Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A

MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A

MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Average Customer Rating:
3.022 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
13
23 of 45(51%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
110 Questions | 141 Answers
Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Review 1 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Good for the first 10 months. A dud after.

Date:April 26, 2016
" Mine worked for about 10 months under very little use. I did as the instructions said, charge every 60-90 days when not in use and it was fine up until the other day when I really needed a boost (go figure). The AC still works but the DC and the air pump doesn't work anymore. Luckily it is still under warranty so I'll have to do an exchange. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Laval
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Stopped working after 18 months

Date:April 17, 2016
" This seemed like a great product. Many functions, etc. Except that it stopped working after about 18 months. I charged it each 3 months if not in use and followed the instruction. But at some time it stopped charging. The light would not turn on when I plugged it. I tried in various outlets to no avail. Of course the warranty is one year... "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly

Great battery pack to buy!!!

Date:March 1, 2016
" This is a great battery pack to buy if you want to have to replace it every year. This is, in my experience the actual truth, because I actually own two of these units. Both no longer have the capacity to hold charge, or boost a car after two years of very gentle use. The lights work very well.
Focus on the product and your individual experience using it. Done.
Provide details about why you liked or disliked the product. Done.
All submitted reviews are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms of Use. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Great booster pack with many uses

Date:February 10, 2016
" This Pack has helped me and others many of times over the last few years. The booster system is easy to use and the inverter is great for out on the road or during power outages.
I got a flat from a nail in rural Saskatchewan, I used a repair kit to patch the hole and the compressor worked well enough to get me going. It wasn't quick at filling but it was faster then walking or waiting for help. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Vancouver Island

Mostly good but some drawbacks

Date:January 14, 2016
" This is an ok unit. Especially for the price on sale. I was going to buy a new inverter and battery for my solar system in my camper van. This was a much more cost effective option. I hook up the unit to my solar using the jumper cables and just make sure I somewhat monitor the charge. When driving charge it threw the DC port which works well. Seams to be holding a charge fine (I've had it 5 months). Will charge your phone and MacBook no problem multiple times. I also used it to jump my motorcycle which worked great.
Now the bad. The unit is heavy and large. The compressor is useless, maybe you could inflate a river float but I wouldn't rely on it for tires. Now the unit is also alarming. I bought this because o the 400 inverter to use my blender (max output 250w). It was working great for about 3 months and now it alarms and shuts off power with voltage meter reading 11.5v.
Loose the compressor and make this unit smaller and it a 5 star. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sault Ste. Marie, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly

Good but no great

Date:December 19, 2015
" It's heavy and bulky but can handle the outdoor weather. Comes with some good features for it price. My only major complaint is the air compressor heat up then shut down making it take a long time to inflate a tire. Having a back up 12 volt air compressor would be recommended. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa Ontario
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal

Dubious performance

Date:December 17, 2015
" Hardly used my Motomaster Nautilus Battery Pack.
After only six months would not hold a charge. I meticulously adhered to the instruction manual.
It went past the warranty period due to lack of use.
The manufacturer declined to exchange or refund.
What a failure and waste of money..It appears not holding a charge is a common problem.Beautiful unit but terrible performance.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB

Very reliable battery pack

Date:July 30, 2015
" This is a very reliable battery pack and even works in cold weather "
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kentville, NS, Canada
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Product

Date:July 12, 2015
" Love this battery pack. i have many uses for it. Use it to power the trolling motor. Works great and lasts a long time without having to be recharged. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Calqgary AB
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Does not hold charge

Date:June 26, 2015
" Bought 3 years ago and good for around 3 years. Kept it charged but now it will not a a charge, which seems to be a common problem. It deteriated slowly, not holding power as long, and now will no charge up at all. I would look for a better more long term solution. Looking at alternate CDN tire eliminator power packs to compare, but they are more expensive. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Good for a year...

Date:June 24, 2015
" Worked great for about a year - always kept out of cold / weather. One weekend tried to use and it would only hold about a 20% charge even though the meter would read that it's full and it's pretty much useless now.
A bit pricey for a 12month battery. :( "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Be mindful of tools and how they work

Date:June 21, 2015
" I found one of these at our local dump (first generation-no inverter-800/33) Meter reading 9.6
So I've seen the result of the frustration,
Took it home, checked the acid level-good
Main pwr switch was in the OFF position-turned it ON
Put a 1970s bat charger on it at 2A/13.7v for 2-days (main polls)
Meter now reads 12.7v and loads to 675ish,
Cables and such are premo
Thanks, I love free stuff ;) "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for use with 40W Solar Panels

Date:June 4, 2015
" I have been using one of these Nautilus Battery Packs for several years now as part of a small Solar Power system without any issues. I have it hooked up to 3 of the Coleman 40W Folding Solar Panels. However, instead of using the charge controller which comes with those panels I use a 10A Tracer MPPT Charge Controller which can be purchased online. (That more deluxe charge controller does a better job of maintaining the battery). "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Abbotsford, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Save your money and get something else

Date:May 25, 2015
" The good:
Lots of great features and all cables and accessories fit in the pouches so everything is always with you.
The bad:
kept it charged when not in use and a few months after the warranty expired so did it's ability to hold a charge. It is completely useless now
They should have added the ability to change the battery. Only got to use it a few times.
What a waste.
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Whitby, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Pretty good BUT...

Date:February 20, 2015
" The cable ends that attach to the posts break off pretty quickly - not reinforced at all.
I think this is because once they're attached, you end up pulling on them since they're so short and probably won't reach your battery (like in my boat). Once they break off, good luck finding any this size - everything is either too small or too big. And Canadian Tire doesn't carry them either - not even in the car audio section as I've been looking for a year and of course this is EXTREMELY FRUSTRATING because today my car is dead and this pack is USELESS to me. And you can't put regular booster cables on the posts because surprise, they're an oddball size. And I know what I'm doing, I was a road service operator for many years. "
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gatineau, QC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

So far so good

Date:February 19, 2015
" Bought this after waiting for months for a sale on power packs and wanted something decent. I've bought it over a year ago now, and I've followed the instructions about charging it and then unplugging it and simply checking it every so-often to make sure that it's still charged.
This week, (Feb 2015) thanks to cold weather, I have vehicles with dead battteries. I used it 4 times to boost them and no problem at all... hooked it up, waited a few moments, hit my remote starter, the car/van started no problem.
Checked the meter that stated 12.6, so I've plugged it back in just to be safe.
This is the third power pack that I've bought in my life, the first being ok, the second a complete piece of garbage, and this one. So far, it this pack holds up like this, it'll be the best I've owned. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

DISAPPOINTED: Started Leaking After 1 Year

Date:December 10, 2014
" It worked fine for the first year. Was always stored indoors in my dry basement when not in use. After the first year the battery acid started to leak and the battery would no longer hold a charge. The acid leaked into the back panel where the air compressor hose was connected/stored.
Since this product only comes with a one year warranty, decide if you will be happy with only 1 year's use for the price paid. "
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Really a good buy on sale

Date:October 24, 2014
" I have two of these units, and in the year I have owned them they have not let me down. The weight is good so the wife can carry one, and the controls are easy to understand. Battery life is ok. Not great, but ok for my needs. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No

Great Product!

Date:October 24, 2014
" My wife gave me one of these for Christmas last year, and it has been invaluable! I have used it for my boat, to start my car, and also used the built in compressor. I great product. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for MotoMaster Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Gananoque, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Nautilus Battery Pack, 800 A

Date:October 15, 2014
" We used this a great deal. Very handy. The unfortunate part is that in just a little over a year it stopped holding a charge. We would like to buy another one but are waiting for it to go on sale. It is handy but do not want to pay full price if it does not last much more than a year. In reading other reveiws it seems to be a comman problem. So good but to expensive if it does not last. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3