Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Back-up Power or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W

Home Backup Power: Will run a fridge, freezer, sump pump and 1000 W microwave, fish tank light and air pump, home alarm system and garage door. Emergency Power: Will run essential electronics such as a 20" TV, radio, fan, mobile and cordless phone, and a 40 W emergency light. Small/Home Office Backup Power: Will run a laptop, desktop and 20" LCD or CRT monitor, 600 W office lamp, inkjet printer, 4-in-1copier/printer/fax/scanner, internet modem, VoIP phone, mobile phone and cordless phone . 1800 W inverter with five 115 VAC power outlets for operating multiple devices simultaneously
Average Customer Rating:
3.172 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
8
17 of 29(59%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Review 1 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada

Battery Backup For Sump

Date:December 2, 2012
"Works very well for my basement 1.5 hp sump!
Power was off for 6 hours, my sump runs for 3 minutes very time it turn on and runs ever 45 minutes. When the power came back on i still had 60% in reserve power, i highly recommend this unit."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON

Unreliable

Date:March 30, 2012
"As others have said, this model is very unreliable and died for me after just over 1 year of use (out of warranty). I also received the E03 error which means the unit is not serviceable.
Hint for anyone with the same error; take out the batteries before disposing of it. They will be perfectly good and have significant value!"
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Napanee, ontario

worst purchase ever

Date:March 15, 2012
"I bought this unit and after 2 years when the power went out it was only putting out 60 volts from the inverter. I called Garrison about getting it repaired or buying parts (I knew it was not under warranty) their response was that the parts are not available and that this is considered a throw away unit. I advised a throw away is maybe a $30 item not a $300 to $500 unit but they said oh well there is nothing we can do have a nice day. Needless to say we now have a Generator back up system."
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Canada BC, Gibsons

As others have stated the problem is the batteries

Date:March 6, 2012
"The real main and damming failure is the battery size, 1800w at 12V = 150A that's 50A per 20AH cell!!!! In other words if you use it twice at rated capacity the tiny 60AH battery bank will be toasted beyond recovery!
I dismantled mine and after looking at it the Inverter is quite nice, well protected good electronics and even has a shunt to measure true battery Watts going out (It reads as load draw)
I would say if you are good at electronics second you buy it use the batteries that came with it for some thing ells, hook it up to 3 Car batteries and use a good quality battery charger and not the internal one! Given that it should do wonderfully. By doing this you can get a cheap 1800 inverter with a transfer switch built in, great for a technicaly inclined person starting their own off grid cabin w solar!
For those interested: It comes with 3 VRSLA Batteries at 21AH each wired in Parallel."
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sarnia, Ont

Very Disappointed - believe the other bad reviews

Date:September 3, 2011
"Initially was very happy, was intended as the sump pump power backup. When first purchased, tested it numerous times, it worked and recharged successfully. But based on the other not-so-great reviews I committed to testing the unit once a month. At the first monthly test it failed...essentially broke (see below). Fortunately I was able to return it.
What happened - with the unit fully charged and then unplugged (to simulate power failure) the unit went into overload mode when the sump pump tried to run (code F04, beeps continuously). The prescribed remedy/reset is to unplug the load. That did not reset it...continued to flash code and beep. Only way to get it to stop was turn unit off (while unplugged) or plug unit into house receptacle. Unit would recharge successfully but once unit unplugged again (with no load plugged into it) it went into the same overload fault. Repeated this a few times with the same results. Key problem was it would go into overload mode without something even plugged into the unit.
Tested sump pump to ensure no changes to its power draw (have a separate meter for that)..there was no difference from the previous month. Is well below the max instantaneous power draw rating for the unit and well below the max continuous rating for the unit.
No hassle on the return/refund (as well under the 1 year warranty and fully explained the trouble shooting)."
+48points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa

Not usefull - E03 can't be fixed.

Date:July 28, 2011
"I have had this in line to a sump pump for about two years, and do not think it was ever used.
Had major power failure at cottage, so lugged it up and plugged fridge in. Fridge hummed for about 10 secs, then error 03 came on. I have looked and tried everything and don't seem to have a solution anywhere. You would think there would be a reset or even a replacement part or something!!!
Please do not bother buying this product under the current condition, unless unlimited waranty available.
"
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointed in this unit

Date:May 8, 2011
"The unit would kick in for power failure and then when the power came back on. the unit would not reset and had to be done manually. Really defeats the purpose that it was intended for."
+36points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay

A No-Go Right Out of the Box!

Date:December 17, 2010
"I tried to get this in the summer of 2010. The product wouldn't charge first time. I returned it for a replacement and that one wouldn't charge either. They tried plugging in the units in the store too!"
+54points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Parry Sound

additional info

Date:October 31, 2010
"The unit worked excellant until the batteries died.
Like warpspeed's review, I replaced the batteries and found the charger burnt out. My unit had 3- 12 volt 20amp/hour batteries that I used small angle brackets and nuts and bolts to attach to the ($150) replacement's different terminals.
I also have MotoMaster PowerBox (#11-1815-0)with heavy duty 1200W inverter with the similar 60 Ah battery that I bought years before that is still going strong. It has boosting terminals which I have cabled to the Noma 1800's batteries and let it's 5 amp (12v) charger charge both.
(It would be a bonus if it were designed for a 12 volt output socket similar to other products.)
It is unfortunate that the week link in the Noma 1800 is the batteries and charger.
One additional note is that if the power is out for enough time to exhaust the batteries, the unit shuts off and must be manually re-turned on to recharge the batteries. Noma is aware and may re-design future models to recharge like a computer UPS."
+44points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, B.C

Noma Backup Failure Solved

Date:October 3, 2010
"After 2-3years of use I have had 2 unites fail. In diagnosed and repairing I have noted the following.
1) the batteries (4x 12v20a) grow weak and fail. The unit does not indicate that the batteries should be replaced.
2) the internal battery charger burns out trying to keep up.
I replaced the batteries with 4 x 12v20a units but the post were different. The OEM were attached with a screw from the top of the post, the replacement on the side of the post. This required some creative wiring and hacking.
I replaced the internal charger with an automatic trickle charger. I have used both Product #11-1506-6, 12v2a Product #11-1507-4 12v2/4a. I removed the OEM charger completely. It is on a separate board and removes with 4 screws.
I cut the A/C wire and wired the A/C power to the panel where the OEM drew its power. I attached the 12v charger end to the batteries.
The Power system has worked better than new (faster charging)."
+42points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Short term solution

Date:September 23, 2010
"Bought one of the 1800 units 3 years ago as a backup power supply for an airbed needed due to being disabled. When purchased it would keep the bed inflated for 45 minutes before running out of energy. Yesterday the power went out and although it reads "Full", the power lasted 90 seconds. Not nearly enough.
Over the 3 years it lasted, it was only needed 4-6 times for more than a few minutes, it should have lasted longer.
"
+36points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I've learned my lesson

Date:June 9, 2010
"Three days after the warranty expired, I experienced a short power failure. My sub pump was plugged into the NOMA 1800 but it failed to work. The display read Full while it was plugged in but when the power went out the display read E03. I called the NOMA service number every day for a solid month before someone answered. After a short conversation, I was informed that, perhaps it was an internal malfunction and there was basically nothing I could do about it. I let NOMA know that I would no longer purchase any of their merchandise. The bottom line is, I spent $499 before tax, on a piece of junk. I will never recommend this system as a reliable source of power."
+58points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pickering, Ontario

mistake to purchase this

Date:April 25, 2010
"We purchased this a couple of years ago for an appliance that must be kept running 24 hours a day. The cost of restarting when cool is about $25.00. Brief power failures in our area are fairly normal. Twice in the past week we have had power failures, once when we were out and once during the night. The last failure was so brief, most of our household appliances were not affected - yet even for that split second, the Noma did not hold a charge. I suppose it is dead. As another reviewer said - that's quite a price to pay for only two years."
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maple Ridge, BC

Great product

Date:April 17, 2010
"I bought my unit almost a year ago now, while on sale. I first charged it completely and got a 'full' reading. I mounted unit in the crawl space and plugged the sump pump in. It powers the sump with no problem. It's been plugged in ever since and has always maintained a 'full' status and the charge has never been run down even when experiencing 3 power outages during the coarse of that year. Next time it goes on sale I'll get one for our fridge and freezer. Very pleased with performance."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Back up system and charging

Date:June 19, 2009
"I bought the NOMA Back up power system a few months ago to serve as a back up power source for my sump pump. I was initially worried about the reviews about the constant charging of the system. I tested the system and found that it would not charge back to full power even after a few hours (as others have described). However, when I removed all plugs from the system and reset the power (unplugging and plugging the system to an outlet), the system fully charged. While only one case, it appears that the system cannot fully charge when some device (e.g., a sump pump) is plugged into it. If you remove these devices, the system seems to charge just fine. So ... you might want to reconsider purchasing this system."
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

really good

Date:June 13, 2009
"i find it is really poewrful and long lasting the switch from normal power to backup is a little slow not long enough to have to reboot anything i have it hooked to everything in my room total usage of power 230watts it runs my120watt sound system modem router,tv.dvdplayer,wii,lamp.phone,computer monitor,wireless router, all at once the computer makes a really loud buzz and im afraid it mite hurt it but everything els if fine the total power usage according to the meter on the dbattery pack is 230 i somtimes even run a cord downstairs to my mom and dads tv.
if ur building somthing like say a greenhouse for example and you dont have any power near by it can run a jig saw and a drill with ease it even ran a metal cutting saw 15 amp 1350watts i currently have 2 battery packs 400watts and 1800 as you can tell from this i like testing theese things capabilitys
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Port Perry, On

Great Initially!

Date:January 26, 2009
"I purchased this on a suggestion from my Dad. It has worked great for the couple of years I've had it but now it is totally DEAD! I went to check it last week as the weather was mild and I have a large sump pump. It had no lights on and when ON button pressed-nothing. I plugged it in to the house current for a min of 24 hrs and still nothing! Expensive for a 2 year user time and a limited warranty! I will however try another one as I need a power backup-but this one will be purchased 'on sale'!"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

Battery doesn't hold charge

Date:January 7, 2009
"Bought one last week and plugged it in to charge up overnight, which it did to full. But the battery dropped from 100% to 70% within 10 seconds of using a 100W lamp. It dropped further to 30% within half an hour. On recharging, it went up to 90% within a minute. Is this normal? Or is the battery and/or charge monitor defective? Didn't run it down to empty, but i guess it would go down to zero within an hour of running a 100W light, which seems shorter than my understanding of the specs.
Should i exchange it and try another unit? Would you recommend alternate products. I've read about the Xantrex PowerHub 1800, but can't seem to find a local supplier (Vancouver).
Thanks.
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chapple, ON

A Powerful Backup System

Date:December 24, 2008
"I read the reviews about some units not charging to capacity, and so I asked at my local Canadian Tire Store to charge one up before I purchased it. They complied.
I live in the countryside, and have a private water system. I burn firewood in a heater in the basement. I connected the Backup System to a 10 Amps (1200 Watts) water pump as well as a 78 Watts fan to distribute the heat from the firewood heater. I turned off the input current to test the unit. The pump operated for 3 minutes before bringing the water pressure up to its high level. The fan operated also throughout the test. Then I checked the backup unit. It was down to 60% of its capacity. After turning on the input power to the unit, it was charged up to 90% in less than 10 minutes. However, it took 2 hours to come back up to FULL."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Garrison Back-up Power System, 1,800W
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bruce Peninsula On.

Be sure to get a good one

Date:September 26, 2008
"I first bought the 400 watt unit and was very pleased. I wanted it to provide protection from brown outs we have quite frequently. I had my desktop computer, modem, router, 22 LCD screen, Star choice receiver and 60inch LCD TV. All totaled drew 404 watts. The TV has a projection bulb that does not like quick off and on. Since the TV was the biggest buck item and the computer is "required" I opted to buy the 1800 watt unit. So far very pleased except the 400 unit would show you the draw while under AC power. the 1800 unit only shows draw when in back up
I had to return the first 1800 unit for continuous charging and never reaching full, the second unit works great. If I didn't have the 400 unit first I might not have known about the defective 1800 unit. Make sure you get a good one!
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2