Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Truck Accessories or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS

GPS features a large 4.7" touch screen with free lifetime map updates whenever they are available, they can be downloaded from Magellan without paying an extra feeExclusive one touch user interface allows you to program favourite searches or points of interest to a single screen iconSpoken street names and highway lane assistDisplays overhead signs that are on the highwayMulti-destination routing lets you plan travel time into one optimized trip, which can save you time and moneyFind over 6 million of points of interest at your command and easily locate gas stations, restaurants, ATMs, coffee shops, and much more. Even search for gas stations, restaurants, or lodging, near upcoming highway exitsQuickSpell quickly narrows your address and city searches as you type, making destination entry easy; finds cities and streets without worrying about misspelling them
Average Customer Rating:
2.7 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
7
6 of 20(30%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Review 1 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Elmira,on
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Useless

Date:November 25, 2013
" This GPS has incorrect speeds for most non-major highways, (seems to assume you are driving 40KMH) So the time estimates are wildly inaccurate and the route options are terrible because it thinks the most direct routes are too slow.
Spent two hours on the phone, they are finally going to replace it with a newer model, hopefully it works better.
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

don`t waste your money

Date:November 16, 2013
" first one lasted around 4 days and the battery died, replaced it and again it died within 11/2 months. Contacted Magellan and they wanted to replace it with a reconditioned one, returned it and bought a TomTom so far no problems . "
 
My Product Recommendations
TomTom Start 45TM GPS Navigator
3.4 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gatineau, QC, Canada

Best Purchase Ever

Date:May 31, 2013
" this is the best unit for the price got it for $99.99
works very well no problem with updates good unit
"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton

Megallen LM3030

Date:January 24, 2013
" I bought this four months ago. It was on sale. It's not a nice gps. I will not recommend anyone. Now I am looking to buy second. No lane assistance for Canada. Very basic features that's why it was 50% off. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

clueless gps

Date:November 29, 2012
" I have an older and smaller Magellan RoadMate which tends to freeze up and the maps are clearly outdated but the features were simple enough. I wanted to upgrade so I went with the 3030-LM, big mistake! On a trip I was looking for a 70 year old industry, but it couldn't find it, at some destinations I was informed that I had arrived while being on an overpass with no buildings around. Just finding a restaurant proved to be a challenge!
I live in Hearst and going to Sault St-Marie, it would have me drive through Cochrane which would turn into a 12hrs trip instead of 6. In some region, the roads are at least 15 years old if not more but they don't show up on the map, like the main highway east of the Soo, it shows that you’re driving in the fields. This gps is completely lost; all the areas are off by 40 miles from Hearts to Kapuskasing but strangely enough seem to be ok driving back to Hearst and it loses the North once in a while. It warns you too late when you’re at your destination, the features are not that easy to use, battery life is poor, the map still is outdated and the connection seems to be in the wrong place. I will wait for the new updates that are suppose to come out next month and decide then if i throw this one out to the garbage. I should have spent a little more and went with a Garmin as I was recommended.
"
+43points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Product

Date:August 8, 2012
" This gps device is outstanding. I just bought it yesterday . It is a easy device to use. "
-13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Reasonble product

Date:June 1, 2012
" I had this for several months now. The directions work well and maps are up to date. This is my second Magellan product, both worked well.
I was able to update the maps and did not have to pay a fee. It is a bit like sychronizing Apple products but the software is not the easiest to use.
I also experienced the loss of signal and screehes that other reviewers reported. They were all fixed after | reset the unit. "
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga

Excellent GPS

Date:March 16, 2012
" This is the second 3030-LM GPS that I have purchased. I was very satisfied with the first one. When on sale for $99.99, it represents just over one map update for my Magellan 1440 GPS, so rather than get one map update for the 1440, I get lifetime free map updates with the 3030-LM. I have not had any of the problems mentioned in the other reviews of this GPS. "
+31points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Halifax ns

stop working

Date:January 7, 2012
" Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Stops working two time since two months after purchasing.
Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS hanged twice doesn't catch signal.
"
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Oshawa

Beware!!!

Date:November 23, 2011
" This product has major flaws and should never have gone to market. The charger plug does not fit properly into the unit when you use the dashboard stand. It is not designed/machined correctly and the unit powers off every minute or two or the plug just falls out. Also the voice system has been degraded significantly from the Magellan model I puchased 2 years ago. The street names come out muffled and are very poor quality. It seems Magellan is selling units with free lifetime map updates but they have gone "on the cheap" with the voice part. Also note that as soon as you buy a GPS from CTC, it is yours. There is officially no exchange or return, however, they will send it off for repair for the first year (not sure how Magellan would handle fixing this disaster!). "
+79points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario

Very Disappointed

Date:November 8, 2011
" Bought this a week ago, for a Xmas present, decided to open it up to test. The lane guidance didn't work, I was in the inside lane on the 401 and it says I was in the passing lane. Then after 10 minutes of usage, it powered down. What ? I charged it overnight. Returned a somewhat useless GPS. I'm going to have to try TomTom again or maybe Garmin. "
+38points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Oshawa

I'm impressed by Magellan customer service...

Date:September 5, 2011
" I had a bit of trouble downloading the map update, but not the software update, on my Lifetime Map Roadmate 3030-LM and e-mailed their tech support and received a reply today that resolved the problem! Excellent service! "
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

bad

Date:August 6, 2011
" Tried to get map up date they want me to pay for it . where is free map up dates I am registered I emailed them no answer yet "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Fair...

Date:July 24, 2011
" Does the job, but sometimes it goes mental: You're driving East and the GPS says you're going West for a few seconds..
And also i have to reset the GPS location before every trip, which is anoying...
Save up a little extra and get something better. "
+39points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia

Had it a week and returned it...

Date:July 9, 2011
" I bought this GPS to replace my Garmin because it was almost as cheap to get a new GPS as it was to update my Garmin maps. I wanted to like this GPS, but I just couldn't. I didn't like the screen, I found it hard to follow, and I didn't like the input keyboard on the screen (especially for putting in postal codes - you had to keep switching back and forth between multiple keyboards).
In the end, the reason that I returned this GPS is because it does not allow you to search for a road without putting in the name of the city. For those of you who live in the city, this may not be a problem, but I live in an area where there are many smaller towns and country areas, and the GPS was effectively useless. I searched for a street that I knew was in one "town", but they had it classified as part of another "town", and the GPS couldn't find it. I also tried a country road that wasn't associated with any town, but I was unable to do the search because I didn't have a town/city name. Nothing worked. I emailed Magellan with questions, and received a response 3 days later asking for clarification. I responded immediately, but hadn't heard a response by the time I returned it. I did get a bounce a day later, telling me that Magellan's email server bounced my message.
I ended up picking up a Garmin 255W for very little money, and am very happy with it. It doesn't have as many features, but at least it works. "
+45points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto

So far So good

Date:June 18, 2011
" I have a 2 year old Garmin that is big ,heavy and falls off the window frequently.
My mistake in my haste I thought 1/2 price "why not".
Should have paid the extra to get bluetooth hands free . I believe that "NOBODY" is up-to-date . 411 still has the Canadian Tire old phone number and address listed , the not so recent Center Point mall store is not there.
"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Waste of money

Date:June 14, 2011
" The very first POI I selected from the list it got the address right but directed me to the wrong place, not even the right street. Sent the manufacturer a support request and not even a response. Poor product and poor service. TomTom would be a better choice. "
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Response from Canadian Tire:By Canadian TireJune 28, 2011
Thanks for your feedback.

Magellan will be updating their maps a minimum of 3 times between now and December 31, 2011. These updates are scheduled for early July, early October and mid December. As long as you have registered your 3030 LM GPS unit (35-2640) on the Magellan web site (www.magellangps.com), you will be contacted when the updated maps are available. The Lifetime Maps feature ensures that your GPS is as up-to-date as possible with TeleAtlas maps.
Review 18 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

Good value GPS with outdated maps

Date:June 14, 2011
" First the pros: Large easy-to-read screen, clear loud synthesized voice that speaks street names, even though it often pronounces them incorrectly. It find satellites quickly and re-routing is also very fast.
The bad: After downloading the content manager software, installing it on my PC, and connecting the GPS, I was surprised to find that it already had the latest maps installed. That means there was no map update since the manufacture date. And it shows. The maps around my local area are hopelessly out-of-date. Streets that were re-configured over 2 years ago are still not showing correctly on the GPS. Magellan uses NAVTEQ maps, like Garman, but unlike Garmin, Magellan will only attempt to update their maps once per year, whereas Garmin will attempt 4 map updates per year. Points of interest are also out-of-date as it could not find my local A&W. I was disappointed that the few times I used it, it did not provide correct lane advice or did not pick an optimal route.
I checked NAVTEQ's website to make the appropriate street corrections. However, the maps on the NAVTEQ site were already correct. It's just that Magellan has not yet implemented them.
Though from a pure hardware standpoint, it is a fine GPS for the dollars spent when on sale. However, a GPS is only as good as it's maps and Magellan does not update their maps frequently enough. "
+41points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

not very good

Date:June 4, 2011
" i bought this GPS last week, first off, it didnt turn on for more than 4 minutes at a time until I let it fully charge, after about 3 days of use ( 8 hrs a day) the screen color started to go black for the first 5 minutes or so, after 5 days, the gps started to reboot itself without touching the on off switch, it did this about 5 or 6 times in a row, and finally, it died completely. Maybe a lemon? Going to exchange it for a new one today. But when it works, it works fantastic! good to within 10 feet of programmed destination. The one touch works very well, and you can program it for i still dont know how many destinations that you frequently go to, Personally, i like this product but I would use it as much as possible before the 30 day return is up in case something does go wrong with it, then you can get a new one otherwise, you would need to send it off to a repair facility and it could take weeks to get it back "
+112points
Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings-Only Reviews for Magellan RoadMate 3030 LM GPS
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1