you can put your nail in the scratch, you could try Quixx Paint Scratch Remover or you should be using paint, and clear coat, not this product.
Second this and the mothers scratch remover are not magic, you don't just dab them on and POW ZAMO no more scratch.
Its a cutting compound. It needs to be rubbed HARD with the scratch to get dirt out of the scratch then in swirls over the scratches the clear coat that is scratched will be ever so slightly sanded down to a smooth finish removing the scratch
So all that having been said. It works really well.
Those scratches under the door handles. GONE. the little scuffs, and swirls in the paint from the automatic car wash GONE.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada

it is okay

Date:May 31, 2013
"it will "cover up" minor scratches, but if the scratches are deep enough to catch your finger nails, you will need a touch up pen.
products like this doesn't actually "remove" the scratch unless you use the sandpapers to sand down the clear coat, so make sure you know what you are buying, and please read the instructions.
over all, i would recommand it.
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

absolutely works

Date:May 13, 2013
"When I took my brand new motorcycle out on the highway for the first time I noticed after the ride the plastic panel beside the ignition was all scuffed and scratched from the keychain ring flapping around. My brand new baby was damaged! I just finished using this product and the panel has been restored to its original appearance. As the instructions say, you get better results the more pressure you apply as you polish. Totally thrilled with the result!"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Utter Garbage

Date:May 12, 2012
"Oh dear, what a mistake. If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is.
Read the instructions, watched the video and then tried to remove some scratches that were NOT particularly deep on a very, very nice car. And no, it isn't painted with nano or ceramic paint.
Quixx completely failed to perform and even damaged the surrounding paint, causing me to spend over an hour, (panicking) with other products to fix it.
"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Excellent, thanx

Date:August 22, 2011
"At first following the paper enclosed instructions, it didn't work. But when I went onto the company website and watched the video on how to do it, it worked. I was quite surprised. You need to blot the enclosed cloth with the tube labeled # 1, rub it to the scratch for a min or two, then wipe excess off with another damp cloth not enclosed. Then take the other enclosed cloth and use tube #2 and rub it on. The scratch disappears if you do it correctly."
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Product Is Awesome!!

Date:May 14, 2011
"Minor scratches to fingernail deep scratches, this product will fix it!!"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good result

Date:October 2, 2010
"I just used this product on a pretty deep key scratch on my car. Given how deep the scratch was, I didn't expect it to disappear -- and it didn't but without using sandpaper and touch up paint, the scratch is much lest noticeable -- hardly noticeable at all from a distance. You can still see it up close but it is toned down a lot. I also used this on a few other scratches that were more surface level and they disappeared. Well worth the $20."
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Abbotsford, BC

Worst Purchase Ever

Date:September 25, 2010
"It advertises on the box that it can even fix scratches that have gone through the clear coat. Well upon opening the box the instructions read if it has gone through the clear coat you will need to purchase the colour pen. Bought the colour pen which made the scratch look quite a bit better but still noticable. Then applied this stuff and followed the instruction....nothing happened. Waste of $20. Thanks."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Richmond, BC

not worth it

Date:July 11, 2010
"I followed the instructions in attempt to remove a minor scratch. It took a lot of work scrubbing and polishing, and all it did was make the scratch less visible. I probably expected more since the scratch I was trying to remover was quite minor, more like a scrape with sand. Anyways, it did sort of hide the scratch but that doesn't justify paying the retail price."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works very well

Date:January 22, 2010
"Works well on minor and medium scratches. On deeper scratches, you need to apply touch paint first then let it dry for at least a day before buffing it out."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Lachute, QC

OK at making small scratches slightly less visible

Date:January 1, 2010
"Purchased this due to the fairly good reviews. Must say I'm not very impressed. I tried this out on my girlfriend's black Accent and I followed the instructions the best I could. What this product did was make minor scratches slightly less visible from a far distance away. If you have some small annoying scratches that in particular annoy you, then you can give this product a try. If you have big/major/deep scratches, get it fixed professionally or buy a paint repair kit."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Doesn't "Hide" Scratches.

Date:September 1, 2009
"This works fine for "removing" surface paint or whatever on and next to a scratch ... but does nothing to hide a scratch or make it less noticeable when standing just 6 feet from your vehicle."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good product

Date:June 11, 2009
"I am a professional used car detailer / buffer, I have tested this product and in my opinion it does a very good job at removing deep scratches.
It will only remove deep scratches as long as you touch it up with a paint pen first; let the paint dry for a couple of days, wet sand it to make the touch up even with the rest of the paint than use Quixx. THE ONLY PROBLEM WITH THIS PRODUCT IS THAT IT TAKES WAY TO LONG TO DO A WHOLE CAR. Its probably going to take a whole day to do half of a heavily scratched black car. Your better off buying a high speed buffer, some touch up paint, medium compound and some high quality wax if your going to do a whole car, or several cars especially if you only want to spend 4 hours tops for exterior scratch removal and shining.
If you have just a couple of scratches than this will do the job"
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON

Impressive - I'm a believer

Date:July 28, 2008
"I was very skeptical of this but I had some significant scratches on the roof of my car from where a box was dragged along the top. 10 to 12 inches and the they were deep enough that you could feel them using the back of your finger nail.
Let's say up front, this is not a miracle worker. All it does is make the scratch non-visible or less visible depending on how deep it is. But I will say that after using it, I cannot see the previous scratches from 2 feet away, despite knowing exactly where they are. If I get up close and look from the side, I can still see them, but significantly less noticeable.
Few things to note, this takes a lot of elbow grease. The instructions do not give any sense of how much product to use. You may need to the repeat the repair process many times on deep scratches. I would also finish the process with a coat of wax over the repair area. Also, I would be very careful about using anything like a orbital buffer with this product, although if done right, it could improve the results with deep scratches."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto,ON

Deep,medium and minor scratches

Date:June 15, 2008
"I used this product couple of weeks ago and it did a good job with the medium and minor scratches. However I tried with deep scratches and it did ok job using the sandpaper but it just minimize the look of the scratch and not completly remove it. I'm just affraid to use the sandpaper because of the clearcoat how much I was taking off when using it. The product did it's job and they are some videos in youtube about this product that's how I found out about it. The only bad thing about this product is the sandpaper. They are 4 small pieces of the size of a finger ."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Quixx Paint Scratch Remover
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON

Fairly good

Date:May 30, 2008
"This product is amazing, fixes all simple scratches fast and effective. All you have to do is apply the first tube and polish the spot(s) for 2-3 minutes and then apply the second tube to get that glossy look you want.
Although sorry to disappoint you but this product does not work on deeper scratches, at least it hasn't worked for me. If you want to you can try and fix them but you'll have to sand them real good using the sanding paper that comes with this product. Then re-try the same steps and see if it works.
Overall very good product, it removed minor scratches from keys, little stones and the very oily indestructible tire marks left on my door.
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?