Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Power Packs or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox

Provides 120V AC household power, 12V DC power. Built-in 400W inverter. Sealed, non-spillable 20 amp-hour AGM battery. 250-psi air compressor for inflating tires and small sports equipment
Average Customer Rating:
4.326 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
38 of 43(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Review 1 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cowgary

Money well spent!

Date:February 3, 2008
" Next
to my multi-bit screwdriver, this has been the most useful -- and used
-- implement I've ever carried in my vehicle. Having both 12VDC and
120VAC power available in something you can easily carry around has
proven incredibly useful, and the features of this unit are really
excellent (especially the multiple modes of charging and car boosting.)
The tire inflator is surprisingly beefy, and having a high-capacity
battery built in offers a degree of convenience I really cannot overstate. The only caution I'd extend to prospective purchasers is to
make sure you understand that "600 amp" reference is merely the unit's
maximum cold-cranking current for jump starting a vehicle . . . and
even then it's a bit optimistic, IMO. I would suggest you should choose
a model rated to provide at least 20% more than will realistically be
required to jump-start your vehicle in the dead-cold of winter.
"
+38points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:London, ON

Died early

Date:August 8, 2011
" The power box was supposed to power my CPAP when camping - but never would make it more than 6 hours. The compressor was very useful though.
The unit's AC plugs died completely and I returned it in exchange for the 1000a/700w box on sale. Hopefully it will be better. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton,AB

Reliable for past 6 years

Date:July 20, 2011
" I've had to boost a number of vehicles with this power pack over the past 6 years. One time, I used it 3 times for boosting my motorhome within 1 hour. It's been very reliable.
The back door that covers the battery charger is flimsy and needs to be slammed shut. The 'charging' light no longer comes on, even after repeated presses of the 'display' button. So I don't know if/when it's completed charged up.
But it has worked when I needed it. Paid for itself many times already! "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo, BC

No Boosting

Date:July 10, 2011
" I had previously purchased a smaller Eliminator on the East Coast; it worked wonderfully. I was so impressed I thought 'why not go for the best?' So I purchased this model. Sad day.
By the time I needed to boost my first vehicle the warranty was expired. No go. It wouldn't turn the vehicle over. I had just charged it. My friend said I have one (a smaller one of different make) Wow! The vehicle boosted with no problem. Later I needed to pump up a tire. Well, it did after about a half hour or more. Now I'm stuck! Where do I get a similar product that works. Lot of money down the drain. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Red Deer, AB

Day saver....

Date:May 18, 2011
" Bought it last year 2010, waited until now to review. Saved me last summer (2010) just 2 days after purchase. Blew a trailer tire and spare was basically flat. Filled it from 10 PSI to 50 PSI in about 5 - 8 Minutes (5500# travel trailer) My buddy used it to re-inflate his child's bike tire that same weekend. Used it all summer to recharge laptop to watch movies while camping when it rained. Recharged fully in about 2 hours. Used it in my shop numerous time to boost cars during the winter, recharged once all winter. (2011) Went atving, atv wouldn't start mostly drained battery, hooked it up and it had never turned over so fast, quad tire was flat, took maybe 2 minutes to pump to 5 PSI, and was still at 90% after sitting for 3 months (in the back of my truck) and not used or plugged in. I do not take the best care of it but has been quite durable. even accidentally ran it over with the quad and works just as intended, NOTHING broke!! Highly recommend this unit to anyone. Never used the light, but the battery pack and compressor are excellent. Bought it on sale and absolutely NO regrets. Have gen set this year...and this unit will compliment my power needs. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St. Catharines, Ontario

Disappointing!

Date:March 19, 2011
" A useful item, but short lived! It lasted for the warranty plus a year under light use. Specifically, the compressor gave out (I can still use the power features). For me, the compressor was one of the key features. When I contacted the manufacturer /North American distributor I was told nothing could be done at their end, even regarding supplying parts, and was advised to take it apart myself to fix it. I had a previous more compact unit which lasted over ten years. This unit I have cost more than it's worth. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product

Date:February 21, 2011
" I have owned mine for 8 years and I have used every component. It has worked very well every time. You just have to keep in mind that it is not designed to power equipment that draws alot of power.
The battery in my unit no longer can hold a charge for long, So, time for a new one, or a new battery.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sailing between Florida and the Caribbean

Works Well as a Backup Power Supply

Date:October 1, 2010
" I bought this unit as an emergency starting unit for my boat's diesel engine. I've never used it for my boat, but it has been pressed into service to boost several other boats and it has worked every time. The most useful feature on this device however is its relative portability. I often use it to power a small bilge pump that I use to bail out my dinghy after a hard rain.
My unit is 4 years old now and it continues to provide reliable performance. If it quit tomorrow it owes me nothing and I would replace it with a new one. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Midland, ON

Makes Camping Easier

Date:July 27, 2010
" Bought this pack to power my CPAP machine while camping. Ran the CPAP for two full nights (16 hrs) with enough left to inflate two double high air mattresses with 120VAC inflator. Can't seem to fit the AC charger into the rear compartment, whose door is difficult to open and close. I agree that the door is on the flimsy side, and if you force it open or closed it will likely break. Have not used the compressor but have boosted a motorcycle battery. So far, we are happy with it overall. "
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very Short Life

Date:June 14, 2010
" Naturally once the warratny period is over the unit fails to keep a charge. The charger for the unit works OK. Just the battery inside died I suppose. What a waste of $179.00. Could have bought a few real batteries AND a decent charger for that price and still had something useable. Stay away from this apparently CHEAP merchandise. "
-10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:South Eastern Ontario

Cheap Plastic Housing

Date:May 11, 2010
" 3 stars on Quality because everything else worked when I tested it out.
3 stars on features for the compressor, and the car adapter + 2 wall type plugs (although I'd never use the car adapter port it'd be handy in the pinch).
1 star on durability, see below.
I bought this article on sale two days ago and left it charging in maintenance for the last 48 hours. I just unplugged it and went to place the AC adapter into the storage slot in the back, but the flap/door hinge snapped right off from the right hinge. Cheap plastic is the culprit. The real bummer is I didn't pull on it hard. As I placed the adapter in the slot my hand pushed up against the opened flap from the bottom just enough to break off the plastic tab on the side.
By no means a heavy level of pressure (barely enough to knock over a 600mL of Pepsi). I am gentle with all of my equipment because I want things to last. I am not overly disappointed in this tiny flaw but it has removed my faith in the durability of this product. I'll return it and fork out the extra dough for the 800 model as it has what I believe now to be the basic level of durability. I can't see anybody hauling this unit around a worksite and putting it through any abuse.
But for $100, you get what you pay for, so I'm not upset, but disillusioned. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay, Ont

Very Reliable

Date:February 28, 2010
" Runs Cpap s8 Elite without a problem. I haven't tried cpap and stand alone hc150 together yet. Great unit. "
-5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great asset

Date:January 7, 2010
" I had an older versiont hat wasnt a powerbox, and I am happy to have the powerbox now. You can use it to charge a cellphone with an adapter, or for when the lihts go out. I would recommend the 600A over the 300A for cold weather boosting "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB

Great Product

Date:July 14, 2009
" Bought this last year and have taken it camping many times. Powered my laptop to watch movies before bed and pumped up the tires on the car and bikes. Great to have for emergency boosting. I waited for it to go on sale. It was well worth the wait. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, On

Great buy!!

Date:March 14, 2009
" I got this unit for full price. I was hoping to get it on sale but couldn't wait any longer. I decided to get this to power a few things in my ice fishing hut. Some friends and I spent the night in the hut and it was perfect. We ran a clock radio and a low voltage light for over 16 hours, and it still showed 60% charge. It also helped me boost a large pick up with a large V 8 engine with ease. All in All this was a great buy and I would recommend this to anyone. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maritimes

Very Handy

Date:November 23, 2008
" Bigger is better is usually my thing, and this isn't 800amps, but so far I've boosted two trucks, a car, and reinflated a small tire. I'd like to try a 20 inch truck tire... but I doubt the pump has that power. Overall, this is a great unit and a definite must have. An interesting story - earlier this year I had several programmers installing a new software system; There were 4 of them with laptops and a portable network router. The power went out, and they were frantic because they were half way through the install. This unit ran everything - four laptops and a router - just fine. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Elliot Lake

Handy Dandy Item

Date:September 17, 2008
" I use this in the garden, camping, as a power back-up during outages for my 100 gallon aquarium, fishing, hunting, you name it. Wouldn't be without it. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax ,NS

Worth Every Penny Many Times Over !!!

Date:September 9, 2008
" I bought this for my husband as a Xmas gift and he wondered why I got it for him . Well ,after using it a 1000 times and it saving him from paying tow trucks, paying for boosts , light source, etc .He now knows why I bought it . I even use it in the camper when we dry camp . A great purchase . I think every home should have one . It comes with its own charger ,own jumper cables and its easy to use. A great Christmas gift ! "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal

A must

Date:September 9, 2008
" This is a must for Canadian winters. Great when the car won't start. Also used on camping trip to power a car DVD player, it lasted hours without emptying itself. I used the 15W solar panel to keep it fully charged. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for MotoMaster Eliminator 600A PowerBox
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

Excellent Power Supply

Date:August 29, 2008
" When I purchased this PowerBox I was not sure what to expect. I wanted a versatile portable power supply that lasted longer than the 300A version that could power an outdoor string of lights while camping for more than 2-3 hours. And optionally power a sewing machine in my cabin and other low power use items.
Well I got what I wanted in spades! Not only did this power my light, and my sewing machine, the first time I tried it after charging it up, it just would not quit! It really was the product for me and made a handy item when my tire deflated due to a puncture - i used one of those sealant things then inflated the tire using the build in air pump! And easily got to the nearest garage with little trouble.
So I'm very happy with this product. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3