Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Exterior Cleaning Products or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Mothers® Back To Black

Mothers® Back To Black

Renews and protects all exterior trimPerfect for use on vinyl, rubber, plastic and flat surfacesWorks incredibly well on smooth and textured surfacesSurfaces look new again and will be protected against oxidation and deteriorationSurfaces do not need to be black to obtain superior results236mL
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Mothers® Back To Black
Review 1 for Mothers® Back To Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Milton, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Fabulous

Date:October 9, 2014
" I would certainly recommend this product to anyone who's vehicle has a lot of black moulded plastic as part of there vehicles body. Also any other faded black plastics. The faded plastics will come back to a true black instantly with this product from Mothers. It also lasts quite a while even driving while raining. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Mothers® Back To Black
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Back to Black

Date:June 4, 2014
" This product does work, brings black vehicle cladding back to black, it does wear off quickly. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Mothers® Back To Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS

Excellent Trim Renewal Product

Date:April 25, 2013
" This works great on my vehicle which has very dull black plastic pieces (Toyota Corolla). My car is black, so when the trim turns grey, it looks very dull. I use this every 3 or 4 days, which is how often i wash my car and it keeps all the trim looking nice. It also worked good on my dull black engine cover. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Mothers® Back To Black
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Spruce Grove

Great Cleaner!

Date:May 27, 2012
" This was a lifesaver after I had a incident and got some 3M High Perfomance Finish Wax on my black plastic fender flares on my 08 Ranger Fx4.
I cleaned the wax off best I could but it still left a streaky white stains on the plastic.
It took a few applicatioins to get it right down into all the little nooks a crannies but after a few weeks the stains were gone. It didn't make the plastic deep rich black for a long time but it did remove the wax stains.
A must have if you have solid waxes and black mouldings!
I found that other products keep the sheen longer although they couldn't get the stain out. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Mothers® Back To Black
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

Promising, but...

Date:January 23, 2011
" I was looking forward to using this. Having the Mother's name i thought is was a quality product.
It worked on the plastic trims and seals of the windows but it didn't last very long- i kept appling every month or so. I expected to last alot longer - so i was disapointed with it.
"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Mothers® Back To Black
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB

Does as told, just doesn't last...

Date:September 17, 2010
" I finally have gotten around to using this product after purchasing it a few months back and will continue to use it in the future. It works exactly as is supposed to. I used it on every rubber seal around my truck that is exposed to the sun which mostly meant all of the window trim seals around the windows. The were very gray in colour before because of uv fading from 15years of sun exposure and after the application of this product they looked brand new and very black. The only complaint I have is it doesn't seem to last all that long. Its been about 8 weeks since I used it and the seals are all starting to look more gray than black again. I guess I will just have to add this product to my regular exterior maintenance routine when I wax/wash the truck. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Mothers® Back To Black
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Product Misunderstood!

Date:August 24, 2010
" This product is a 'trim treatment' (bumpers, moulding, trim etc.) anything plastic, rubber or vinyl. It is not a vehicle wax. "
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Mothers® Back To Black
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

For black?

Date:January 14, 2010
" I don't really find this makes a difference on black cars. Maybe because it's not a premium quality wax. You can find better wax for black vehicles. "
-61points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Mothers® Back To Black
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Gatineau, QC

I does what it says... but...

Date:May 15, 2008
" It will do what it says but it's not durable at all. A bit disapointed and they should rethink of making this product better. Unfortunately, it's been sitting in my detailing arsenal for years doing nothing. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?