Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Battery Boosting or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack

500A mobile power pack. Boosts batteries and provides 12V DC and USB power. Built-in pivoting LED light and 120 psi air compressor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Review 1 for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada

Super fantastic! GET ONE!

Date:February 9, 2013
" This Stanley Jump Starter is GREAT! Ok, it just snowed about a foot due to a HUGE winter storm, and then my husband comes into the house and tells me that the SUV won't start. At that point you know that it is going to be HOURS before you are going to be able to get a tow truck to jump start you, and all the neighbours are in bed because it's 7:00 am on a Saturday morning.
But get this: *I* jump started the car for my HUSBAND in literally TWO MINUTES using this Stanley jump starter! You should have seen his face! I think he was pretty amazed that I could do it - and I didn't even scratch any of my two-inch long nails.
I had bought this product last fall (due to a previous episode of non-starting cars) amd it really came through for us. I just keep it charged and in the back of the SUV for emergencies (especially winter weather issues - oh, and it also has a little outlet on it that is perfect for emergency cell phone charges.)
Ladies, I know that this Stanley jump starter is not some glamourous fashion accessory, but YOU NEED ONE! Get one for yourself, or have the man in your life get you one. It is soooo helpful, and really makes me feel safer on the road. I don't write many reviews, but really wanted to this time because this product just did such an outstanding job for us this morning. And just remember: yes, this time my husband was stuck in our own driveway, but next time it could be one of us (like ME) stuck in the middle of nowhere, and with no one around to help - definitely not a good situation. That's when having one of these really pays off! (ok, aside from the payoff I previously mentioned - of watching my husband's face as I jump started the car ;>)
Oh, and one more thing: I searched for the .pdf instructions online, and then downloaded them to my iPad. That way they are easier to find if we need them (Yes, this product comes with paper instructions, but we tend to lose them over time, so this is my backup plan). Ok, thanks for reading this review, and hope it helps you!
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orléans, Ottawa, ON, Canada

Best Mobile Power Pack!

Date:December 7, 2012
" I purchased mine after last Christmas and I am so impressed with this unit. Charging is simple, no converter to plug in, it just plugs into any outlet. It holds a charge and the functionality of the unit is impressive. I've used it on a regular basis for everything from powering my cooler in the summer to innumerable boosts to broken down motorists. Because of the portability of the unit you can boost vehicles without the hassle of getting close enough to reach with cables. 500 AMP's of boost power will spin an engine over in any weather. The USB port is handy for charging and the compressor is fast and the guage accurate. Buy this unit as it really works! "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pickering, Ontario

It can really save the day!

Date:November 5, 2012
" This truly is a must have item! Today I used it to boost my neighbors minivan and it got the job done without any issues. Be sure to charge this item for AT LEAST 24 hours but around 40 hours would be better. After boosting the car and doing a battery test with the LED's it was all the way down to the last one. I charged it for 24 hours and 19 minutes right after bringing it home and this was only last week so aim for 40+ hrs, it can not be over charged thanks to the integrated charger technology. The compressor can come in very handy but the light seems to by my favourite additional feature. I bought this to play it safe for the winter but truly wanted the Lithium Ion Stanley booster that Canadian Tire used to sell. With that it is more simple in the sense that it gets charged and holds that charge for up to 1 full year so you can leave it there and worry less in the long run i.e low voltage leading to sulfation. That being said I will still use this lead acid jump starter to charge USB devices and pump tires in an emergency but will avoid deep discharge cycles which will shorten it's life significantly. Just keep the voltage topped up by charging it at least every 30 days or after every use and store it indoors when ever possible and all will be fine most likely for years to come. When I do automotive repairs on things such as wiper motors, window regulators etc it can come in handy as a power source for a quick test. I will be changing the window regulator in a friends car in a few days and plan to use this to test his motor with before we purchase the new part. This item is worth every cent and with our Canadian winter climates we all could use this at some point or will come into contact with folks who do. Like some other reviewers I managed to get the DC charging attachment to fit in with the air hose but it was a tight fit. In my opinion every household with cars should have one of these. "
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Victoria, BC

Worthless Junk

Date:November 2, 2012
" I bought mine in April 2012 and followed the directions for the inital charge. I refreshed the charge every month and didn't need it until July 2012 to boost a Chevy Sprint. Even though the charge indicated full, it couldn't even turn over the car. I charged it again over night and again it couldn't even boost the car (450 CCA). A few months later I needed to boost a 80 cc scooter and after having the unit plugged in over night, it couldn't even boost the scooter.
I didn't keep the bill so can't return it to CT. I contacted STANLEY who advised that this is a licensed product and therefore STANLEY won't assist. I did contact the licensee company however they have not responded to my email that was sent 15 working days ago.
My advice would be to avoid this product and now that I have to replace the unit, I will just buy a CT brand so at least I know if it is defective, it would be covered. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC

Great product

Date:August 28, 2012
" We used this product twice so far and are very happy with it. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:mississauga

very useful product

Date:August 16, 2012
" bought this product didn't get to use it yet but very useful product for some one who have a car that stops on the road very often
my overall rating would be 5 starz *****
"
-9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Saskatchewan, AB, Canada

Buy This One!

Date:August 3, 2012
" We had an older Eliminator power pack stollen while camping on Canada Day and bought this one to replace it. Learned to not leave it out overnight with a solar panel facing the morning sun - as it was too tempting to steal.
The Stanley power pack is amazing in almost every way. We just returned from two weeks of camping with it and it got used daily. We used it to power our quick pump to blow up air mattresses, charge phones and to charge our portable speaker via a separate invertor. We also used the compressor to top up soccer balls and to blow up an inner tube. The power pack never dropped below 2/3 charge according to the battery status display. We were also able to charge it by the car's DC oulet while we drove from place to place.
We attached a needle to the air hose so that we have it more easily available when we need it. We were able to fit the DC/DC cable in to the air hose storage area as well - although it's a tight squeeze.
Our only complaint is the placement of the booster cable clamps. They protrude out of the back of the pack which makes it awkward to pack into a vehicle and is a bit of a hazard when moving around it. I even accidentally stepped on one of the clamps when the power pack was on the floor of the tent. We preferred the Eliminator design in this respect where the cable clamps were neatly tucked under the body of the power pack's sides.
One other suggested area of improvement would be a small storage compartment for charge cables, air accessories, etc.
On sale - this pack is a great buy and we are glad to have it with us. We always have portable power with us wherever we go! "
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON

Best Battery Booster i've had

Date:July 24, 2012
" I had a smaller mobile power pack for years and i would have to charge it after use immediately. Even as it sat and went unused, the power drained.
The Stanley 500amp is fantastic!! I bought this last year and used it for myself and stranded motorists. It's great. It has an air pump as well as usb out to charge your cell if need be.
The battery doesn't really drain. It sat in my car for months without use and i had to pull it out today as my husband is having problems with his battery. I noticed the power gauge shows full!
I think if you have small kids, this is a must have in case your battery dies.
I would HIGHLY recommend this item. I bought on sale, but it's well worth it even without sale. "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary,Ab

Can't beat it!

Date:May 2, 2012
" My old CT booster was just not good enough anymore as the battery was toast and would'nt keep the charge. I bought this Stanley on sale but had to get a rain check as All the stores sold out.
It is pretty heavy unit compared to my other one, probly because of the battery though which is a good thing. I have brought this with me to the junck yards just to check things that required power. Saved me alot of time taking things apart only to find out they don't work ie: power window motor ect... Just a hint, the junk yards won't allow you to use a power pack ,so hide it on the way in lol! It has also worked flawlessy for me. In freezing winter boosted the car first try!
Very happy with it!
"
+34points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

Good emergency tool

Date:March 25, 2012
" Bought this to replace my old motomaster booster pack because on sale it was cheaper than a replacement battery for my old booster. This booster is compact and has no problem boosting everything from motorbikes to trucks. It can be charged via AC though you will need a 3 prong extension cord to do that or you can recharge it via the DC outlet using a lead acid charger and 12 volt car adapter. I like this option because I can hook the booster up to a pulsed charger which reduces the sulfation problems that will inevitably occur.
The USB port is nice for recharging phones and electronics.
The onboard LED light is useful though I'd prefer if it was a removable light rather than being mounted on a swivel integrated with the casing.
The air compressor is also useful for dealing with flat tires though the comment about the switch design is true. It is real easy to accidentally activate the compressor and startle yourself.
The booster cables are also heavy duty so the unit can supply ample power for starting an engine without serious risk of overheating the cables like some of the cheap booster packs out there.
Overall I am much happier with this unit compared to my old one. "
+37points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB

Excellent Travelling Companion

Date:January 17, 2012
" I have had to use this tool several times while travelling; from helping out a stranded motorist with a dead battery, filling a tire with low pressure, to using it as an emergency power source where nothing else was available. It does what it says and the quality is very good. I have one for all 4 of my vehicles so no one is left completely helpless. "
+61points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:kitchener

Excellent machine

Date:November 24, 2011
" Very happy with this unit, it is a very handy car emergency kit. The boosting power is plenty for my full-size sedan, there is an integral air compressor, and an LED flashlight on a gimbal. The light is surprisingly handy as the heavy unit sits solidly on the ground and you can point it where you need when changing a tire in the dark. The handle grip is comfy and the unit feels solid. Charging is via a regular 110v plug on the back so there is no annoying AC adapter to lose. I only wish it had a 'pigtail' cord to charge - instead there are fixed prongs on the back so you need a single-outlet extension cord to connect... all of mine but one are triple outlet that won't fit. "
+47points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ontario

AWSOME!

Date:September 2, 2011
" never let me down. boosts cars, vans, trucks, powersport equiptment, and tractors on the farm all the time. light is nice to have, and the air compresser has done some emergency pump ups a few times. Has the staying power for a weekend of camping powering the trailer, and is a great item when the power is out. My one and only complain is that the air compresser switch is easy to hit, and makes you jump when you hit it by accident.
AWSOME! "
+96points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON

Best Purchase Ever

Date:January 21, 2011
" Its the BEST purchase ever, I will recommend it anyone and everyone, it has never let me down, i have using it for quite sometime now. it made my car start every time I used it, and had to charge it only twice till now. "
-170points
Was this review helpful to you?
Ratings-Only Reviews for Stanley Jumpstarter/Mobile Power Pack
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1