Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Power Inverters or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Eliminator 1000W Inverter Charger

MotoMaster Eliminator 1000W Inverter Charger

1000W Inverter Charger converts 12V DC battery power to 120V AC during power outages, and can charge 12V battery bank when power grid is availableAutomatically transfers from power grid to battery bank during power outage so that the appliances can be used without interruption.Provides a continuous 1000 W of power and 2000 W of surge capacityTwo 120V AC outlets for powering two device at once.Audible alarm warns of low battery voltageAuto shutdown protects against overload, short-circuit, over temperature and low/high battery conditionUSB output of 5V 500mA, and a battery charge of 10ARemote on and off switch allows you to operate the inverter from up to 6' (1.8m) awayIdeal for long haul truckers who need to power home appliances, consumer electronic and office equipment on-board their truckAlso suitable for small contractors to operate handheld power tools from their van or pick-up truck, and for use in an RV or minivan
Average Customer Rating:
3.1 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
6 of 10(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Eliminator 1000W Inverter Charger
Review 1 for MotoMaster Eliminator 1000W Inverter Charger
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Charger not up to scratch

Date:September 7, 2013
"Inverter side worked fine, however when I put my battery on charge it continued to charge at full rate well past the full battery charge. I think it would have boiled my battery dry in less than a week. I took it back and they replaced it with another that worked excactly the same. Fortunately Can Tire is great for exchange and they let me buy the straight 1000 watt inverter I had started out with at the sale price."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for MotoMaster Eliminator 1000W Inverter Charger
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ontario
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Serious downgrade on new model

Date:August 21, 2013
"This replaced the 20 amp charger with 10 amp but worse the pass through used to be 30 Amp which made them ideal for RV s or Boats. Now its only 15 amps. Very sad I must return it. Used to be a fabulous product"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for MotoMaster Eliminator 1000W Inverter Charger
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada

I found the previous model with 20amp charger

Date:July 8, 2013
"The previous model is I think better than this because it was the original xantrex rebranded motomaster . I'm replacing an my old 1000w inverter only which I was very reliable. This model has the auto power transfer which very convenient and the 20 amp. charger. It works as it should with a 600w microwave, a small fridge ,600w toaster and electric fan. I rigged my van so it's got switch for every outlet that way I can turn off and on without unplugging because you can only use 600w max to be on the safe side plus the battery might not handle the load. This also fit under the passenger seat of my Dodge Sprinter. i hope this is as reliable as the one I'm replacing."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for MotoMaster Eliminator 1000W Inverter Charger
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

previous model is/was way better

Date:March 28, 2013
"Bought the pictured model in Jan. 2013 on sale. After connecting it to 120V the fan started right away even with no load connected to the unit and did not stop for as long as the unit was connected to 120V. - NOT GOOD! The noise was unacceptable even when the unit was placed in the designated installation compartment in my travel trailer. - NOT GOOD!
Luckily they had one unit of the previous model left when I returned it to the store. This model also has remote controls, works flawless, has a very quiet fan which works properly (i.e. turns only on when charging a pretty much drained battery bank), feels more solid just by it's weight and design (a little heavier than pictured model). As an added bonus the older model charges with 20A whereas the pictured newer model is rated at only 10A. ALL GOOD!
In a nutshell: again the idea of maximizing profits has lead to a very noticeable loss of quality.
Take notice that I obviously picked a faulty model which was exchanged in the customer friendly CT way. But even if it had worked properly I would have been unhappy with the noise of the fan.
"
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for MotoMaster Eliminator 1000W Inverter Charger
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not as good as I had hoped.

Date:December 7, 2011
"I bought this to power a 1/2hp column style sump pump that currently works fine on a 1000w Xantrex stand alone inverter.
I expected this would have the same inverter in it as my existing inverter but it does not. The unit would not start the pump at all, it kept overloading, it wouldn't even start my 1/3hp pump. It's possible I had a defective one, I never tried another. It would run a power drill I used to test it however."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for MotoMaster Eliminator 1000W Inverter Charger
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta

Works good, but the cable and fuse is not included

Date:August 14, 2011
"I bought this unit and a deep cycle marine battery to run my 1/2 hp backup sump pump in my basement in case of a power outage during an electrical storm. I works great! The unit has a built in GFCI for safety, it can be wired directly into the home service panel to provide 120v AC continuously, and it recharges the marine battery automatically when the power comes on again. The only problem that I had was finding the recommended inline fuse and holder to run between the battery and the inverter. I had to order one from a local RV dealer and in the end, the fuse and wiring cables cost an extra hundred or so dollars."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for MotoMaster Eliminator 1000W Inverter Charger
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC

Good price, questionable quality

Date:July 14, 2011
"Installed one of these units in my boat. After 4 weeks, the Inverter component within the unit stopped inverting power. Charger and AC passthrough continued to work. Fortunately, I kept my bill of sale and CdnTire exchanged the unit. Although I purchased the unit in June of 2011, it had a date of manufacture sticker of 2008, so obviously CdnTire have picked up old stock from Xantrex -- looks like the stock was from the time before Xantrex was purchased by Schneider and as I understand, there were some QC issues with them.
Interestingly, CdnTire have now begun to label the Xantrex units as Motomaster. The replacement unit now has the Motomaster name on it, but is exactly the same as the Xantrex.
CdnTire's price on these units at $149 is $2-300 better than any other outlet (check WestMarine).
One feature you need to watch is that the unit will automatically switch between shore power and battery power if shore power is lost. While this can be a good thing in that power is not lost, if the unit is unattended and switches to battery power it can potentially completely drain a battery bank. Unfortunately, this option is not configurable -- would be nice if that option could be turned on and off."
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for MotoMaster Eliminator 1000W Inverter Charger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kelowna BC

Fantastic product

Date:January 4, 2011
"I installed this inverter/charger in my smaller RV trailer last year when I renovated it. All I can say is that this unit is fantastic! It switches seamlessly between Shore power (plugged into the site) and battery power. Even if someone walks by and trips your plug while you are in the trailer watching TV, the inverter instantly starts making power from your battery bank, so you don't even miss a thing.
the 20amp charger is fully automatic, and charges the battery at two stages, bulk and trickle, until fully charged. It also supplies 12V power when plugged into the site to power all of your 12V accessories so as not to drain your battery.
I cannot say enough about this inverter. I would highly reccommend this to anyone looking for RV or marine purposes, and 1000 watts is enough for almost any non-heat producting device you can plug in. Also, the control panel and plugs are completely removable, so all that is visible in my RV is the outlet and the control box. Cleans up extremely nice."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for MotoMaster Eliminator 1000W Inverter Charger
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not Bad

Date:January 25, 2010
"I would recommend this inverter charger to anyone. Great unit!"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for MotoMaster Eliminator 1000W Inverter Charger
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome unit

Date:September 10, 2009
"This is a great inverter/ charger. Top quality.
Power output is excellent - compared to my last inverter which would cause loud buzzing/ humming in laptop power brick, a/c, etc - this one: no buzz/ hum whatsoever.
The front panel comes off and can be mounted wherever you like it (it has a 25 foot cord included).
20 Amp battery charger kicks in when the unit receives 'good' 120v power from shore/ generator.
3 stage charging works great - much better charge then straight floating 14v like most chargers do.
120v also passes through unit when in charging mode, so you use shore/ generator power instead of batteries.
Lots of safety features.
Would highly recommend to anyone with a battery/ inverter system. Top notch."
+39points
Was this review helpful to you?