Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W

MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W

MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter converts 12 V DC power into 120V household AC powerSimply connect to the 12V battery in your vehicle, a standalone 12V battery, or a bank of batteries to run AC powered devicesIdeal for off-grid installations in cars, trucks, RVs, boats or at the cottage a
Average Customer Rating:
3.655 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
21 of 29(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
223 Questions | 295 Answers
Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Review 1 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Abbotsford
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily

Squeal

Date:July 22, 2016
" I have only hooked up two cables to the battery. We haven't used the unit yet.it makes a squealing noise from time to time.what would the issue be, I can't use it like that as we would be sleeping near this... "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male

Unhappy

Date:June 8, 2016
" Installed this unit in my RV and first trip out unplugged the only 15 watt thing that was plugged into it and it went into Overload warning with nothing connected. Never worked for the rest of the weekend.
Got my money back
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sault Ontario
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

wiring 2nd battery- 3rd battery in series

Date:January 5, 2016
" I understand that the first battery connected to the invertor must be tight connections with wing nuts and bolts.
I am asking if the second, third fourth battery etc. needs to bolted connections to the first battery or can I just use booster cables ?
Thanks "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Denver, BC V0G, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

maximizing watts

Date:November 20, 2015
" Good for light loads for long periods or big loads for short use. IE. 300 watt tv will use 50 % of 100 amp battery in about 1. 5 hours, then low voltage alarm will sound and you'll have to recharge your battery. In order to generate 2000 watts of power you need 3 100 amp hr batteries hooked in parallel. At 2000 watts use you'll run down your batteries to the low voltage alarm setting in 40 minutes or so. If you have big power demands, tv's, electric kettles, toasters etc. go the gas generator route. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Britt, ON P0G, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

worked well but

Date:August 25, 2015
" I purchased this product a couple of years ago and use it for a couple months in the summer. this year the fans seems to have seized...bad electrical smell. I am going to try to get it repaired. Worked well before that "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Wikwemikong, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

awesome purchase price and ease of use.

Date:July 14, 2015
" Best inverter for the price. I like the compact design and mounting points. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Kinda useless.

Date:May 27, 2015
" I bought this 3000 watt inverter expecting a 3000 watt output I could feed my rv with but you can't get 3000 watts from 1 outlet to do that with, the unit has 3 outlets rated at 1000 watts apiece so no good for rving. Its going back to the store tomorrow! "
-8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

3000 w Motomaster Inverter Modified Sine Wave 12 V

Date:February 1, 2015
" I had recently bought this 3kw Inverter , On sale with 2 pairs of 4 awg cables included . What a smoking deal .
I have 20 Solar panels , 24 Deep cycle batteries and an Outback 80 amp Charge Controller .
That's about 2,400 amp hours of 12 v DC man.
I also have 2 much smaller Pure Sine Wave Inverters
This 3k inverter pumps , I mostly use it for a 1500w Fan Force Heater for my home , on a sunny winter day my Gas Furnace wont even come on . In the summer I may use it for a window AC Unit . Cool eh .
I wish I had a 3kw Pure Sine Wave Inverter 48v but they cost over $ 1000.00 , a far cry from what I spent on the Motomaster 3k Inverter .
Happy Camper , Mr. Tee Master Electrician "
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sainte-Julienne, QC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good purchase

Date:May 26, 2014
" I install this inverter with 2 deep cycles battery and one solar panel of 175 watts every day it recharge the battery and its feeding my 55 inches tv since the installation eaven with cloudy days I never connect the tv to the wall anymore. I am adding more load on it slowly until i can reach is maximum capacity for everyday use. "
+33points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

My Experence with a very good product

Date:January 27, 2014
" Hello I am writing to share my experiences with this product.I am still load testing stuff in my home.I have installed 2 (185watt)solar panels using a Tristar-45 amp charger over the holidays.To date I have been able to run a Toastmaster cordless kettle,4 Tvs,2 pedestal fans,2 (550VA)UPSes,1 microwave,1 GE top loader dryer and regular house lights,Fridge and freezer and a deep fryer.Have not had any problems so far.I will update this Review at a later time "
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Wire size and voltage drop

Date:January 15, 2014
" There are many resources on the web for determining correct wire size at given voltage drops and currents. For a typical 12 volt 250 amp DC circuit it is suggested that no more than a 3% drop be allowed. That is about .4 volts and is significant. If the wire run is 6 feet, then the wire size would have to be #2 gauge. That is large wire!
I bought this inverter because I have not seen anybody complain that it blows up. If it delivers the power without dying, when provided with proper batteries and wire size, then I am very happy.
"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Near Winnipeg, MB

Large capacity battery(ies) and cables are key

Date:December 29, 2013
" Had a 24 hour power outage last year and used this inverter with 2 motomaster nautilus deep cycle/marine batteries (115AH group31) in parallel and 6 - 4/0 cables. Connected the batteries together with 1 pair connectors, then ran 2 pairs to the inverter's pair of terminals. Easily started and ran my 1/2 hp jet pump, and had a freezer, fridge, a few lights and a laptop on for at least 8 of the 24 hours we were down. It has also ran my 15A skill saw producing moderate torque for cutting. A valuable backup power system with the right battery(ies) and cables. Just remember to keep those batteries charged up occasionally so they are full when you need them! I think those here who say it wouldn't perform (low-voltage cutout) were suffering 12v supply losses from undersized cables and/or bad connectors, or weak battery. As most here have said, 250amps cable capacity is REQUIRED for it to work properly, together with batteries that can produce the current. Note: I would NOT recommend powering any heavy amp draw device from your vehicle charging system when under moderate or especially heavy loads. You may over-stress or burn out your vehicle charging system. "
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

works great

Date:May 25, 2013
" this runs my mini fridge, microwave and lap top all at once with no problems. "
-5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whycocomagh, NS B0E, Canada

3000w power outlet and inverter

Date:May 14, 2013
" works excellent ,I would recommend to anyone,I use it all the time with a three-quarter impact gun. "
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Burns Lake, B.C.

Use care on installation, monitor units out put

Date:August 10, 2012
" Unit worked very well for one season (installed on commercial fishing vessel tied to 4 golf cart batteries & used four months per year) During the second season unit started to only reach proper voltage under very heavy load - microwave/toaster. Rest of time ran at 70 to 90V. Then my AC fuse panel showed unit had gone into reverse polarity. Switch out to spare 1750 W unit and voltage back to proper rate and reverse polarity no longer showing on AC panel.
May be worth sale price but pay attention to out put!
"
+40points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very applicable..

Date:March 23, 2012
" This is the biggest wattage provider among the others available at Canadiantire. The inverter works well with deep cycle batteries, and is ideal for campers,trucks, and RVs. It will power up most of the household equipment that uses a “modified sine wave” ac signal. However, it will not work with any power tools which usually use “pure sine wave” ac signal. The inverter has two connection points. This implies that you must use 2 deep cycle batteries in parallel to get maximum power yield. I would also suggest using a minimum of 0/0 gauge cables for connection. This would ensure that the high amperage current is conducted efficiently. Once the device is installed this way, the results would be amazing. "
+73points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orono, Ont

know its limitations

Date:December 3, 2011
" The 3000 watt unit will drive my 15 amp skill saw. It will not drive my 7.6 amp Milwaukee portable band saw... probably because it is variable speed. The 1000 watt pure sine wave inverter will drive the Milwaukee. In both cases the car engine has to be running and the #2 short cables bolted to battery and inverter. If this is suitable for you, then these are two good products "
+42points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS

Works for my RV microwave

Date:October 3, 2011
" After seeing the negative reviews of this inverter I was skeptical about it, but felt the need to post my POSITIVE review after buying and trying it.
So far my testing was to boil a cup of water in my 1000 watt RV microwave, which worked fine.
People, you need to realize that 3,000 watts at 12Volts draws a LOT OF CURRENT, and the only way you will get close to it is to have VERY BIG, heavy duty batterys and VERY BIG cables. 3,000 watts is 250 AMPS at 12 volts.
The inverter actually has TWO pairs of connectors, which is a hint that you will need TWO batteries in order to provide that much power.
In my test, I used a small 70 Amp hour Deep Cycle battery, using normal battery cables. The voltage dropped fro 13.2 to 11.9 while boiling the water. This is ok for my use, but bigger cables and battery would be in order for full 3000 watts.
"
+120points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal, Qc

Bad Inverter

Date:June 3, 2011
" I bought this inverter it lasted 1 month before stopping. It could even power a small 800 watt microwave. A BIG WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY... Dont BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! "
-88points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for MotoMaster Eliminator Mobile Power Inverter, 3000W
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome

Date:June 2, 2011
" bought one years ago and find it to be the best auto accessory I have...spend the money for 0/0 welding cable for your battery hook ups and you'll never look back...the bigger the battery bank, the better it works of course....I use 1 or 2 farm tractor batteries , isolate them when running the inverter, and charge them while driving "
+73points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2