Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop In-Car Video or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Sylvania Dual Screen Portable DVD Player

Sylvania Dual Screen Portable DVD Player

Two 9" (23 cm) screens that play the same movie, at the same timeUSB/SD card reader for viewing photosScreens are connected via cableConnections include AV out and headphone connectionsIncludes carrying bag, remote control, mounting kit, AC/DC adaptor, AV cable and two sets of ear buds
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sylvania Dual Screen Portable DVD Player
Review 1 for Sylvania Dual Screen Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works great

Date:October 19, 2014
"Great to use as a single unit or as a dual unit. Easy Install"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Sylvania Dual Screen Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chatham, On
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

DVD Portable Player

Date:May 5, 2014
"Easy to install in car. Great for in house also. My seven year old granddaughter enjoys watching her Disney movies and cartoons on it. Great to use as a single unit or as a dual unit."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Sylvania Dual Screen Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product for the 4 months it worked

Date:December 16, 2013
"I have two kids and we travel to a lot to see my sister so these were great for them. I bought them at the beginning of August and by the beginning of December they just stopped working. I can't find my original receipts though I have a copy of my credit card bill showing when and where i bought the dvd system. Going to the store tomorrow to see if they'll replace them for me. For almost $200 they should last longer than 4 months!"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Sylvania Dual Screen Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Milton, ON, Canada

Very pleased

Date:June 4, 2013
"I purchased this May 3rd, 2013 and I noticed the stitching on the straps coming apart, I took it to canadian tire because they cover you for 1 year with the original receipt . They did an exchange for me . I am also pleased to say besides the fabulous customer service that I always recieve at canadian tire store in milton, my kids enjoy this dvd player so much , its clear, and easy to use . You can use a dvd or usb cable which is fabulous..."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Sylvania Dual Screen Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Milton, ON, Canada

Happy so far

Date:May 13, 2013
"We purchased this almost a month ago...At first I was hesitant because I am used to the dvd's and this uses usb cable...so we tried it and recorded movies onto a usb cable..
I must say , its worth it , this way we are not carrying a whole bunch of dvd's , we were able to record 4 movies on one usb cable...
very pleased ..."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Sylvania Dual Screen Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON, Canada

Warranty - Buyer Beware

Date:January 22, 2013
"I am not one to write reviews on the products I have purchased, however I was compelled to write this one.
I purchased the Sylvania Dual Screen DVD Player from Canadian Tire on November, 11, 2012. The DVD players work well (no complaints). On January, 15, 2013 the auto power adapter stopped working (DVD player works with the wall ac adapter).
I proceeded to contact Sylvania Customer Service to request a replacement auto adapter, only to be informed that only the DVD players carry a 1 year manufacturer warranty, all accessories (cables, adapters) only carry a 30 day warranty.
I requested something in writing stating where on the Warranty Terms and Agreements it states that all accessories carry a 30 day warranty, only to get the "run around".
Very Poor Customer Service and Warranty. I would think twice before buying anything from Sylvania. It is my understanding that all other manufacturers who sell similar products offer a 1 year warranty on their products (players and accessories).
Regards,"
+37points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Sylvania Dual Screen Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada

Good option

Date:August 29, 2012
"I have a 2 year old so any long distance travellig at this age can be a challenge. We decided to look at portable DVD options and I came across this solution. The dual DVD screens is nice as it allows the main control unit to be controlled up front by an adult if you wish or if you have more than one child, then each has their own screen to watch (no fights).
From a functional perspective, it's not overly complicated so not hard to hook-up and operate. The navigation buttons on the device are arranged a bit odd but you quickly figure it out and get used to it. If you want to hook the device up so that it runs through your car's speakers (provided your vehicle has that ability), it's easily doable but thre are not any extra audio cables provided so you will have to purchase them separately. On board speakers are ok and will satisfy any child but don't expect any theatre quality sound.
I did notice that the unit doesn't seem to have a "stop" button for the movie so either you pause the movie or go to the menu. I found this odd but for the price I'm not going to get too picky. It kept my child happy. Visually, the picture was pretty decent although if it's sunny outside, the screen can get a bit difficult to see. Not sure if this is a common problem with portable DVD's. Then again, even my iPad can be hard to see in sunlight.
Build quality is average. It's no "tough-book" but as long as you are careful in managing it, it should last a while. It comes with a carrying case so you can store eveything away nicely.
All around, it's a decent unit and even better if you find it on sale. One caveat: our unit has a 7" screen, not 9" like this listing and haven't seen any 9" versions so I'm suspecting either this online listing is incorrect or only select stores carry the 9" version. Mine was the 7" widescreen version which works better with DVD movies anyway."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Sylvania Dual Screen Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary

Compatability and ease

Date:May 5, 2012
"Setup was quick and best of all, the player works with European DVDs and avi. I would never have thought it and it didn't say so on the box but it works fine. Have not used sufficiently to comment on quality. Good stuff!"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Sylvania Dual Screen Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ajax, ON

Almost perfect

Date:September 9, 2011
"Three years ago my wife and I bought a portable DVD player (for use in the car) from Canadian Tire for our son, who is now four. We got tired of switching out DVDs, so when I saw that this model (Sylvania SDVD9002) played video from memory and it was on sale in the flyer, I pulled the trigger.
Initially I was unimpressed. The manual is poorly written and, in IMHO, the harness system is a joke, and some of the connections seem (to me) to be on the wrong side of the main unit. The player takes time to get used to, but now that it's in (for now I'm only using the main unit as I have only one child) I'm happy with it.
The manual says the main unit should be on the left side of the car and the secondary screen on the right (connections from the main unit to the secondary are on the right side). My problem is that if you have one child in the car, they're usually sitting in the right rear passenger seat, not the left. Don't most people who have one child in a car have them in the right rear so the driver can see them?
Note that I did NOT use the full harness system as it's awkward. I have it tucked behind the unit. All I used were the two velcro strips on the sides and it's holding just fine and looks much nicer.
Anyway, here are my list of pros and cons to help others thinking of buying this unit to keep their little ones entertained (and quiet).
PROS
- Unit was on sale when I bought it
- Big (9 inches) and bright screen. My son loves it.
- Matte screen (no glare) for better daylight viewing.
- Plays popular MPEG4 (aka Xvid) video
- Plays from memory, both SD card and USB drive
- Plays DVDs quietly (drive isn't too loud)
- Clear sound from two speakers, so I assume stereo
- The unit is much thinner than my last player
- Comes with a wafer-thin remote control
- Controls on main unit are easily accessible
- Manual states “Compatible disc: DVD/VCD/CD/MP3/MPEG4”
- Rips CDs to MP3s and stores to external memory
- Plays SD cards, which go inside the device and are less prone to being damaged by a child than a USB drive sticking out.
CONS
- Poorly written manual
- Confusing harness system
- Bad location for connections to secondary unit
- Power cable from main unit to cigarette lighter is way too thin
- For DVD access, case opens only about 50 degrees (my last player opened 90 degrees)
NOTES
- Screen looks 16x9 (1.78:1), but the resolution in the manual states “640x234 (RGB) or 640x220 (RGB)”. I told you it was a bad manual. Still, it is a nice screen. It is what it is. Also, I’m currently using a 16GB USB drive. I’m assuming a 16GB SD card will also work. Not sure if it will take 32GB memory.
CONCLUSION
This unit is a keeper, especially at the sale price I bought it for. I have TONS of my son's superhero shows on a USB drive. They play one after the other, but he has the ability to change folders (using the controls on the front of the player) from Spider-Man episodes to Super Hero Squad to whatever. No more DVDs to swap... ever.
"
+109points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Sylvania Dual Screen Portable DVD Player
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton

USB is Great

Date:September 8, 2011
"having a 120 GB external HD loaded with kids movies connected to the USB on this DVD kept the kids quiet all the way form Edmonton to Vancouver. The DVD player accepted all movies format I have , AVI, DIVX, MPEG. The only inconvenience I have is the short cables between two monitors. Other than that its great."
+32points
Was this review helpful to you?