Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Booster and Power Packs or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A

MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A

800 Crank Assist amps boosts cars, trucks, boats, RVs and motorcyclesFeatures a premium 33 amp hour deep-cycle internal battery, ideal for providing portable power for extended periodsOffers four portable power options:120V household outlets (400W) for powering small appliances12V outlet for powerin
Average Customer Rating:
2.682 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
9
9 of 22(41%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
69 Questions | 88 Answers
Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Review 1 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kemptville, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Keep it charged!

Date:March 13, 2014
"Thankfully, before I bought this, I read many of these reviews. Many said it lasted a year or less and then was useless. But some reviewers correctly pointed out that if you don't keep it charged regularly, and after each use, it WILL die. I've had mine going on two years now, and use it occasionally in the winter to boost dead batteries in cold vehicles, and also occasionally use it as a power source where a/c is not readily available. It's still holding as good a charge as when it was new - no complaints here at all so far."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Val Caron
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

nowhere near as good as original nautilus pack

Date:January 14, 2014
"It has an inverter, which my original did not have. My original was put to pasture when it bacame unusalble due to age. Had it for 6 years. The only thing still good was the agm battery. The battery in the new model is not an agm. The cranking amps on the new one says 800 crank assist amps. On the conductance tester, it only shows 360 ca. Maybe if they changed the battery, it might be better. Right now I would definitely not recommend it."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Don't buy this item

Date:December 5, 2013
"I purchased one and I used it 3 times , I did keep it charged and maintained it , unfortunatly I discovered after 14 months 2 months after the warranty the voltage dropped to 9 volts useless to boost.Today I took it apart to see if I can get a replacement battery.I called the number in the information and they gave me 3 other companies to call to get a replacement.
They don't last better off to buy a standard battery and keep it in the trunk.
"
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Labrador City, NL, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

lasted one winter

Date:November 1, 2013
"After having it in the car for all of last winter and using it once to boost someone else, I decided to recharge it this week to be ready for another winter. After 24 hours of charge, it only show 11.8V and don't go higher.
Also, the compressor did not work out of the box, I did not care at the time but this should have show me the poor quality of this product and I should have ask my money back then."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Can't recommend it

Date:July 25, 2013
"The unit itself seems to be of reasonable quality; it's the charger that severely hampers, or outright cripples this product. Unfortunately, charging and maintaining any battery is extremely important to its longevity.
The charger that comes with this is nothing more than a 20 Volt (not a typo) unregulated transformer wall-wart. Why is this bad? Well, Google it for details but in a nutshell, as the battery becomes charged, the amperage flowing in decreases while the voltage increases and can climb as high as 15.5-16V; far too high. Also, it's not a float charger, it's more of a taper charger so even though the manual states you can leave it connected permanently, that's definitely not a good idea and can "cook" a battery if left too long. I suspect many of the early failures of this power pack are due to this.
I have a NOCO smart charger that I use to charge my unit and the charging characteristics (time, maxV, Amperage etc.) between it and the supplied wall-wart are completely different. You can guess which one is the better behaved charger.
The other flaw (unless you know about batteries) with this power pack is the cut-off voltage when discharging. A 50% depth-of-discharge (DOD) is the accepted norm to ensure long life even for a deep cycle battery. The manual for the unit states that it will cut off at 11.0v; this is considered fully discharged for any lead acid battery. Do this too many times and you significantly reduce the useful life of the battery.
In the end, not a bad unit for those who are willing to work around some issues; however I suspect most units will not last much past the warranty period when used as specified in the manual."
+30points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Waist of Money

Date:June 25, 2013
"It work for 6 Months ,doesn't charge more than 10.2 VDC and doesn't keep the charge more than 10 min."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Grimsby, ON, Canada

Buyer Beware!!

Date:June 11, 2013
"People beware....I bought this thinking that it would be better than my other battery packs. This product did not last long before it stopped keeping a charge. I would use it to operate a satelite radio. It would last about an hour. The Eliminator is a much better product. This is waste of your money!"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kirkland Lake, ON, Canada

SeasonalCamping

Date:May 26, 2013
"Purchased this product over one month ago on sale, Great product well built and solid, one downfall is the size and weight. Besides that it works every time and last a long time on a single charge. Great unit would recommend to purchase when on sale."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rimbey, AB T0C, Canada

great backup power is always good

Date:May 15, 2013
"this item is a life saver, you need a light, a quick boost, emergency lights, charge your phone if your camping this can do it all and way more.
great to have charged up incase power ever drops out.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON, Canada

Worst purchase ever - do not buy! Won't last long

Date:May 1, 2013
"I had mine for couple of years. Always staying charged. Nevertheless, compressor (just like others mentioned) stopped working first. Now it does not charge at all. Expensive brick. I strongly discourage against this model, though concept is great."
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON

Save your money!

Date:March 21, 2013
"Bought 2 of these when they first came out as I loved the concept. Left one at home to be used in emergencies and brought one to my shop.
The compressor worked well for a short time but the pressure gauge stopped working within a month. The cables began to separate from the connectors within 2 months and needed heavier duty eyelets. Within 6 months it stopped recharging completely.
Brought the one I had been saving at home to the shop and it suffered the same fate in less than 3 months.
Save your money and get the Rescue 1060."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Compressor Gauge Inaccurate

Date:November 9, 2012
"Bought one back in august, Recently checked the gauge against my hand held gauges....they were 12 lbs apart? took to Cn tite automotive who checked it and said it was 5 lbs off. Had it replaced. new unit is now 8 lbs off. In both cases the guage read higher than actual so the problem is under inflation and not over so the tire wont blow up in your face...er..hopfeully."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Simcoe

works great

Date:October 3, 2012
"Had mine for 3 years, bought to mainly run my trolling motor on the boat, also doubles to charge phones, and run a 12v pump for a shower at the cottage.
Used the cables once to boost my truck, used the air compressor a couple times to inflate tires
Mostly used during the summer my only pet peve is carrying it down to the boat not the lightest lol"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lasts if you treat it right

Date:August 3, 2012
"I saw many complaints about this product only lasting one year. I'm on my third year now and it's still going strong. I use it just about every weekend in the summer to power a trolling motor - that's about 15 cycles (discharge and recharge# a season.
Batteries #which is what this really is - a battery in a plastic case# are very finicky and need proper care and maintenenace.
First, the deeper you discharge it, the more damage you do #life you take out of the battery, permanently# so try not to run it down past 12.4V ever.
Second, recharge it after EVERY use, even if you only used it for a few minutes. When a battery sits discharged at all, that's when sulphation sits in. Lead acid batteries have no memory so don't worry, you're not teaching it to run shorter.
Finally, charge it at least every couple of months, even if you don't use it. Lead acid batteries naturally self-discharge #faster in warmer temperatures#. Again, if it's discharged, sulphation will happen. Most people forget to charge them regularly so just leave it plugged in all the time - the charger shuts off automatically when the battery is charged so you can leave it safely plugged in when you're not using it.
A note about sulphation. It a nutshell, it's crystalization on the battery plates. The more there is, the less capacity the battery will have unit you finally notice it runs for way less time than when it was new. It's effectively like your making the battery smaller and smaller.
Anyway, like I said, I've had mine for 3 seasons now #though you shouldn't really talk in terms of time when speaking of batteries, you need to speak in terms of cycles# and it's still going strong. With any luck I'll get another 3 seasons.
PS. If your booster #battery# has sat and you suspect it's sulphated, invest a few bucks into one of these new smart battery charges that has a DESULPHATION feature. You can connect it through the DC port #if the charger comes with a 12V DC attachment# or just use the normal clamps and connect them to the threaded studs on the back of the booster #with the switch turned to ON#. This can really help reverse the sulphation and bring your booster pack back to life. Even if you don't have sulphation, this is a faster way to charge you booster (the AC wall plug charger that comes with the booster is 1amp, you can buy something like a 2A or 3A battery charger which is a lot faster)."
+98points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do not buy this junk!!!

Date:July 29, 2012
"I am sort of "battery aficionado" since I often operate all my gear in a back-country. I purchased this item several years ago (original stock) and it worked well several months. Then the built in battery went dead and there was no chance to re-charge it. I have a large collection of various battery chargers and testers but no matter what I did, I never managed to resurrect the battery. Stay away from the item!
However, I must say that the features are outstanding: tire inflation compressor, battery voltage tester, car jump starter, compass, boat lights, searchlight - unfortunately all these are entirely useless when the battery is dead! I am working now on replacing the dead battery by a new better quality battery."
-13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Buyer beware!

Date:July 11, 2012
"Has some nice features. However if you want something that lasts longer than 1 year, I suggest looking elsewhere!! After one year this thing was nothing but a fancy air compressor."
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa

Works good for me, but buy on sale

Date:June 7, 2012
"I have had mine for over 2 years and it is still working fine. I really like its utility and water resistance.
To maintain its longevity, I follow the instructions and make sure to charge it at least once every 3 months and never let it fall below 12 volts.
If the internal charger stops working, as some have said, all you have to do is charge it with an intelligent charger (as go on sale at CT - the CTEK is a good one - #11-1522-6). Just remember to turn the red switch on the back to on before charging."
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good

Date:May 10, 2012
"I got one of these a few years ago and it worked great for the first year or so but then the battery stopped holding a charge. I used this product a lot in my boat to power my trolling motor and was really disappointed when it died. I think this product is an excellent buy when it goes on sale for 50% off. . I can only hope that the battery has been upgraded"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:halifax

works great for a year or so

Date:April 11, 2011
"I agree with the other review in which the unit works great for about 18 months and then my ac charger would not charge the unit.It keeps coming up as "full charge" when in fact the battery is dead.Works with the 12 volt charger though.For the price that you pay for this unit one would think you would get more use out of it and the life of the unit would last more than 18 months.It is quite a shame as the unit is well constructed and "looks" like it will last."
+42points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sudbury,ont

so far so good

Date:October 29, 2010
"to keep you posted my father suv would not start this morning tried this power pack the equinox started right away ..Brought the batt in to get tested and batt rated at 650 cca only had 25 cca batt was dead and this unit worked very well ...well woth the money"
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2