Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Garage Tools or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for OBD II Code Reader

OBD II Code Reader

Easy to use and view with no complex, multiple screens; everything is displayed on a single large screenMonitor status indicates if all monitors have completed testing and if the vehicle is ready for emissions testingMonitor icons indicate which monitors are supported by the vehicle being tested and
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
30 of 36(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 98 Answers
Customer Reviews for OBD II Code Reader
Review 1 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Code reader only

Date:February 20, 2014
"not a diagnostic scan tool. just an expensive code reader not worth the money even at half price sales."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sherbrooke, QC, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Work's well

Date:September 6, 2013
"Just plug it in to get the codes. Then Google it. you will find all the info you need. No need to pay for the premium service by Innova. Worked every time for me."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edm

Mis-leading advertising

Date:July 8, 2013
"Scanner is advertised to perform live readings, well it does this for some makes mostly domestic. There is a charge to access the "Help"."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton

Save Your Money

Date:April 13, 2013
"Bought the reader and tried to link it to my computer. After several reboots it required it still would not sync. Only a quick start guide comes with it and you need to download the manual from their confusing website. And the biggest kicker is to get info from tool and website you MUST buy a premium membership for each vehicle you wish to scan. Save your money, but the $30 unit from princess auto and look up the codes online"
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada

Worrying quality

Date:March 9, 2013
"This scanner stopped working after the first time I used it. I could tell the scanner was still working, but the screen was dead. Thanks to CT's good return policy, i was able to return for a full refund."
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC, Canada

Fried after 2nd use

Date:December 6, 2012
"Worked great the first time but screen is dead and fails to power up now."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Angus, ON L0M, Canada

I great tool to have for your Car!

Date:September 3, 2012
"I've been lucky to have product for the past 3 years and have not only used it on my own car but have used it for Neighbours, Friends and Family members.
This product is Great!! Tells you the problems with your Engine, what the code is so you can tell your mechanic or know for yourself in order to fix it. It also allows you to clear the codes.
It's a must buy and a great tool to have for your car, not to mention you can't beat the price it's going for."
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:north bay ontario

great machine for the money works perfect

Date:August 31, 2012
"i really like this tool ,even tho there is no abs function, it still told me why the check engine light was on and i was also able to clear the code as well, and i really like the etest feature as it will tell you if there is any problems with the emissions systems and if there is it tells me what the problem is etc. great machine and got it on sale today saved over 110.00 iam going to also buy the higher end unit with abs when i can. innova great tool and didnt cost me a tone me of money either, and the repair was very cheap well this time lol"
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada

Easy to use, very dependable

Date:July 29, 2012
"I have scanned and cleared codes in about 30 peoples cars, all different makes and models. Have never had any issues, always dependable.
I have also been on road trips and had my car post codes in other cities. Its great to be able to scan, and have the peace of mind of knowing if you have a serious problem, or if you're good to keep going.
When you check your code, make sure you google it- its free, and will usually point you in the right direction for a fix!"
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:nl

handy gadget

Date:July 26, 2012
"The fact that it can read stft and ltft is a big plus"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pitt Meadows

Worth it's weight in silver

Date:May 5, 2012
"Literally. After you use it a few times, the money you save will probably equal it's weight in silver.
My '03 Altima wouldn't start so after some online researched I believed it was my camshaft/crankshaft sensor(s). The problem is, with towing an diagnostic costs it would cost me about 300 just to find out what was wrong with my car. The mechanic could tell me anything and I wouldn't know any better.
So I bought this, plugged it in and within 3 seconds I had the code. Camshaft sensor bank 1. Researching some more, it could either be the cam or crankshaft but both sensors are cheap and on my care ultimately the exact same part. The camshaft sensor can be replaced in 10 minutes while the crankshaft sensor take a bit more time but the important thing is I can replace both myself with nothing more than the part and a ratchet.
So ultimately, by buying this simple device I will fix my car for about $250 including the cost of this ODB device which can be used over and over again. I would probably be charged 300 plus towing/diagnostics by the mechanic just to change the camshaft sensor, even more for the crankshaft sensor.
By owning this, you also have the added benefit of probably being the only friend or family member that has one. Think of how happy your friends will be when you can shoot over to their house and diagnose the problem with their car and save them all that precious moola. You can also use it before aircare to see if your car will potentially pass or not.
This device is definitely worth it and until cars come with the ability to diagnose themselves, it really is a must have for people that like saving money on repair costs."
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scarborough, ON

Works Very Well

Date:June 25, 2011
"Turn your key to on position.
Plug this baby in.
Your code will appear in 10 seconds.
Can't be any easier to use. And if you want it to, it can erase the code and reset the check engine light which is nice.
Works for vehicles from 1996 and newer."
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON

Manufacturer Upcharges

Date:March 9, 2011
"I bought this unit based upon the reviews and info on CTC's website and Innova's website. Easy to use and install the software but, I was led to believe that the included software "Repair Solutions" would point me in some directions to repair the problem. Just be aware there are upcharges to get this information."
+78points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Port Coquitlam, BC

Grrrrrrrrrrrreat

Date:December 30, 2010
"Great tool to have, Everyone gets a check engine light from time to time and its nicer knowing what the actually problem is or was instead of the hill billy disconnect the battery for 10 minutes method.... Its almost a must for new cars these days
Until code readers come with cars like a spare tire or run flat I suggest buying one"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:uxbridge, ontario

money saver

Date:December 24, 2010
"bought this unit 50% off yesterday.
had an engine light on and i hooked this unit to my car withing 15 sec i knew what was wrong with it. saved me 50 bucks from going to the dealership and saved my buddy 100 bucks from the shop he goes to. right there 2 vehicles checked out and its already paid for itself.
"
+40points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax

great product !!!

Date:December 22, 2010
"hooked it up and it read the code - very easy to use
great value at 50% off - paid for itself already
"
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth it!

Date:September 18, 2010
"Took longer to open the package and insert the batteries (included) than it did to figure out why the pesky engine light was on! Cost $99.70 after taxes in BC, saved me a 1 hour round trip to a dealer, and a $75 dollar plus taxes bill to find out my gas cap was faulty! (In other words, worth it for one time use, next time, FREEBE!) This tool will be padded and held in my tool box forever! And too answer my question, no, Windows software only, nothing VMware Fusion didn't solve! Great tool, incredible price! So simple to use also!"
+45points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg Mb.

code reader

Date:January 20, 2010
"good product and works well accept will not read ABS codes or air bag codes. It is upgradeable but your better off buying a better one."
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Did the job

Date:December 30, 2009
"Unit is well worth the money, and will save me and family $$$ in the future."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for OBD II Code Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bowmanville, ON

Big money saver

Date:December 29, 2009
"Product was easy to use and cleared that annoying check engine light in a snap. No more trips to the garage to diagnose the mystery light. Also gives you a fighting chance of solving the problem yourself. Would recommend to anyone with a 1996 or newer vehicle."
+31points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2