Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Power Inverters or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter

MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter

Converts 12V DC battery power to 120V AC household power for convenience and flexibilityIdeal for running virtually any electrical item found in a home - including washers or dryersQuiet alternative to generatorsAttaches safely and easily to deep-cycle batteriesDigital display for monitoring battery
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
16 of 21(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
171 Questions | 223 Answers
Customer Reviews for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Review 1 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sainte-Julienne, QC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good purchase

Date:May 26, 2014
" I install this inverter with 2 deep cycles battery and one solar panel of 175 watts every day it recharge the battery and its feeding my 55 inches tv since the installation eaven with cloudy days I never connect the tv to the wall anymore. I am adding more load on it slowly until i can reach is maximum capacity for everyday use. "
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

My Experence with a very good product

Date:January 27, 2014
" Hello I am writing to share my experiences with this product.I am still load testing stuff in my home.I have installed 2 (185watt)solar panels using a Tristar-45 amp charger over the holidays.To date I have been able to run a Toastmaster cordless kettle,4 Tvs,2 pedestal fans,2 (550VA)UPSes,1 microwave,1 GE top loader dryer and regular house lights,Fridge and freezer and a deep fryer.Have not had any problems so far.I will update this Review at a later time "
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Wire size and voltage drop

Date:January 15, 2014
" There are many resources on the web for determining correct wire size at given voltage drops and currents. For a typical 12 volt 250 amp DC circuit it is suggested that no more than a 3% drop be allowed. That is about .4 volts and is significant. If the wire run is 6 feet, then the wire size would have to be #2 gauge. That is large wire!
I bought this inverter because I have not seen anybody complain that it blows up. If it delivers the power without dying, when provided with proper batteries and wire size, then I am very happy.
"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Near Winnipeg, MB

Large capacity battery(ies) and cables are key

Date:December 29, 2013
" Had a 24 hour power outage last year and used this inverter with 2 motomaster nautilus deep cycle/marine batteries (115AH group31) in parallel and 6 - 4/0 cables. Connected the batteries together with 1 pair connectors, then ran 2 pairs to the inverter's pair of terminals. Easily started and ran my 1/2 hp jet pump, and had a freezer, fridge, a few lights and a laptop on for at least 8 of the 24 hours we were down. It has also ran my 15A skill saw producing moderate torque for cutting. A valuable backup power system with the right battery(ies) and cables. Just remember to keep those batteries charged up occasionally so they are full when you need them! I think those here who say it wouldn't perform (low-voltage cutout) were suffering 12v supply losses from undersized cables and/or bad connectors, or weak battery. As most here have said, 250amps cable capacity is REQUIRED for it to work properly, together with batteries that can produce the current. Note: I would NOT recommend powering any heavy amp draw device from your vehicle charging system when under moderate or especially heavy loads. You may over-stress or burn out your vehicle charging system. "
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

works great

Date:May 25, 2013
" this runs my mini fridge, microwave and lap top all at once with no problems. "
-13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whycocomagh, NS B0E, Canada

3000w power outlet and inverter

Date:May 14, 2013
" works excellent ,I would recommend to anyone,I use it all the time with a three-quarter impact gun. "
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Burns Lake, B.C.

Use care on installation, monitor units out put

Date:August 10, 2012
" Unit worked very well for one season (installed on commercial fishing vessel tied to 4 golf cart batteries & used four months per year) During the second season unit started to only reach proper voltage under very heavy load - microwave/toaster. Rest of time ran at 70 to 90V. Then my AC fuse panel showed unit had gone into reverse polarity. Switch out to spare 1750 W unit and voltage back to proper rate and reverse polarity no longer showing on AC panel.
May be worth sale price but pay attention to out put!
"
+39points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very applicable..

Date:March 23, 2012
" This is the biggest wattage provider among the others available at Canadiantire. The inverter works well with deep cycle batteries, and is ideal for campers,trucks, and RVs. It will power up most of the household equipment that uses a “modified sine wave” ac signal. However, it will not work with any power tools which usually use “pure sine wave” ac signal. The inverter has two connection points. This implies that you must use 2 deep cycle batteries in parallel to get maximum power yield. I would also suggest using a minimum of 0/0 gauge cables for connection. This would ensure that the high amperage current is conducted efficiently. Once the device is installed this way, the results would be amazing. "
+71points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orono, Ont

know its limitations

Date:December 3, 2011
" The 3000 watt unit will drive my 15 amp skill saw. It will not drive my 7.6 amp Milwaukee portable band saw... probably because it is variable speed. The 1000 watt pure sine wave inverter will drive the Milwaukee. In both cases the car engine has to be running and the #2 short cables bolted to battery and inverter. If this is suitable for you, then these are two good products "
+41points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS

Works for my RV microwave

Date:October 3, 2011
" After seeing the negative reviews of this inverter I was skeptical about it, but felt the need to post my POSITIVE review after buying and trying it.
So far my testing was to boil a cup of water in my 1000 watt RV microwave, which worked fine.
People, you need to realize that 3,000 watts at 12Volts draws a LOT OF CURRENT, and the only way you will get close to it is to have VERY BIG, heavy duty batterys and VERY BIG cables. 3,000 watts is 250 AMPS at 12 volts.
The inverter actually has TWO pairs of connectors, which is a hint that you will need TWO batteries in order to provide that much power.
In my test, I used a small 70 Amp hour Deep Cycle battery, using normal battery cables. The voltage dropped fro 13.2 to 11.9 while boiling the water. This is ok for my use, but bigger cables and battery would be in order for full 3000 watts.
"
+113points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal, Qc

Bad Inverter

Date:June 3, 2011
" I bought this inverter it lasted 1 month before stopping. It could even power a small 800 watt microwave. A BIG WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY... Dont BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! "
-76points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome

Date:June 2, 2011
" bought one years ago and find it to be the best auto accessory I have...spend the money for 0/0 welding cable for your battery hook ups and you'll never look back...the bigger the battery bank, the better it works of course....I use 1 or 2 farm tractor batteries , isolate them when running the inverter, and charge them while driving "
+67points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:peterboough,on

not so good

Date:March 2, 2011
" worst product ever why is the 1000 watt able to do 1000 watts continous but the 3000 watt cant it can only do 2500 yet peaks at 5000 watts i justbought it yesterday and i got the new version its slim lined with 3 ports digital and usb support now it looks cool but looks fool ya i had it on 2 6 volt golf cart batteries and a car charging the batteries u think it worked no heck no it cant run a 1500 watt heater without going in a mater of seconds to 10.5 volts or lower this is like a power hunger even running at 3000 rpms i couldnt then i tried on my other car that has a 140 amp alternator custom and yet it cant keep up with this unit like how can it drain the power away that fast its not a good item to get better off to buy a generator least its putting out the power, u need so stay away from this i going to return it today total bomb u need like 50 batteries i bet "
-164points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Whitby

Don't buy this unit

Date:February 17, 2011
" I bought this unit to assist with providing some current to our television, DVD, lighting etc. The Unit ran a fan for about 30 seconds and the alarm went off. The batteries (6) are new. The Unit couldn't start up anything without shutting down. It's no wonder half of the boxes in the store are previously open. The starting wattage barely gets to 1500 watts. Don't be fooled by the 3000 watts. It's 1500 an outlet with a total of 3000. You'll never get there. Unfortunately I have to keep it. You should seriously think about something different. "
+31points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Not as good as promised

Date:June 5, 2010
" Based on everyone else's review and the product literature, we purchased this 3000 watt unit. Unfortunately, it did not deliver. I have a 1500 Watt unit that runs my clothes washer. It will not run the 120 Volt, gas dryer so we purchased this 3000 Watt unit. It does not have enough umph to run the dryer either. so back it goes. btw, the dryer is a new, energy efficient, energy star-rated, top of the line Whirpool unit. "
-70points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Drayton Valley, AB

Good unit

Date:September 11, 2008
" At the core of my solar/wind off grid home is the Motormaster Eliminator 3000W.
It has run everything I've thrown at it, even sound equipment, DVD players, computers, laptops and chargers!
Only issue I have is that the modified sine wave causes our furnace fan to be noisy! I've been looking of a pure sine inverter to run the furnace. There is a slight hum in my guitar amp and the portable TV. I'm told that a good quality power bar with surge protector will help clean up the hum with sensitive equipment. Hmmm, maybe try that on my furnace!
"
+67points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB

Good Value

Date:September 9, 2008
" For a modified sine wave inverter, this is an excellent choice for the money. It will run most anything I throw at it, including my 2500w Yard Works leaf blower. Be prepaired to hunt for the 4/0awg cables, 400amp fuse, and battery disconect switch to use this inverter safely. It would be nice if Canadian Tire sold all the pieces needed to connect the inverter. "
+72points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fraser Valley

GREAT PRODUCT

Date:September 9, 2008
" I use it all the time, connected to a solar system. You can run virtually anything with it. "
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary

great product

Date:May 29, 2008
" I bought this 13 months ago.It ran every thing from a coffee maker,toaster oven even a shop vac.It stopped working.took it back and Canadian tire exchanged it no problem :) "
+37points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for MotoMaster 3000W Power Outlet and Inverter
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa

3000W Inverter

Date:May 23, 2008
" I use this for the center piece of my solar/wind setup. It is big enough that I can run pretty much anything in the house with it. I have used it for a year or two and been happy. It does not produce a proper sine way and is not suitable to be tied to the power grid. Also there are issues connecting power adapters and transformers to it because of the sine wave. But is OK most for home use. "
+49points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2