Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop GPS & Navigation or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Magellan 5255 GPS with Backup Camera

Magellan 5255 GPS with Backup Camera

RoadMate 5255T-LM will provide you with the top GPS navigation featuresIncludes a wireless back-up camera with a 45' (13.71 m) range5" (13 cm) display screenCan easily switch between landscape and portrait modeWorks with large vehicles, RVs and trailersBack-up camera automatically turns on when reve
Average Customer Rating:
2.333 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
3 of 9(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Magellan 5255 GPS with Backup Camera
Review 1 for Magellan 5255 GPS with Backup Camera
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kitchener-Waterloo, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Product Delivers

Date:October 12, 2014
"Have had this unit for two weeks. Purchased to have a backup camera. Followed start-up instructions to the tee. Once connected unit started working well right away. The unit is up and ready to navigate for me within 6 0r 7 seconds of turning on the ignition. Back-up camera turns on within 2 to 3 seconds of putting the car in reverse. Camera is very clear. Have owned a GPS of other manufacturer for over 6 years. I really like the features on this Magellan 5255t-LM. The posted speed limit showing on the screen is really nice along with the warning when you exceed the limit by whatever you set it at. Entering the desired destination is easy and the feature giving you the option of which way to go - fastest, shortest, & least freeways is really nice to have along with the estimated time of travel on each. It is also nice to have a voice alert with a voice tone that is not irritating. This GPS does a great job & I enjoy using it"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Magellan 5255 GPS with Backup Camera
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Welland, Ontario
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Nice but disappointing

Date:September 13, 2014
"I paid excessive amount of $$$ primary because of the backup camera.
PROS>>> Likes the features and what it can do for you, it is AWESOME!
CONS>>> 1st problem was no way to hook it to the plate because it is right under the handle to open the hatch with... can't put it under the plate because of the way the hatch is curved around the plate. In other word, no where to mount it. Need just the camera without the plate bracket.
2nd problem is Most of the times, it takes about 15 minutes for the GPS to start working meaning finding the Satellite... in last 13 days, it found the satellite in 5 minutes, yet there was one time it never found one in 30 minutes in good weather.
My other 2 Magellan that are old Old OLD finds Satellite within 60 seconds and never had a problem except in tunnels and around high rise buildings, such as metropolitan cities.
Returning it in the morning :(
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Magellan 5255 GPS with Backup Camera
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

BAD PRODUCT

Date:August 4, 2014
"The main reason for purchasing this product is Back up camera. I am surprised why Magellan company does not withdraw this product from the marketplace. The GPS works well, although sometime gives wrong route, but the camera is a waste of money, First time it takes a few minutes to display on the screen, Now totally stop. As a result, I have scratches on my car. Because trust on this. I phoned the Canadian Tire customer service they replied that I bear to go Canadian tire and fix an appointment for mechanic then they can figure out the trouble. My return day already past otherwise I returned it. Please be advised not to buy this product. It will not solve your problem rather makes you tip over."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Magellan 5255 GPS with Backup Camera
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

I upgraded to this because of Phantom alert

Date:September 30, 2013
"My 1st GPS was a Magellan 5045 and I did 973 miles road trip to bring my daughter to her University. I punched in the hotel on pc and updated the gps and it led me right to doorstep of hotel and then right to her dorm. Even found me parking. Gas stations in point of interest is a very handy feature. This new one has Phantom Alert and i think this will be a very useful.I am still trying to figure out how to purchase lifetime membership.It is only for 3 years from Magellan sight. Back up camera is ok.Not very good at night. traffic alert is awesome.Led me around a traffic jam on 401.Very pleased so far !!"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Magellan 5255 GPS with Backup Camera
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Does not work

Date:August 17, 2013
"I bought the Magellan 5255 GPS with Backup Camera largely for the camera to assist with hooking up a trailer. Installation was simple and took about two hours (only because I took the time to remove interior trim pieces to hide all the wires). The GPS function is good, but occasionally it will take a few minutes to establish a satellite connection. The camera worked well for the first hour of use, then the unit would switch between the camera view and the GPS view when the vehicle was in reverse. Shortly afterwards it stopped working entirely despite the indication of a strong signal from the transmitter. I will be returning this to the store."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Magellan 5255 GPS with Backup Camera
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK, Canada

GPS learns and works better with use

Date:June 25, 2013
"- I bought and installed this after backing slowly and carefully into a fire hydrant that I couldn't see out of my back window or rear-view mirrors. The GPS and backup camera cost much less than a new bumper.
- Initially, I was disappointed and thought that the GPS and camera were faulty. Then read/found somewhere that you need to drive around for about 30 minutes before the GPS starts working. Apparently, it is a learning computer and learns how to find satellites and determine its position faster with use. Therefore, be patient and keep it on all the time.
- The backup camera I also initially thought was defective. Then later, I thought the camera and transmitter were buggy, as the display would take time to switch to rear view mode. It displays the rear view quickly now.
- When you start the car and the GPS turns on, it will always display warnings for the user to click and acknowledge - annoying after the first time. You can ignore these. Just put the car in reverse and move a couple inches and the backup camera instantly starts to display the rear view. Or start driving and the map will appear and start to determine your position.
- I am now pleased with the purchase, performance and usability of this GPS -backup camera.
- The audible radar trap/red light camera warnings are helpful, and remind me to slow down in places where the police have set up before. This feature has saved me at least one ticket.
- I am looking for another vehicle now, and notice that GPS and backup camera can be expensive options. So, now I am also considering how a 5" or 7" display might fit on or in the dash of vehicles that I look at. On my current car, sticky velcro tape provided a sturdy installation right above the 12-volt plug, with the cords neatly hid behind.
- Note that the manual is for all models. Read the box to determine what features are included. This model does NOT have blue-tooth, even though the manual explains how blue-tooth works.
"
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Magellan 5255 GPS with Backup Camera
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very Disappointing

Date:June 25, 2013
"I purchased this product mainly for the backup camera. I wanted to add a backup camera to my truck, and it seemed just as well to get one with a GPS, rather then having a screen on the dash that was just for a camera. The GPS works well enough, however the camera is very unreliable. It takes a few seconds to display on the screen, after shifting into reverse, and then it will cut in and out, switching between the camera picture and the GPS screen. The wireless signal meter indicates a clear strong signal, but it still doesn't work properly. Don't buy this product."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Magellan 5255 GPS with Backup Camera
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary,AB

Magellen 5255T.Think before you buy

Date:November 23, 2012
"I got this GPS, good is the back up camera works fine. But the GPS map is very dispoint. I'm in Calgary, very simple address is ### Centre ST, it not allow to set, show Lower Centre St and Centre ST Lower deck. and I called for service and very bad service on the phone and keep telling is the map provider's vision and the manager while i asked. I got Tom tom and others never have the address problem on set up to go. think if you go to the other city only have the address and not allow to set and what will you do then?
Think before you buy.
"
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Magellan 5255 GPS with Backup Camera
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very unhappy

Date:October 17, 2012
"I have been waiting to buy something like this for awhile. GPS/back up camera. The camera was easy to install and worked great at first. 2 weeks later I turned it on to back up to my boat trailer and it was dark with almost no picture. It had a good signal and power so I called tech support. Now after paying over $250 I have to pay to send the camera (after I unhook it from my truck) back to Magellan at MY COST and wait for a new one to be sent to me. The GPS unit works ok. I have seen better though. Also I check the manual before I bought it for bluetooth instructions and found them. Later as I went to set up my phone to it I couldn't find anything on the option menu. This model does not have bluetooth"
+46points
Was this review helpful to you?