Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Auto Energy Production & Storage or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt

Blue Planet solar power panels are an easy-to-use, guaranteed solution to an ever-growing need for alternate power sources or backup power. 15W solar battery charger works with cars, RVs, boats, tractors, ATVs, electric fences, deer feeders, and much more. Maintenance free and easy to install. Works in all weather conditions - even on cloudy days
Average Customer Rating:
3.776 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
6
37 of 49(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Review 1 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:TBay

not as shown but better

Date:August 12, 2012
" I bought 2 of these on sale to keep my deep cycle battery charged for watching satellite tv out at camp. I did my amp math and figured this would work. 2-4 hours of tv if needed over the weekend and a few days to top back off. It's only been a couple weeks so I can't share my results, but I will comment on the durability and construction of them. They seem to be very well put together with an aluminum frame and have a bit of weight to them. As stated, they come with wall anchors and attachments for the roof or wall and stainless adjustable legs for ground mount. I have them on the roof of my RV with the legs. I just wired them together and to my air conditioner unit so the wind won't blow them off! Again, the weight helps.
I'll comment again on performance later in the year. PS the 40 watt panel went on sale after I bought these but for the small difference in amps and price, I am happier with 30 watts. I can move them around on the roof indepently if needed. I approve so keep checking your flyer and grab 'em when they go on sale!
"
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Athabasca, AB, Canada

Not what it Appears....

Date:August 7, 2012
" The Solar Panel that is sold in the Store is different than the one shown online.
I purchased this product (2 Panels)...brought them home and they did not have the 4 screw mounting holes....meant to mount on a flat surface. Instead...it came with 3 drywall mounting screws meant to hang the thing on a wall??
Anyways, another weird thing was that there was two pictures on the box. The main picture was what I got out of the box. The picture on the back of the box was what it shows online...two different things. Took it all back.
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS

Great on the boat.

Date:September 15, 2011
" I have a single deep cycle battery on my boat that is charged by the engine. I usually sail off the mooring and rarely use the engine so I found my battery was always drained and I'd have to plan a recharge.
This panel has solved that problem nicely. I keep it on the cockpit bench while the boat is moored and just stow it below every time we go out. I run a VHF, stereo and GPS off of the battery and just a few sunny days is enough to top up the battery to full. I added the charge controller for peace of mind and now I never worry about the battery any more. "
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sask.

A little heavy, but works well

Date:February 14, 2011
" I found this solar panel to be a little more heavier than I expected, but after finally getting it mounted, it's been working wonderfully.
Of course, it's a peak performance in direct sunlight, but even when sunlight is on an angle - or on an overcast day - the panel still provides power to our solar generator.
This item seems to come up on sale pretty regularly, so wait for the reduced price, if you can, and you'll get even better value for your money. "
+52points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

You pay for what you get

Date:August 4, 2010
" These are cheaply made and will not last. I bought two eliminator Solar Panels two years ago, one fail during the winter months, the second fail last week. I never had the output they promised, even on the brightest of January days. Where the sun is at its strongest. In reality they are very expensive, you get a 15 watt panel for about 100 dollars, 30 watts, two panels for about 200 dollars. You can buy 100 watt solar panel on the internet for about 250 dollars shipped , they are also constructed to last and are guaranteed for 2 years on manufactures defect and 25 years on performance. "
+92points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon

15watt solar panel

Date:April 26, 2010
" Ditto This panel does not perform as indicated. The plastic surround splits and exposes the inner works.
The glass and surface discolours and shows a film on the inside surface. They are not worth the price and I am thinking I would like to get warranty and replace them with something else in a different product.
"
+53points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB

Good Beginner Product

Date:February 9, 2010
" Since the summer of 2005 I have purchased 8 of these panels. I used them first in conjunction with the 7amp Sunforce Charge Controller (which itself failed after 2 years) and then after my 8th panel I upgraded to the 30 amp Sunforce Charge Controller (which I am still using).
I cannot recommend these panels for the following reasons:
1) The 1 amp max output rating is mostly a pipe dream. Of the 8 panels I've owned I've never had one produce more then 500 mA on the clearest day, with direct sunlight.
2) The build quality of the earlier models (I still see these sold in some stores) is terrible. If you purchase these panels and they do not come with the unibody frame with the 2 cross supports on the back, return them, the plastic will shrink in sunlight and crack.
3) At best these panels can be categorized as a trickle charger. That is to say that they will MAINTAIN a fully charged 12 volt battery. But there is no way they have the output to actually charge a 75% or more discharged 12 volt battery.
4) After several calls to Sunforce (even if these panels say Motomaster - they are Sunforce) we concluded that 3 of my 8 panels were shot (less then 5 years old and producing 0 amps) and the remaining 5 were producing well under 25% of their rated amperage.
I have since purchased an 80 Watt Sharp solar module (same as the Sunforce one sold be CT) and I am much happier with it. It is rated to produce ~5 amps and does.
If you are looking to get into the recreational solar hobby (whether it be for your garage, cottage, rv, etc) I would recommend staying clear of these panels and focus on using higher wattage (50+ Watts minimum) panels - you will be much happier in the long and short runs. "
+120points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Solar

Date:January 23, 2010
" Got one of these and we use it to charge 5 batteries during the winter so they are ready to use in the summer. "
-12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland

Does what it is supposed to do

Date:January 22, 2010
" I have one at the cottage to keep a deep cycle battery charged . Works fine... "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Calgary

Worked for...

Date:January 22, 2010
" Worked for a while, but after 6 mo. or so the output was nil. Didn't last as expected "
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:marieville, Qc

good for camping

Date:January 22, 2010
" Good product but you have to be careful when handling it, it's durability is poor "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Product Works

Date:April 26, 2009
" The product works as described, it does put out the power stated. People should know that solar noon is when the most is produced. I have 4 of these panels, 2 of the folding 30W panel and one other 15W panel from a box store. I produce a peak of 105W during solar noon at 4.5 to 5.8 AMPS. This system charges 4 heavy duty truck batteries up to 13.6V each day. I use this system to power 2 laptops, HS Modem, Wireless Router, 26W CFL Lamp, HP C6180 wirles printer and my portal phone base charger. Produces all the power I need and saves me about $100.00 CAD in Electrical cost each year. Total cost of the system was $612.00 CAD and will pay for itself in 7 years. Everthing was bought on sale at CTC. Charge controler, Panels, connectors and combiner box (plastic one). See picture of my system. "
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC

Low Output In Winter

Date:November 30, 2008
" I purchased the solar panel on sale and brought it home bungy corded to the saddle bags on my bike. During a sunnier than usual week in Victoria in November, with a stationary installation, the output was about 10 Ampere Hours into 12 Volt lead acid batteries (over 7 days). The maximum output was 600 mA (7.5 Watts) in bright fall sunlight and a meagre 20 mA (0.25 Watts) through the clouds.
When boosted back out through the 1750 Watt Motomaster Eliminator Inverter (Product #11-1845-8), it charged one (of two total) of my wife's 48 VDC electric bicycle batteries. At that rate we would need about 10 of these panels for daily commuting on an electric bike in the winter.
The panel appears weather resistant and should last many years outdoors. The long cable has many different included end attachments. When paired with the 7A Eliminator Charge Controller (Product #11-1890-8), the solar panel cable is twisted with wire nuts (Marrettes included) to the charge controller. The charge controller has circular cable lugs which fit directly on the poles on the back of the 1750 W inverter. You will still have to find a method of connecting to your batteries. It's important that you have a way to shut off or disconnect your inverter (#11-1845-8 has a built in shut off switch) as they bleed off up to 20 mA with no 120 VAC load. Mounting the panel on a slope appropriate to your latitude, that is difficult for thieves to get at, and feeding the cable into your garage may be fairly difficult to achieve.
For a complete installation, you will also need a digital volt meter and / or an acid tester, to determine the state of charge of your batteries. Both devices require charts to check the measured data against the state of charge. The charge controller successfully protects against over charging, but the most difficult task is to prevent discharging below 50%. Any use below 50% dramatically reduces the service life of a lead acid battery. "
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Barrie, Ontario

Disappointed

Date:October 26, 2008
" Purchased 2 panels. Never measured more than 620 ma of current into a car battery at 14.5 volts.( approx. 9 watts) on either one, even in full summer sun. At 13.2 volts this dropped to 8.2 watts. After 18 months, one panel would not output more than 232 ma while the other panel had only dropped off to 540 ma. (Both still had open circuit voltages of 22 volts or more) When I took it back for a warranty replacement, I was directed to speak with a manufacturer's rep. by phone who seemed most intent on having me buy a charge controller & kept pointing out that the open circuit voltage was still good. Finally I was allowed to get a replacement which produced almost 10 watts. This new panel is a different design from the orig. & has just failed completely. I disgustedly took it apart myself to find a poor connection right at the panel foil. The frame is too flexible & the connection too tenuous to last, in my opinion.
The foil requies a very special solder to repair & is very delicate. I have finally fixed it but would not suggest this product as more than an interesting toy. Even at 50% off it is still overpriced and should sell for about $4-$5 per watt, compared to real panels with 20 year warranties. Its actual output is overstated, also.
"
+20points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, Ontario

Works well

Date:September 19, 2008
" I have 14 of these connected together in an array (bought on sale) and they seem to be working very well. I've gotten up to 250 watts out of them together at mid day. I have them charging (through a charge controller) a pair of 100amp hour batteries and they seem to have no problem topping them up on a bright day. I've angled them at 68 degrees to be perpindicular to the winter sun to hopefully even out the output over the year. "
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Backup Power

Date:September 16, 2008
" I am geting started on building an array of panels and the Eliminator 15 watt is a very reasonable priced panel. I will be buying more
panels to create an array for the future.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Comox, BC

Nice and easy

Date:September 10, 2008
" I installed 2 of these on my wife's art gallery - they are light and easy to install (just 4 screws). The screws that come with it are rather short, so i bought some 4" coated deck screws to hold them securely. Nice 12' long cords easily make it into the building, and connected quickly up to the charge controller (the 7A eliminator) and then to the batteries.
Previous testing in direct summer sunlight showed about 25 volts. twilight and shade still gives around 13 volts.
I'm happy with them so far. Long term testing will show if they give me the power I need.
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Vancouver

15 watt Solar Panel

Date:September 9, 2008
" I have bought smaller solar panels like the 1.8w and the 5.5 w solar panels. But when the 15 w came on sale, I jump at the opportunity to buy it to charge my batteries as I use my 7 amp solar controller and my 1200w Motomaster Eliminator Inverter. I found the larger panel did supply enough power to charge the batteries, even on cloudy days and I am able to run the few things without the use of hydro. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal

Great technology

Date:September 9, 2008
" Bought one last summer to use on a camping trip with the Eliminator powerBox 600. Does a good job of topping off the battery. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Blue Planet Solar Panel, 15 Watt
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:London, ON

Good for beginners

Date:September 9, 2008
" Pros: I have three of these panels which I use for a solar generator when camping. They work well, and if you can nab them while on sale, the price is great. Power output is good in all light conditions.
Cons: The framing is cheap - one of mine split and I had to do some creative repair to get it back into one piece. The wiring isn't as high-quality as it could be. You can get panels that output twice the power at this size if you're willing to spend a bit more. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3