Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Battery Chargers or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger

NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger

Versatile charger provides charging and maintenance modes for both large and small batteries from 1.2-120Ah, such as Cars, RVs, Boats, Trucks and Tractors, as well as for Motorcycles, ATVs, Jet Skis or Snowmobiles and more6v/12v compatibility, charges 6v & 12v batteries.Has auto-memory, which return
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
10 of 14(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger
Review 1 for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Whitehorse, YT, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

does what I need

Date:October 20, 2014
"I purchased this for my 6 volt golf batteries I have for my camper. This works great for charging them in series over the winter months while they are in storage. No issues to date."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Scarborough, Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Vvrrroooom !!!

Date:September 9, 2014
"I bought this Aug. 30 / 14 . Read some of the other reviews for the other models of this product , they seemed not all that happy with it. I watched some of the videos on Youtube and liked what I saw.
It charged the battery on my tractor with in 4-5 hours. It was easy to hook up and set up for charging. I recommend this charger . I did read one guy boiled his battery dry , I think he had it set at the wrong voltage for his battery. I've had no problems . I really like the eyelet connectors so you just use the connector at the other end . Just click it to the other connector on the charging unit. I got mine on sale saved $21.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Doesn't do what it says

Date:May 28, 2014
"I purchased this charger in order to help recovery my car battery for my BMW which stayed in the garage over the winter. The instructions say it can desulphate and bring a battery to life. It also mentions that you need a small charge already on your car of 2V I believe to get it going. I boosted the car with wife's car and let it run for a while. Tried to charge it and nothing. I get all lights on and it making a clicking sound. This charger really isn't worth the hype. To credit Noco I bought the G7200 and that bad boy did the trick. I put it in supply mode for an hr and then it was charging just fine. To be sure I put it in boost mode as well to desulphate it. I'm highly impressed with the G7200 and for the extra $30 when on sale it's totally worth it."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

this thing is great

Date:May 6, 2014
"so i have used this charger on both 2009 BMW sedan and a 2003 BMW SUV, works like a charm.
just plug it in, it will show you how much charge left on your battery(ie. 25%, 50% etc), then it will charge the battery to the max then maintain it at that level.
it's a very nice product to have if you don't drive your car enough or not driving them at all, it keeps your battery and your car alive.
cheers!"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Compact, simple, powerful - gets the job done

Date:November 27, 2013
"My battery has drained or died about 4 times in the last 2 weeks. I keep jumping it and it keeps working for a few days each time, but either A) something is draining the battery I am not aware of, or B) the battery is weak and wasn't fully charged after I jumped it (I drive less than 30 mins per day and only a few times per week) or C) a combination of B and A.
The night before a big snow storm, of course my car battery goes dead. No lights, no power locks, barely even enough juice for one small dash light.
The next morning, I got a jump from a friend, left the car running while I ran into the store and bought the unit. It indicated my battery was at 25% life. I left it plugged in for about 4 hours at home and it was at 100%. So far so good.
I researched this product and was the best choice for a car battery I think (a trade off between power and price). There is a more expensive model with more amps to charge a larger battery, but this won't really help unless you have a very large car battery or it is very very cold. There is also a smaller and less expensive model, but for an extra $15. I think more power is better.
I don't have a garage where I live, so I was able to tuck the unit (it is fairly compact) under my car hood and leave my drained battery charging while it was snowing with the hood partially closed. A regular charger probably would not have fit or I would have shoved it under the car to keep snow out.
I drive a Chrysler Intrepid, and changing the battery takes about an hour, because of all the parts to take off (*sigh*). This product was a much easier option for me.
The Good
* Simple to use
*Price was ok considering it's about 1/2 price of new battery ($60 on sale)
*Compact enough to use outside in the elements
*Charged my battery from 25% to 100% in about 4 hours
*multiple battery charging options
*Works out of the box
*Supposed 5 year warranty (even my car's warranty was less...)
*cheaper and more effective than buying a new battery
The Bad
*Has a lot of features to learn about (neutral)
*Manual states that after 2 years there is a $16+ charge of some sort for replacing the unit (not sure if C.T. would charge this or not???)
*Power clips are kind of small, but they worked ok
*Another reviewer said the manual indicated IT WILL NOT charge a completely dead battery if the voltage is less than 2 volts??? So you have to jump the battery with another car before reviving a completely drained / dead battery
*** make sure to use the proper setting (it has several) for 6 volt, 12 volt, small and normal sized) as if you deliver to many amps to a smaller battery this could damage it I'm pretty sure***"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Leamington, ON
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Wicked Stupid and not Solid-State!

Date:November 6, 2013
"Canadian Tire has discontinued the CTEK battery chargers and replaced with similar, but cheaper NOCO units. CTEK is highly regarded, and no longer carrying this brand is a mistake. I purchased the NOCO G3500 "Genius" charger primarily to fully charge and maintain a battery installed in a vehicle that has limited use, sits for weeks during good weather, and is stored for the winter. I really wanted to love this charger, but found the "genius" charger is anything but!
I cannot comment on how good it is as a charger of a discharged battery, but as a battery maintainer it only works perfectly on a fully charged battery. On two cars with perfect batteries, it worked good charging to above 13v, except the G3500 has 5 lights on constantly under maintenance mode. This is overkill and a bad user interface. Only one light is necessary to tell you the battery is fully charged and being maintained.
The battery in the intended car is always struggling to keep above 12v due to limited use of the car. I connected the G3500, and it eventually showed all lights on indicating a full charge. I measured 12.86v. Then I had to disconnect the charger to work on the car. Later when I reconnected the charger the battery voltage was at 12.44. All lights quickly came on indicating a full-charged battery, but every 15 seconds or so you hear a clicking from the charger. I went to the NOCO website and found that constant clicking is due to a low battery that the charger cannot deal with. The opposite is true in my case with a full-charged battery. This clicking is from a relay, and reveals that this charger is NOT fully solid-state! I then contacted NOCO customer support re. the clicking. I was told the charger is clicking because the battery is not holding charge and probably should be replaced. Huh!?
No matter how long on battery, the G3500 would not charge it above 13v. Thinking that this "genius" charger just wasn't smart enough to hit the battery with more voltage, I connected an old CT 1A dumb charger that has high voltage and will destroy the battery if left on (long discontinued because of this). After a couple of hours the battery was above 13v and I then reconnected the G3500. Now it would maintain in the upper 12.80s and clicked about every 30 sec. After 2 days on battery, clicking slowed down a bit and voltage rose to around 12.96 under charge. This relay clicking is a concern since at this rate it would happen over 50,000/month and asking for failure!
I then replaced the G3500 with a much cheaper Battery Tender Jr. and found that simpler is better! The battery that NOCO told me needs replacing is now being maintained above 13.10, just as good as my other batteries.
Bottom line, the G3500 works good as a battery maintainer only if it is already at an ideal charge. But on a battery that is 90%-95% charged it is not smart enough to bring it to 100%. A Battery Tender will—and it only has one light and no clicking. For me, simpler is better. I returned the G3500 for a refund."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Bring your own genius

Date:July 21, 2013
"I bought this charger on sale (-25%) to try to revive some dead batteries. There are lots of references to desulfication and pulse charging and the like so thought I would try this. When I hooked it up a bunch of the lights just flashed. The manual says this indicates an error condition. So now what? I had to look up the manual online on their site www.geniuschargers.com which has more information. Unfortunately it just lists about 5 different possible reasons for the error - not the specific error. One of the reasons is that the battery is not providing at least 2.0v. Apparently the battery needs to output at least 2.0v to be able to use the charger so it recommends jump starting the battery or attaching the battery to a power supply until it is charged enough to use the charger. Attach the battery to a power supply? What does that even mean? So here's my WICKED SMART TIP for you: It sounds like a great product for battery maintenance or optimization of battery performance of working batteries, but if your battery is in really bad shape and you are hoping this thing will pull it back from the brink, you may be disappointed. NOW THAT'S SMART. WICKED SMART."
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta

Best charger

Date:July 14, 2013
"I bought this charger for charging deep cycle RV batteries. I've used it on a 70 and a 100 amp hour battery and it works great. This unit makes no noise, it's small and lightweight and is fully automatic, meaning you can turn it on and walk away from it. I'd recommend it to anybody."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brandon, MB, Canada

Not quite the "Genius" it claims to be!

Date:June 2, 2013
"Lots of modes and flashing lights but this "smart" charger thought a battery I drained last September was 100% charged and would not charge it. The same thing occurred with another battery at about 50% charge. I will return it tomorrow and search for one that isn't too smart to work!"
-9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON, Canada

Excellent charger

Date:May 14, 2013
"This handy little charger is amazing, simple to use and does a great job. Use it for keeping my motorcycle battery maintained all winter and it has saved me alot by keeping my battery in great shape. Its small and light not like the old anchor weights others are. Very happy with this charger."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kemptville, ON, Canada

Great Smart Battery Charger!

Date:February 14, 2013
"This smart provides all the right function in a well size format, it does everything you can expect and his very efficient. Great buy!"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada

Very impressed with the charger.

Date:December 11, 2012
"I bought this mostly to maintain a battery in a car that gets driven infrequently, but also use it on my bike during the summer. Build quality is excellent compared to other chargers and the auto functions are great -- the fact that it remembers where its last setting is especially helpful because when you are using it on the same vehicle you just come home plug it in and go. This thing is also tiny compared to the old metal beasts."
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC

Wow! Best Charger Ever

Date:October 25, 2012
"I needed a battery charger to keep my battery charged this fall/winter. My old charger only lasted about a year, so I was in the market for a new charger. I saw the g3500 on the shelf and was immediately attracted to the packaging. It has a TON of features. Been using this now for several days, and I have to say this is the BEST charger I have ever owned. Period. Very easy to use, and does an excellent job with car batteries. I also love the Small Battery Mode for maintaining my motorcycle cycle as well. This charger was a little bit more expensive than some of the other options, but well worth the price in my book. Also, the customer rep at the store spoke really highly of this charger too. Happy with my purchase so far."
+45points
Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings-Only Reviews for NOCO Genius G3500 Smart Battery Charger
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1