Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Booster and Power Packs or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A

MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A

800 Crank Assist amps boosts cars, trucks, boats, RVs and motorcyclesFeatures a premium 33 amp hour deep-cycle internal battery, ideal for providing portable power for extended periodsOffers four portable power options:120V household outlets (400W) for powering small appliances12V outlet for powerin
Average Customer Rating:
3.053 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
11
20 of 38(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
92 Questions | 122 Answers
Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Review 1 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB

Very reliable battery pack

Date:July 30, 2015
" This is a very reliable battery pack and even works in cold weather "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kentville, NS, Canada
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Product

Date:July 12, 2015
" Love this battery pack. i have many uses for it. Use it to power the trolling motor. Works great and lasts a long time without having to be recharged. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Calqgary AB
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Does not hold charge

Date:June 26, 2015
" Bought 3 years ago and good for around 3 years. Kept it charged but now it will not a a charge, which seems to be a common problem. It deteriated slowly, not holding power as long, and now will no charge up at all. I would look for a better more long term solution. Looking at alternate CDN tire eliminator power packs to compare, but they are more expensive. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Good for a year...

Date:June 24, 2015
" Worked great for about a year - always kept out of cold / weather. One weekend tried to use and it would only hold about a 20% charge even though the meter would read that it's full and it's pretty much useless now.
A bit pricey for a 12month battery. :( "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Be mindful of tools and how they work

Date:June 21, 2015
" I found one of these at our local dump (first generation-no inverter-800/33) Meter reading 9.6
So I've seen the result of the frustration,
Took it home, checked the acid level-good
Main pwr switch was in the OFF position-turned it ON
Put a 1970s bat charger on it at 2A/13.7v for 2-days (main polls)
Meter now reads 12.7v and loads to 675ish,
Cables and such are premo
Thanks, I love free stuff ;) "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for use with 40W Solar Panels

Date:June 4, 2015
" I have been using one of these Nautilus Battery Packs for several years now as part of a small Solar Power system without any issues. I have it hooked up to 3 of the Coleman 40W Folding Solar Panels. However, instead of using the charge controller which comes with those panels I use a 10A Tracer MPPT Charge Controller which can be purchased online. (That more deluxe charge controller does a better job of maintaining the battery). "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Abbotsford, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Save your money and get something else

Date:May 25, 2015
" The good:
Lots of great features and all cables and accessories fit in the pouches so everything is always with you.
The bad:
kept it charged when not in use and a few months after the warranty expired so did it's ability to hold a charge. It is completely useless now
They should have added the ability to change the battery. Only got to use it a few times.
What a waste.
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Whitby, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Pretty good BUT...

Date:February 20, 2015
" The cable ends that attach to the posts break off pretty quickly - not reinforced at all.
I think this is because once they're attached, you end up pulling on them since they're so short and probably won't reach your battery (like in my boat). Once they break off, good luck finding any this size - everything is either too small or too big. And Canadian Tire doesn't carry them either - not even in the car audio section as I've been looking for a year and of course this is EXTREMELY FRUSTRATING because today my car is dead and this pack is USELESS to me. And you can't put regular booster cables on the posts because surprise, they're an oddball size. And I know what I'm doing, I was a road service operator for many years. "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gatineau, QC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

So far so good

Date:February 19, 2015
" Bought this after waiting for months for a sale on power packs and wanted something decent. I've bought it over a year ago now, and I've followed the instructions about charging it and then unplugging it and simply checking it every so-often to make sure that it's still charged.
This week, (Feb 2015) thanks to cold weather, I have vehicles with dead battteries. I used it 4 times to boost them and no problem at all... hooked it up, waited a few moments, hit my remote starter, the car/van started no problem.
Checked the meter that stated 12.6, so I've plugged it back in just to be safe.
This is the third power pack that I've bought in my life, the first being ok, the second a complete piece of garbage, and this one. So far, it this pack holds up like this, it'll be the best I've owned. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

DISAPPOINTED: Started Leaking After 1 Year

Date:December 10, 2014
" It worked fine for the first year. Was always stored indoors in my dry basement when not in use. After the first year the battery acid started to leak and the battery would no longer hold a charge. The acid leaked into the back panel where the air compressor hose was connected/stored.
Since this product only comes with a one year warranty, decide if you will be happy with only 1 year's use for the price paid. "
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Really a good buy on sale

Date:October 24, 2014
" I have two of these units, and in the year I have owned them they have not let me down. The weight is good so the wife can carry one, and the controls are easy to understand. Battery life is ok. Not great, but ok for my needs. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No

Great Product!

Date:October 24, 2014
" My wife gave me one of these for Christmas last year, and it has been invaluable! I have used it for my boat, to start my car, and also used the built in compressor. I great product. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Gananoque, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A

Date:October 15, 2014
" We used this a great deal. Very handy. The unfortunate part is that in just a little over a year it stopped holding a charge. We would like to buy another one but are waiting for it to go on sale. It is handy but do not want to pay full price if it does not last much more than a year. In reading other reveiws it seems to be a comman problem. So good but to expensive if it does not last. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON, Canada

Packs a punch but doesn't last long

Date:October 7, 2014
" Well if the battery inside lasts you're golden but mine died within a year and half (not holding charge)
It works, its got everything you need, great for when we have a blackout or even to take camping.
...but you gotta replace it every year or so which is insane for how expensive it is... "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Absolutely Awesome Battery

Date:August 23, 2014
" I purchase this for the purpose of using it as a battery for my trolling motor. Got into my boat and the starting battery was totally dead. Used battery pack and boom it starts perfectly. Attached the battery to my trolling motor battery and while I am using the trolling motor it is charging that dead battery..
Some are complaining that it is heavy but to me it is nothing in comparison to carrying a battery.
If it lasts a year I am fine since I will buy another one because I use it so much. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kemptville, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Keep it charged!

Date:March 13, 2014
" Thankfully, before I bought this, I read many of these reviews. Many said it lasted a year or less and then was useless. But some reviewers correctly pointed out that if you don't keep it charged regularly, and after each use, it WILL die. I've had mine going on two years now, and use it occasionally in the winter to boost dead batteries in cold vehicles, and also occasionally use it as a power source where a/c is not readily available. It's still holding as good a charge as when it was new - no complaints here at all so far. "
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Val Caron
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

nowhere near as good as original nautilus pack

Date:January 14, 2014
" It has an inverter, which my original did not have. My original was put to pasture when it bacame unusalble due to age. Had it for 6 years. The only thing still good was the agm battery. The battery in the new model is not an agm. The cranking amps on the new one says 800 crank assist amps. On the conductance tester, it only shows 360 ca. Maybe if they changed the battery, it might be better. Right now I would definitely not recommend it. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Don't buy this item

Date:December 5, 2013
" I purchased one and I used it 3 times , I did keep it charged and maintained it , unfortunatly I discovered after 14 months 2 months after the warranty the voltage dropped to 9 volts useless to boost.Today I took it apart to see if I can get a replacement battery.I called the number in the information and they gave me 3 other companies to call to get a replacement.
They don't last better off to buy a standard battery and keep it in the trunk.
"
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Labrador City, NL, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

lasted one winter

Date:November 1, 2013
" After having it in the car for all of last winter and using it once to boost someone else, I decided to recharge it this week to be ready for another winter. After 24 hours of charge, it only show 11.8V and don't go higher.
Also, the compressor did not work out of the box, I did not care at the time but this should have show me the poor quality of this product and I should have ask my money back then. "
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Can't recommend it

Date:July 25, 2013
" The unit itself seems to be of reasonable quality; it's the charger that severely hampers, or outright cripples this product. Unfortunately, charging and maintaining any battery is extremely important to its longevity.
The charger that comes with this is nothing more than a 20 Volt (not a typo) unregulated transformer wall-wart. Why is this bad? Well, Google it for details but in a nutshell, as the battery becomes charged, the amperage flowing in decreases while the voltage increases and can climb as high as 15.5-16V; far too high. Also, it's not a float charger, it's more of a taper charger so even though the manual states you can leave it connected permanently, that's definitely not a good idea and can "cook" a battery if left too long. I suspect many of the early failures of this power pack are due to this.
I have a NOCO smart charger that I use to charge my unit and the charging characteristics (time, maxV, Amperage etc.) between it and the supplied wall-wart are completely different. You can guess which one is the better behaved charger.
The other flaw (unless you know about batteries) with this power pack is the cut-off voltage when discharging. A 50% depth-of-discharge (DOD) is the accepted norm to ensure long life even for a deep cycle battery. The manual for the unit states that it will cut off at 11.0v; this is considered fully discharged for any lead acid battery. Do this too many times and you significantly reduce the useful life of the battery.
In the end, not a bad unit for those who are willing to work around some issues; however I suspect most units will not last much past the warranty period when used as specified in the manual. "
+41points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2