Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Remote Car Starters or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter

ProStart 2-button Remote Starter

Allows you to start your vehicle from inside your house, by heating it in the winter and cooling it in the summerCan be used on manual or automatic transmissionsWorks with gas and diesel enginesIndependent arm/disarm outputs for factory alarm controlWorry-free start-up - will start up your car, but
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
14 of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
306 Questions | 315 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Review 1 for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Awesome starter, regardless of cost

Date:January 21, 2014
"Install is very simple. Starts every time. Instructions are a bit vague, but the product makes up for what was missed in there."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

simple to use/install

Date:January 20, 2014
"Pretty straightforward installation. Real simple to use. Works great. I installed it in my Toyota Echo with auto trans. and it works great. Just what I needed. Now I can start my car from my desk at work from the 5th floor."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Easy for the DIY

Date:December 21, 2013
"Installed in under 3 hrs by a novice. Take advantage of the website "prostart.org" for pictures of exactly where the wires are located for your vehicle.
And don't forget you need to program the remote for it to function. Easy stuff, just read and dont miss any steps."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

easy install for the DIY

Date:October 11, 2013
"this was a easy install on a 2000 Dakota,,no chipped key.good product. starts the truck every time. next install is on a caravan with a chipped key, still looking for the best bypass and CT does have them, will let you know what work the best."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:montreal

toyota corolla 2011

Date:August 6, 2013
"I have a Prostart 33100 installed by canadientire last year. I don't have any problem with it if I drive everyday. But when I left my car about 3 days in garage, I couldn't start the engine as usual. I had to force it starting by keeping the key turning on for 10 seconds and try again for about 3-4 times. This is the second time in 6 months so I just want to know that it is normal or I have to drive my car to Canadientire for checking. Thanks."
-9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ruthven, Ontario

Good Product, Poor Instructions

Date:December 13, 2012
"Bought this on sale for 49.99; can't beat the price. Instructions were not very clear. Pictures and diagrams available on-line helped, but offered conflicting information. Would have given 5 stars if instructions were better. Didn't need the online help, can't say anything about that. 50 bucks for a remote start? Can't beat that.
Also, why doesn't Canadian Tire install what they sell???
"
+33points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome for the price

Date:March 9, 2012
"I bought this for my wife several years ago for her 2002 Echo. It was my first time for this type of device although I am long-time confortable with auto electrical. Some of the information from the website was confusing, especially since there are 2 double coloured (different) wires for starter power on this model, but after a few back-and-forths with a very supportive ProStart staff (and my local Toyota service department photo-copying service manual switch configurations) I was able to sort things out, at the same time getting a remote for her electric door locks!. In addition it was a piece of cake to wire a relay to operate the rear-window defogger during the start time (the relay was about $4 at Princess Auto). Now my daughter can't live without it and my wife is checking out her next vehicle, which no doubt will have a ProStart from almost the get-go ("almost" so I can get it on sale again for 50% off)."
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:bc

not pleased would be an understatement.

Date:February 23, 2012
"After 3 days my battery is dead. My Yukon has a new starter and battery, the alternator is fine (had it checked, just in case). Very displeased, had it removed and threw the thing away. Waste of time and money."
-20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dieppe NB

Best budget remote starter

Date:October 29, 2011
"I've been using this remote starter for 3 years now and my only problem was the battery in the remote went flat last week. This unit works very well, simple to use, is reliable and cheap.
Installation is a breeze (if you know a little bit about car electrical), I've installed many of these units in friends and family's vehicles. Not complicated to program and is compatible with all popular security bypass modules, even has the ability to talk back to some high end bypass modules (facilitating installation).
I love the door lock/unlock feature, my vehicle didn't come with a remote even though it had power locks. It also has the horn chirp which is nice for a confirmation you locked your doors while walking away. It has many more features that I don't use but could be useful to some.
Range is adequate but not extreme, not recommended if you live in a large apt. building far from where you park. However It does the job for most people. Sometimes it's necessary to hold the button down for a few seconds for the signal to reach further.
Overall you will not find a better remote start for this price ($50 when it was on sale). If you need more range, go for a higher end unit and pay more $$."
+49points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works good

Date:December 23, 2010
"Someone wrote "Prostart offers precise wiring diagram with plenty of pictures for free - to help you with the installation. (From the Prostart website.)"
BE WARNED!!! It's a one time look at the site. I studied it a week before I installed it on my wife's car and when I really needed it, I read the small writing.
Took a long time to install but once it's done, it works very well.
I'd give it 5 stars except for the questionable website thing.
"
+44points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Expectancy

Date:December 3, 2010
"I bought this product in 1998(old model of course)
I just sold my car in september 2010 with a working remote starter!!
I've used in constantly winter and summer for A/C!
I just purchased this model for my new truck
"
+51points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works Very Well

Date:November 15, 2010
"Have this model installed on my 01 Mazda MPV. Works great. Self-installed. Prostart offers precise wiring diagram with plenty of pictures for free - to help you with the installation. (From the Prostart website.) You will need the serial number on the back of your remote starter. Highly recommend."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chalk River, ON

Great Product but Canadian Tire will not install

Date:October 15, 2010
"I bought this on sale last year and Canadian Tire will not install them i tried 3 different locations and had no luck. My opinion why sell a product that you are not willing to install. It just isnt rtight when you are a national car maintenance facility that will not install a product that you sell. I suggest stay away from this."
+43points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Gift

Date:December 29, 2009
"Received this as a christmas gift this year, and it's one of my favorite gifts. It's amazing how far you can be and it starts up. Even through walls! I did see them on special before christmas, either way it was a great buy, and an excellent gift!!"
+38points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hinton, Alberta

Beats all I have had in past.

Date:December 14, 2009
"I've had a lot of remote starters over the years, but after a few bad ones I skipped the last few cars I have had. Just a few days ago I had my local Canadian Tire install 2 of these, in my Landrover and in an older VW Jetta, (diesel). The quality of work was WAY above and beyondmy expectations, and the units perform perfectly. Still have one car without, but not for long......"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings-Only Reviews for ProStart 2-button Remote Starter
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1