Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Electronics or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor

Back up camera features a 3.5" (8.9 cm) LCD colour monitor for greater visibility with multiple mounting options (dashboard, air vent, visor and headrest). Camera easily mounts onto the license plate with 90 degree wide angle view and uses 2.4 GHz wireless technology. Night vision capabilities built into the camera to help improve night time visibility. Up to 30' (9.14 m) working distance between camera and monitor
Average Customer Rating:
2.963 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
10
15 of 27(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Review 1 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada

Don't buy it.

Date:December 7, 2012
" This is the second one I've had. The first camera leaked but I think they improved on the new ones. The second one Flickers on and off while your driving. Only supposed to come on in reverse. I have soldered the connections right from the start.. Still lines across the screen when you have a picture. Can't depend on it. I wonder if the blue tooth interferes with the signal. Am going to stick with wired cameras from now on. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia

Good purchase for price

Date:November 19, 2012
" I have had one of these for about two years. Used mostly for backing up to trailer. This camera works great with good view if adjusted correctly. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Yada Backup Camera (35-2518-6)

Date:October 30, 2012
" The front camera installation was a breeze. The back camera installation required wire fishing and finding the positive wire at the backup light. I used a 12 volt light tester and found out the green wire was the positive and the black wire was the negative. I did not disconnect the battery. I placed the truck in reverse with the emergency brake on to get the current reading on the green wire. I placed the remote booster antenna up by the side window in my truck cap. Once activated, I had a nice clear colored picture to see where I was going. I will be primarily using this camera for trailer hook ups. One fault was the camera occasionally coming on while I was driving. Therefore, I now just turn it on when I use it and it's fantastic!! "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor quality

Date:September 3, 2012
" After testing this unit before installing (worked well) i spent an hour installing in my truck. No matter what I did was not able to get this to work. Kept flickering in and out. Returned to store. Would not buy this brand again. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC, Canada

Yada 3.5-in BehindSight Back-up Camera

Date:August 19, 2012
" If you haven't driven a car with a back up camera before,you may not know how valuable this item is.Once you try one you will no doubt want one.The Yada 3.5-in BehindSight Back-up Camera is like having an extra set of eyes to help you back up. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, On

Decent purchase

Date:August 6, 2012
" Bought it on sale. Installed it myself this spring, in under an hour, wired it to the reverse lights. Works great on F150 (6.5 bed). Great to line up to hitch up to trailer. It's handled lot of wet weather and bumping around. The 12 volt wire to the monitor is a little inconvenient but since I only take it out when I need it to hitch up and back out of tight places, it's fine. Also a little inconvenient that it stays on all time unless you unplug it or turn the master off. The mounting hardware wasn't practical for me so I am using velcro tape and secure it that way - works fine given that I only use it occasionally.
I am very careful when washing the vehicle to not put direct spray on it, just in case. I may very well take it off for the winter to protect it since I read other posts about it not lasting. Yes you do pick up other wireless cameras if you drive around, like the local tool rental outdoor yard but that's only if you leave it plugged in and turned on. Once I think I picked up the signal from within a house - a home monitor I think, but continued to drive so couldnt tell, actually didn't want to know. I am impressed about the night vision ability. I don't think I would have paid regular price for it, but on sale at a minimum 50% is worth it.
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Peterborough, Ontario

Back-up Camera after a year

Date:March 27, 2012
" I purchased this unit in April 2011 and afterwards read the reviews, most of which were not particularly complementary. I decided to install regardless but wait a year until I write a review. When driving around the monitor does pick up other cameras as you pass them. If you get closer you will see what the other camera is actually viewing. I find the picture well clear enough for the job and if installed centrally, it makes backing up to a trailer hitch a breeze. It seems to sense day or night and adjust accordingly. If the low sun is behind you, then it is a problem. Being in Canada, it has been subjected to minus 30 weather, a build up of snow and ice on it, and car washes without a problem. I always wipe it off after the car wash along with my side mirrors. Water in the camera has not been an issue as some claimed it to be for them. The sending unit and camera are located in my Subaru Outback tailgate so it gets a fair bit of slamming. Last week it failed and I determined it was at the camera end as I could still see the images of places as I drove around. I found that one of the snap on wire taps had actually cut the wire. The clue was that the sending unit was receiving only 9 volts instead of 12. So, I did what I should have done in the first place and soldered the wires. Those wire taps are too small a gauge for the wring in my car. It is now back in service again and I'm happy. I'm waiting for them to come on sale, hopefully in April again, so I can install one on my Mustang, which I really cannot see behind due to its high rear. I hope this helps. "
+50points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:B.C.

YADA 3,5 Back-up camera

Date:November 24, 2011
" I just purchesed this caamera and had it installed in my 2011 Buick by the GM dealership.
The quality of this unit is poor. When driving the screen come on and off when going down the road. It is only to come on when the vehicle is in reverse. When the system is engaged in reverse, the picture is poor and lots of static lines coming across the screen making it difficulty to see what is behind. Visability at night is also poor. The so called lines to indicate where you are in relationship to an object flicker on and off and as such are useless. I would not recommend this unit.
"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Barrie, ON

Worked for ONE DAY! Garbage Product!

Date:November 13, 2011
" Recently bought a new F150 Pickup, but because it was off the lot, it didn't come with the Factory rear-view camera... It's over $1000 to add the OEM one, so I thought I'd try a wireless instead.
BIG MISTAKE!
Installed very easily, instructions were simple and clear, and worked great - for one entire day!
Camera now appears dead - the reciever picks up other cameras as I drive around, so no issue at that end...
Complete waste of money - avoid - avoid - avoid! "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ottawa, Canada

Grandamas mini van dream

Date:September 4, 2011
" I saw this in the store and asked if they installed it. They had it on and working with in 1hr of shopping next door. I love my 98 mini van and really needed to see better now that im older. This was perfect! and easy to use for me as well. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB

Not worth buying

Date:September 4, 2011
" I installed it and found it had issues with interference.
It worked for over just one year then it quit.
"
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Perfect for my SUV

Date:September 1, 2011
" This is such a great solution ehh. i have wanted a back up camera for a while. I decided to buy 1 at my CT store the other week. I can now see clearly and like that i can see it right on my dash. I would really suggest any one that is small like me to put one on there SUV. "
-8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:saskatchewan

Dont waste your money

Date:August 31, 2011
" This product worked fine until I took the vehicle to the car wash, it hasnt worked since. Whwn you read the fine print you will see the the camera is only rated water resistant not waterproof, very poor. "
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Owner of 2 years

Date:August 19, 2011
" Had this unit for 2 years on a gmc sierra crew cab short box 4x4. Camera was installed ontop of my license plate. Receiver was wired into my left rear reverse light and the receiver was stored there as well. Been thru lots of mud, and car washes, winters, and lots of road salt. Still works fine.
My only issues - power adaptor that goes into the 12volt cigarette lighter...terrible solder job, had to resolder myself as the wires let go and wouldn't power the unit. Second issue is the suction cup was terrible and the sticker units don't stick well. Bought my own 3m double sided adhesive tape and used that. "
+31points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Grande Prairie, AB

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT

Date:August 11, 2011
" Installed into a 2009 Honda CRV. Took several hours to feed wires into rear compartment and make all connections. Worked ok for three weeks until we went through a automatic car wash. Just a grey fog immage now. I called customer service of the unit and was told not to use car washes. The rep lives in another world. "
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:sault ste. marie

WHAT CAN HAPPEN..

Date:February 25, 2011
" HAD THIS CAMERA FOR A YEAR.INSTALLED ON FORD F150 CREW CAB. COUPLE OF ISSUES: 1) THIS CAMERA IS SOLD TO INSTALL ON ALL TRUCKS AND SUVs. BEEN A WIRELESS UNIT, THE PROBLEM IS THAT THE TRANSMITTER SHOULD BE AS CLOSE AS POSSIBLE TO THE MONITOR. ON A CREW CAB WITH A SHORT BOX, THIS IS A REAL CHORE AND MAKE SURE THAT YOU WATERPROOF THE TRANSMITTER SOMEHOW. DOES EVERYBODY THAT OWNS A TRUCK HAVE A CAP OR A GOOD TONNEAU COVER? BUT I MANAGED AND JUST TIE WRAPPED THE UNIT UNDER THE RAIL LIP AND USED AN ELECTRICAL TYPE GEL WATERPROOFING PRODUCT. WORKED WELL.. THE WIRES I ALSO HAD TO TIE WRAP AND HIDE ALONG THE BOX LINER. THE ANTENNAE I JUST ADJUSTED IT FOR BEST RECEPTION. HOOKED UP THE CAMERA POWER WIRE TO THE REAR BACK-UP, PLUGGED IN THE MONITOR AND RECEIVED THE SIGNAL. BUT THE REAL BIG PROBLEM IS 2) THE MONITOR. INTERFERENCE IN TOWN WOULD BE REALLY BAD SO I WOULD SHUT OFF THE MONITOR UNTIL I NEEDED, BUT WHAT IS THE USE OF HAVING THIS BACK-UP CAMERA ONLY USING IT WHEN YOU WANT? MY POINT IS THAT WHEN THE MONITOR IS PLUGGED INTO THE 12V POWER SOURCE, THE MONITOR IS ACTIVATED AND ONLY YOU CAN POWER ON BY PUSHING THE POWER BUTTON. SO IF YOU FORGET TO TURN OFF THE POWER WHEN PLUGGED IN, THIS MONITOR WILL ALWAYS BE ON. THAT IS IF THE POWER SOURCE IS NOT HOOKED UP TO IGNITION. THIS IS WHAT HAPPENED TO ME: I LEFT ON THE UNIT BECAUSE I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY AWAY FROM THAT INTERFERENCE THAT I MENTIONED EARLIER AND JUST FORGOT. THIS IS AN EASY THING TO DO AND LIVING IN A COLDER CLIMATE IN CANADA, ANYTHING LEFT ON CAN AND WILL CAUSE PROBLEMS. I PARKED THE TRUCK FOR 4 DAYS IN THE JAN. COLD WEATHER. THE BATTERY GOT DRAINED BECAUSE OF THIS POWERED UNIT AND FROZE THE BATTERY. OVER 200. DOLLARS LATER BUT WAIT THERE'S MORE: THIS MONITOR STAYS ON WITH THE POWER LIGHT ON. THE CAMERA WILL NOT SHOW AN IMAGE AND THE POWER BUTTON WILL NOT SHUT OFF! CALLED THE MANUFACTURER.. SAID THE MONITOR IS FRIED BECAUSE I LEFT IT ON, REALLY! FORGET THE FACT THAT I HAD TO REPLACE THE BATTERY BUT THE MONITOR MALFUNCTIONED BECAUSE I LEFT IT ON? WHAT KIND OF UNIT IS THIS THAT WILL DO THAT? IF THIS WARNING WAS ON THE PACKAGE I CAN SEE IT BUT NOT SO.NO REPAIR AVAILABLE, NEED TO REPLACE THIS MONITOR THAT IS ONLY AVAILABLE FROM THEM. NOT HAPPY. OUT OVER 200. FOR A BATTERY. AND NOW ANOTHER EXPENSE FOR A NEW MONITOR. WOULD NOT BUY AGAIN! REALLY LIKED IT THOUGH AND WOULD REWIRE THE POWER SOURCE TO IGNITION NEXT TIME. "
+52points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia

Complete Junk

Date:December 17, 2010
" With tax this unit cost me $170.00. Right from the beginning I noticed a lot of static interference on the screen.
I washed the truck by hand trying to avoid the camera as much as possible and the unit fogged up for weeks before drying out. Recently I took my truck through an automatic wash and the unit is utterly ruined now. Can't see anything but a gray fuzzy blob. (I attached a picture). This is completely unacceptable. I even put a hair dryer to it for 15 minutes trying to dry it out but it didn't help.
I am extremely frustrated - after spending $170.00 and taking the time wire it in there is nothing left for me to do except take it off. I can't take it back it only has a 90 day warranty. Complete junk.
Canadian Tire please take this unit off your shelves and save others like me from wasting hard earned money. "
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+109points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Think Twice

Date:December 11, 2010
" While this product might work for some people, there are a number of potentially serious problems:
1) I installed it as per instructions connecting camera/transmitter to back-up light wiring. Seemed to work adequately with the engine off. However, once engine was on, there was so much interference that it became useless after a few seconds. Moving the transmitter around did nothing to improve situation, even when it was placed right next to the lcd screen. Ditto for moving the car to different locations.
I discovered that the problem could be solved by powering the camera/transmitter directly from the dashboard 12 volt outlet -- it must have a filter which eliminates the electrical interference. However, this required running a wire through the car and installing a switch at the dash. It sort of defeated the point of buying an automatic "wireless" back-up camera.
2) Even the instructions acknowledge that the camera is only "water resistant" rather than waterproof. Looking at it one can easily see why.
This is really unacceptable for a device that is constantly exposed to spraying water in normal use. As other reviewers have had problems with moisture destroying the picture/camera, I felt it necessary to do my own waterproofing using Seal-all plus some plexiglass.
3) The various mounts are cheaply made and unlikely to last long. Be prepared to make your own.
In summary, look elsewhere unless you are willing to substantially modify the product and spend a lot of time installing it. "
+99points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very pleased so far

Date:December 10, 2010
" I installed this camera a few days ago, and so far, I am very pleased. For those who say that installation was difficult or that the instructions were poor, I would say, that you need to be a little comfortable with working on "stuff". Handyman or automotive handyman status would be good. I installed in a 2007 Chrysler Pacifica (tailgate) and in order to do a quality install, I had to remove a few pieces of plastic in the tailgate area and route wires properly with strain relief and get the wiring into the tail-lamp. (not everyone is comfortable doing this) To do this properly took me a few hours. Once installed it is great. Picture quality is very good in any light (or even darkness).
I noticed that when driving through my neighbourhood the screen will activate for a couple of seconds when (presumably) it senses another 2.4Ghz signal from another device. A bit annoying, but I don't lose sleep over it. Simply plugging in the power cord, when you need it, would solve this problem if it bothers you.
The best system is obviously one which is factory installed.
If you are concerned about your installation, go out to your vehicle and see what it will take to get a small cable from your license plate to your reverse light wiring.
For me, I bought this on sale and am very happy with the purchase, so far.
"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Yada Wireless Backup Camera with 3.5-in Monitor
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

Very good

Date:October 24, 2010
" One of the best and coolest things i've bought recently. For the price — got mine on sale even — the picture and reception is good. Really helps. And the night vision actually works. Can't rely on it for everything, as one shouldn't, but improves rearward vision by 90%. There are lines from other radio transmission, but mainly when my cell is on, but it does not stop the picture being useful. We have a summer house and in the county darkness this will be great. My car is a Dodge Magnum and the vision rearward is not that good — i have no complaints though, totally happy with the car — but this makes a major difference.
One note — my licence plate light is in the centre so I had to mount this outboard of the driver's side plate mounting screw otherwise the light is obscured. No problem. I'll see with my trailer if it throws that off and gives too skewed a view and does not show the trailer hitch ball and then figure something else, but the angle is so wide, offset a bit like that is not a problem to the view.
"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2