Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Battery Boosting or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack

Ideal for jump starting compact and mid-sized vehicles. 500 crank-assist amps. 14 Ah non-spillable AGM battery. Fixed halogen light and built-in compass
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
14 of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Review 1 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Upset with Motomaster

Poor quality

Date:May 6, 2012
" I bought this for security when travelling as I drive a older car. I boosted one time with this unit and now it will not charge anymore!! It was an expensive boost ! Now I have a paperweight! Do not buy this even on sale as it is not worth it. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa ON

Where's the 'Beef'?

Date:February 10, 2012
" Bought the 500A booster for my VW Diesel as in colder weather I have problems starting it. Whenever the temperature goes below -10C it just won't crank fast enough to fire it up. I used the booster one morning when it was -5 and my baby started up like a champ. On another occasion when it was -7 the booster did it's thing again and got me going again. Then a couple of weeks ago it was -19 and whoa, no go, neit, nada, the booster would not start my VW. It just did not crank fast enough to fire up the engine. When starting the engine, it appears that the glowplug current draw wipes out most of the charged reserve power and the starter motor does not have enough power left to turn the engine over fast enough to fire it up. So I have to say this unit probably is good for a gas engine car but not enough for a diesel. Too bad, it sure would be handy. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Grande Prairie, Alberta

Poor Product

Date:January 21, 2012
" I own a truck I boosted it twice when the weather was warm +3 C. It started no problem. I boosted it twice at about that temp. Forget boosting your truck at -10C You would be completely lucky if you manage to get your truck running seriously. I bought it because of the raving reviews people where giving big mistake. I boosted a car with it no go at -20C. What good is a battery pack if it works only in plus type weather. I chalk it upto junk at best. If you do get a battery booster pack get something in the 800 to 900 cold cranking amps you'll have way better chance of getting your car or truck started. I bought the Nautlous and it works perfect. Leave the motormaster boosters at home. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary

So Far So Good

Date:January 20, 2012
" I bought one on the boxing week sale and sure enough was forced to use it the week of 12/1/12. Boosted my hooptie with ease and got me back in the game.
Big problem was it would no longer charge up fully after it's big chance at greatness, forcing me to buy and try the accessory cable available in CA which also did nothing. I returned it for exchange and surprisingly a new revision of the product is available.
Will be interested to see if this one offers more longevity or is just a marginal face lift. I see why there has been a fire sale on all battery boosters at CA since they appear to be bringing in new stock and those previously sold at half may very well only be worth that much anyway. "
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC

It Works

Date:January 15, 2012
" After running my battery down trying to start my Hyundai accent on Saturday at -25c and further on Sunday at -15c, I proceeded on foot to the closest CT and picked one of these things up. it worked.
At about the same price as a new battery, it's far less than a new alternator(and new battery).
If you're driving an older vehicle that you don't want to sink a lot of cash into this is a pretty justifiable little gadget.
One thing that I noticed is that the car didn't turn over with same vigor as a car to car boost. Never the less, it held in long enough to get it started and that's all that counts.
"
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:edmonton. ab

a must have!

Date:November 12, 2010
" even with a caa membership, this is a great item to have. imagine you are in a rush and your battery is dead.
on one single charge, i've jump started 5 cars plus have used the built in flash light for about 20 minutes.
had it for a year and jumped started a workmates car just a few days ago. "
+76points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marathon, On

Best Purchase Ever

Date:January 22, 2010
" Has saved my butt from freezing to death more times than I can count. I had to deal with a car with electrical problems that have now been sorted out & this product started my car every single time ! "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Best Spark for the Buck"

Date:January 14, 2010
" This unit is fast to charge up and fast to charge the car/truck/lawn tractor/farm tractor/anything you need charging, just charge. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Battleford, Sask.

Great overall size

Date:January 14, 2010
" This handy device not only has been handy to have when boosts are needed in -40 C or worse weather, but it has also been extremely handy in numerous uses from charging small items like cell phones or camera batteries while camping. Last summer it even provided the power to play family movies on our portable dvd player, in our tent, during a rainstorm! It was a sight to see. "
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal

reliable friend

Date:December 29, 2009
" This is the second one I have purchase, first one was only 300 amps and lasted over 3 years. This one has more amps so could only look foward , to same relibilty,as the other. I used this for camping and for emergency . Took care of it by charging it after each use. and charged it every 2 months on a regular basis,therefore prolonging the life of this battery. Still useing old 300 amp one for my electric scooter. "
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver

better than a car to car jump start

Date:December 25, 2008
" I had a dead battery and was looking for my neighbor to jump start my car, and he came by with this and jump started my car. I was totally impressed and said I should pick one up. I left it for a long time, untill I witnessed a car on the ferry with a dead battery and the ferry personell came by with the same booster pack and jumped his car. I was sold at this point and decided to pick one up when it got on sale.
Haven't used mine yet, but it is fully charged and sits in the trunk of my car. I was going to get a battery charger that has the boost function, but you have to be next to a 120v outlet to have that one operational. This one is truly portable, so if you are stuck in the middle of nowhere, this one will get you started. "
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable

Date:September 24, 2008
" The booster may seem small but it provides plenty of power. Used this many time on many different vehicles. Beats waiting around for a tow truck for a simple boost. Just have to make sure you keep it charged at all times... it will loose power (like any battery) if it just sits there for weeks and months... need to keep it charged because you never know when you'll need it! "
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thompson,MB

very good product

Date:September 13, 2008
" This came in handy a few times for me and a couple of friends. It worked great for my truck and worked on the quad when in a jam. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Saved my bacon!

Date:May 23, 2008
" This small but mighty booster pack saved me from a big headache after my car had been out in the cold and the battery decided to give up. Thankfully, the booster is easy to hook up and small enough to stay in the trunk so that you always have it.
I boosted the car quickly and was able to get things rolling until I got the battery replaced - over the week of procrastination I used the booster pack four times without charging it - incredible!
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Lazare, QC

Reliable booster pays for itself

Date:April 17, 2008
" This mobile booster works everytime. It has already paid for itself in charging my car batteries several times. I have also used it for charging other batteries. Simple to maintain and keep fully charged via AC or solar panel, it has been reliable and easy to keep with me anytime or place. I am very satisfied with this mobile booster pack. "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

good quality booster

Date:April 7, 2008
" good quality, nicer than the 300A motomaster booster..don't have to worry about overcharging as will float when fully charged.
The included light comes in quite handy for those dark parking lots. Even includes a compass on top, though not sure anyone needs that (who gets lost in the woods carrying one of these ;-) ). Pricey, but it can put out a solid 500A, unlike some of the all-in-ones-with-inverter packs which may put out as little as 120A or 200A and which may just not cut it when the mercury dips.
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for MotoMaster 500A Booster Pack
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, CA

Must have for single vehicle owner

Date:March 29, 2008
" I bought this charger after trying one of those battery chargers that plug into your lighter jack. That lighter jack one did not work at all on my 2004 Sienna. This one worked perfectly on a few occasions now. Having gone from having 2 vehicles to 1, this has been fantastic to have sitting in the van.
My only negative is that the very first time I used it, the light display on the front was incorrect. When I hooked up everything properly it kept saying that the cables were mismatched. I knew they weren't so proceeded. That issue hasn't come up since.
Anyway, it is a great product!
"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?