Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)

Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)

All-new garage-n-a-box design provides faster set-up and a stronger structure High-grade steel frame, with DuPont thermoset powder-coated finish that protects against chipping, peeling and corrosion ShelterLock stabilizers add strength and stability to frame Triple-layer, rip-stop weave fabric cover features UV coating, fade blockers, anti-aging, yellowing and fungal agents Easy Glide Cross Rail and Ratchet Tite tensioning locks-down and squares-up cover Great for seasonal, temporary, or semi-permanent protection for autos, boats, lawn and garden equipment and bulk storage This shelter is a temporary structure. Failure to regularly remove snow or ice could result in collapsing and/or buckling of shelter, potentially causing damage to property not covered by warranty We recommend using proper anchors, dependant on your sub-terrain, on each leg of the shelter for maximum stability. Clear any accumulated snow/ice from the roof structure regularly with a soft-sided instrument. We recommend always removing snow/ice from outside the structure.
Average Customer Rating:
3.233 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
9
21 of 30(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Review 1 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Stony Plain, AB
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good solution

Date:February 4, 2014
"I have had great experiences with these shelters. Ours have not leaked or fallen over. We live outside Edmonton, Alberta. We had our first one for 6+ years, and the fabric finally tore this fall. You need to set them up properly, stake them properly, and keep heavy snow off the shelter. Ours withstood rain, wind, hail, snow, and numerous sunny days. We have been thrilled for value for cost. Keep it level - put sidewalk blocks as a floor and it works great.
I've read the other reviews and can't comment other than to say these are not meant to be a garage.
"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Abbotsford, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Not great

Date:January 12, 2014
"Much as others have noted, this is not a durable unit. Living in the Vancouver area all it has to deal with really is rain and some wind. After the first year little tears started to appear on long the ridge. The fabric became brittle and now after a mild wind storm the roof section ripped right open. There was shreds everywhere. Rip stop fabric my foot! Save your money up a bit more and buy one with better material, you'll be happy in the long run."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pembroke
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Major Disappointment...Never again

Date:December 20, 2013
"The shelter fails to provide what every buyer is hoping that it will provide....namely, shelter. It fails because the cover is porus, meaning, moisture gets through the fabric. Any snow that clings on the roof will result with the inner side of the fabric frosting. Snow on the shelter roof will need to be removed, if not removed, the frame, however well braced, will not be strong enough to remain standing. You need to GENTLY raise the cover with a push broom will get the snow to slide off, but you better get ready for the snow shower that will be coming down on you. I could not believe how much gets through this thin fabric. Every piece of machinery that I have in this shelter is wet. Don't believe me...then buy one and find out for yourself."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brandon, manitoba
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Missing parts!

Date:October 8, 2013
"Be sure to put Shelterlogic on speed dial, because they will give you a runaround for WEEKS just to get the 3 parts that are missing from the box, and you can't assemble the shelter without! Pathetic customer service! One person promises to courier the parts out, and when they never arrive, nobody there has a clue who said they'd send the parts in the first place. Would never purchase a product from this manufacturer again"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Canmore, AB, Canada

Great Frames lousey covers

Date:October 2, 2013
"As the title says the cover is destined to last about 1.5 to 2 years if it is not completely shaded otherwise the UV rays eat it apart to the point of failure.
Manufacturer charges way too much for a replacement cover especially on a unit that you might hope would review well so you can sell more of them.
Canadian Tire must be making money at the dock with these things because they have been poor for many years and they still keep selling them to us consumers. Looks like payola to me.
CTC get these hunks of junk out of your stores and find one that will last in CANADA!!"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Spruce Grove, AB, Canada

Burned three times!

Date:May 27, 2013
"Over the past 5 years I bought 3 shelter logic kits. The first one lasted 2 years and then the cover completely ripped apart. The second one same thing! The third one I bought before the second one ripped and yes it to ripped apart. The frames all lasted fine but the material is only good for one year. I guess that is why the warranty is only one year. A replacement cover is the same cost as a kit on sale. If you want a shelter to last longer than one year do not buy this product. The first kit I bought 7 years ago (a different brand, same price) and it still stands strong!"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Response from Canadian Tire:By Canadian TireOctober 31, 2013
We apologize for the inconvenience. As the third shelter is still under warranty, you may want to consider calling the ShelterLogic Customer Service number for assistance 1.800.559.6175
Review 7 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:stony plain alberta

Older is Better

Date:March 7, 2013
"I have purchased 5 of these shelters for my acreage in central Alberta over the past few years.. The older ones have vertical walls and allow for wider vehciles such as my daully. This new stype of shelter has angled walls and it is very tight to get into the door of the truck and past the wide wheel wells. I also see that the poles and frame are smaller than they used to be and flimsey. The original shelter that I erected in 2008 is still standing although the tarp is now ripped. If I had of been home to sweep off the heavy snow fall that we had it would of still been intact."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not worth the money

Date:March 5, 2013
"Not suitable to Canadian weather. Handles almost zero snow load due to too wide of spacing on bars.
The material itself disintegrates after 3 years or less.
"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DO NOT BUY!!!!!

Date:January 11, 2013
"COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY IN CANADIAN ELEMENTS!!! THIS IS ONLY THE SECOND WINTER IVE HAD THE TENT/GARAGE. ITS GOOD IN ALL OTHER ELEMENTS BUT THE SNOW! I ALWAYS CLEAR THE SNOW OFF AND IT SLOWELY BECAME VERY BRITTLE SHORTLY AFTER THE WARRENTY EXPIRED THE ROOF RIPPED AT A SEEM ALL THE WAY DOWN THE LENGTH OF THE ROOF. I WILL NOT WASTE MONEY ON A NEW TARP, EVEN IF ITS ON SALE!"
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Its fine. What are the rest of you doing wrong?

Date:December 15, 2012
"I had the cheaper version for several years. It withstood many nasty windstorms. It did however collapse under heavy snow. (i did not remove snow all year)
The tarp was fine but the legs actually collapsed.
I saw this model on sale and bought it. Its been nearly a year and no issues whatsoever. Zipper is fine, and it is better overall than the yellow models.
Legs are must more sturdy.
Anyhow, I see it is on sale again and I am buying 2 more.
These products do indeed have limitations. I have learned my lesson to sweep off the snow, (Although it went through 3 winters before we had record snowfall THEN it collapsed, all 3 winters I never removed snow once.)
For you folks with problems, I have to think there is a setup problem or otherwise.
I assembled all myself except I had help pulling the tarp over. A bit time consuming, but not that big of a deal.
If you don't have the wrong expectations, this product is worth every penny and then some. In fact many of my friends bought after seeing mine. No issues for them either,"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Durable

Date:December 8, 2012
"Make sure you watch the install/setup video. I would have missed some steps if I hadn't. I was able to install the whole thing by myself, but it is better to have at least one other person. Also It has held up nice to the recent snow falls. If you can catch this on the sale price it is definitely a bargain."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

How on Earth did this get 3 stars???

Date:September 2, 2012
"GARBAGE!! I have owned this shelter for less than a year and it is starting to rip at every corner where the curved supports hold up the cover. It was installed as per instructions and very securely fastened to the ground so wind was not an issue at all here. I daily swept off any snow etc that ever accumulated as well so that was not the issue either. It was easy to set up (even though it was missing one pole which I never did receive when I went back, they gave me a shorter one that I made work instead). I hope they stand behind the 1 year exchange warranty...I'll find out today when I go there I guess..."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

Excellent Value

Date:August 1, 2012
"I bought this product 3 years ago, and it has survived 3 winters with no problem. It has seen heavy snows and high winds, and keeps on functioning just as it should.
The key is proper anchoring of the legs, and proper assembly of all parts.
I do push the snow off after a storm, but I have come out in a morning and found 2 feet of snow on the roof, without any problem.
I think the key here is like any product, read the instructions and follow them.
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:sudbury On

BEWARE OF WARRANTY DUTY CHARGES

Date:April 3, 2012
"This garage went up easily but the tarp had small holes at all the creases. Shelter Logic did send a replacement but to which I had to pay duty and broker fees. Should of returned it to CTC . Lesson learned."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unbelievably BAD PRODUCT

Date:March 22, 2012
"I had mine professionally installed, in a very wind -free area surrounded by evergreen trees to cut any wind. Snow fell right away and covered all the bottoms and I did not need to open it at all in the winter. It was also cleaned of snow regularly. I stored my boat inside and at the first storm/rainfall, it completely collapsed, causing not only the complete loss of the port, but extensive damage to the boat due to the metal piercing the seats, water/ice damage etc. This was the first year we had bought it, we always paid to have our boat stored indoors, this was an extremely expensive lesson, with no help from the company. They sell an extremely inferior product and I only wish I would have read the reviews before purchasing.
Canadian Tire should not offer such an inferior product to Canadian consumers, I have lost my trust in their products. What a waste of time and money. This will cost me over $1000 to repair the damage, not even including the cost of the port itself, plus the cost of sheltering the boat somewhere else for the remainder of the winter.
BUYER BEWARE OF ALL SHELTERLOGIC PRODUCTS."
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:St Johns, NL

Will Need to Monitor Condition Regularly

Date:January 3, 2012
"While this product made a great shelter for my ATV's and Smowmobile I suggest you monitor the condition of the Cover and Poles regularly. They are prone to wind damage and the Cover may collapse or tear under the weight of accumulating snow. I would regularly clean the snow off after every snow storm. Strongly suggest to tie the entire shelter down due to the possible movement in high winds. Mine did survive through Hurricane Igor but it was nerve racking watching the wind blow the cover up and down like a parachute."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ontario

stands up to wether

Date:October 19, 2011
"I am going to buy this product for the 2nd time. Last time was 5 years ago, I am purchasing because the large cover has broken down from the elements and yes it could be a little heavier, but it did the job it was intended to do. Just to address the Tie down issues, common sense would suggest that tying down to a solid surface is BEST. I used Lag bolts in to concrete and the tie downs as a back up, But when i had it on soft ground i used the cork screw tie downs you can get from a PET store, just get the long ones and use more than on on each corner, i used 4 on each side and checked them regularly, I also used ratchet strap tie downs up to the high supports only as back up also. i never used the wire tie downs that came with it.
all in all a good products."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dawson City, YT

well worth the price

Date:January 24, 2010
"This is a product easy to assemble and disassemble if, like me, you are in the middle of a project that requires shelter from the elemnts"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SAULT.STE.MARIE,ONTARIO

2 WINTERS IN NORTHERN ONTARIO,NO PROBS

Date:January 1, 2010
"THIS IS A GREAT PRODUCT-BUT YOU NEED TO TAKE YOUR TIME AND FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS.IF YOU DONT WANT IT TO BLOW AWAY- ANCHOR IT WELL AS IT SAYS TO.I ASSEMBLED IT WITH A FRIEND IN LATE OCTOBER-WE ALREADY HAD SNOW ON THE GROUND. AND OUR FINGERS WERE FREEZIN BUT 2 30 SOMETHING YEAR OLD FEMALES.DID IT.THE TARP WENT ON THE NEXT DAY AS WE RAN OUT OF DAYLIGHT.I PARKED A MINIVAN IN IT FOR THE 1ST YEAR. NO PROBS.THIS YEAR I HAD TO MOVE THE FRAME TO A DIFFERENT LOCATION.DUE TO LONGER AND LESS FLEXIBLE TURNING RADIUS. 2009 DODGE TRUCK FITS IN IT NO PROBLEMS. ONLY HAD TO SNUG UP A FEW BOLTS WHEN SECURING IT IN NEW LOCATION.VERY STURDY EVEN WITH DOOR PANELS OPEN AND A GOOD 45 KM/HR WINDS.FRAME AND TARP STAY PUT. I LOVE THIS PORTA GARAGE."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+33points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Shelterlogic Garage-in-a-Box, 12x20x8-ft (3.7x6.1x2.4m)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good product

Date:November 15, 2009
"Only took three hours to put it up with the help of my 9 year old son. Went together perfect. Was going to buy the roll up door kit, but realized you have to cut the fabric to install it, so I will just use the bungies that came with it. only drawback is that it takes two to roll up the door neatly. OOther than that, looks like it is well made...will see how the winter treats it!"
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2