Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Battery Chargers or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A

MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A

Ideal for charging small batteries and maintaining larger batteriesBuilt-in intelligent microprocessor makes charging faster, easier and saferAutomatically switches from full charge to maintenance mode to maintain batteries during prolonged periods of storage without overcharging or damaging the bat
Average Customer Rating:
3.811 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
8
28 of 37(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 87 Answers
Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Review 1 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Red Deer
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Own five of these

Date:July 15, 2015
" I own five of these and use them to maintain and store car, motorcycle and boat batteries... These work amazing by keeping all batteries topped up for extended periods of time like over the winter with no worries of over charging the battery. Well worth the price especially when on sale. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:edmonton, ab
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

marketing is a bit misleading, but....

Date:June 14, 2015
" ... good charger/maintainer - does what it says it does. I have a fairly high 'idle drain' on my vehicle battery due to alarm system and other always on 12v electronics. The battery typically won't start the vehicle after 3 days of sitting. This maintainer/charger fixes that problem easily and keeps my battery always ready to go.
The problem I have is the marketing material on the box is a bit misleading - it talks about 'tabs for permanent mounting' - but what it doesn't say, the permanent mounting is to the wall of your garage - this is NOT a sealed unit to be mounted under the hood of your vehicle. I'll be returning it and going to the NOCO Gen1 mini "on board" sealed unit for this reason.
Some of the online Q&A of this maintainer talks about this "permanent mounting" issue, but when you're walking the isles of the stores without a smart phone in your hand, you can't fully research and put some trust the marketing info on the box. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pointe-Calumet, QC J0N 1G4, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great little charger

Date:May 11, 2015
" I have been using mine for 2 years to keep my deep cycle and lawn tractor batteries maintained. Has worked flawlessly "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Etobicoke, Toronto, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Temporary help for battery drain

Date:March 28, 2015
" My vehicle developed a battery drain in December and if left for more than three days it would kill the battery.
This little automatic charger maintains my battery for easy starts. Even through the crazy cold experienced here in Toronto this Feb.
The three connection options is what sold me. I use the 12 volt accessory plug and leave it plugged in the socket at the rear tail gate and hang the 120v plug out of the closed door.
It's easy to back up the vehicle to my garage door and plug in the charger which stays in the trunk.
Used for three months with no problems.
Waiting for warmer weather to hunt for the drain.
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

I would not recommend

Date:March 22, 2015
" Bought this. Seemed reasonable the type the size the specs. All great. Lots of options in so far as the charging variations. Well it cooked my bike and my marine battery that I stored in the basement work area so it wouldn't freeze. that cost me an agm battery and a deep cycle battery. I have been in the automotive/trucking/heavy equipment field for a great many years. I have always had an interest in Charging systems and batteries. Measured and studied Specific gravitities levels and more.
JUNK JUNK JUNK.
"
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Guelph, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

worked exactly as promised

Date:March 22, 2015
" I was away for 5 weeks in February-March 2015, with temperatures regularly in the -20s. On arrival home, my Honda CR-V battery was fully charged and started instantly. Well done, Motomaster. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kenora, ON P0V, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Charger

Date:August 17, 2014
" I had a deep cycle battery for my Minn Kota electric trolling motor. I had been charging the battery with a 2/10 amp charger for years but it never seemed to be able to get a full charge. I bought this charger and put it on the boat and whenever I come in I plug it in. I cannot say how pleased I am with the charging it does. The battery used to give out after 2 hours but now I can go all day with it. Perhaps something was wrong with my old charger but I love this charger. I have been in the electrical business for 40 years, this is year one so...happy so far. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

No short-circuit protection, ruins batteries

Date:June 18, 2014
" Very negative experience.
The charger ruined my 7Ah AGM lead-acid battery - it was 11.9V when I started charging it. After 24 hours the charger showed 'green' (for charged) but the battery actually became discharged to 9.5V beyond repair...
Also, is has no short-circuit protection. Accidentally shorting the leads fries the internal logic and takes you to the store for a refund and to buy a new charger... Now if I could find the receipt... "
-9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DO NOT BUY!

Date:May 7, 2014
" ruins batteries...good for one or two charges that's it! "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

3 wrecked batteries

Date:April 29, 2014
" Bought three of these in the fall of 2013 to maintain my ATV batteries, one for each battery. Each battery down to 5 volts in the spring, but all chargers showed a green charged light. "
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NB
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Caution

Date:April 21, 2014
" I bought this charger in 2013 and put my faith in the automatic intelligent charging system. I must have gotten a defective unit because it ruined 2 ATV batteries and 1 motorcycle battery within a year or two. It is supposed to shut off or go into maintenance mode when the battery is charged, but apparently mine does not. Eventually it will boil the battery dry and then the battery is toast.
One other reviewer experienced what I did so I figured I should post a warning. The charger may be fine but keep a close eye on the battery fluid level to make sure it is not slowly boiling it dry.
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Laval, QC
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Nice Little Gadget

Date:April 6, 2014
" Decided to try this little thing before going you know for the regular booster cables.
Wow!! I never thought this little thing will do the trick.
My Ford Focus 2000 battery was dead after this cold winter, even he pass the whole time on a heated garage. 12 hours later this thing was plugged it start like nothing happened. Guy buy at half of regular price.. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good Investment

Date:December 29, 2013
" Keeps battery topped up and ready to go. I drive a diesel (06) which is a pain to start on cold winter mornings, even with the block heater plugged in. READ the instructions! It's NOT for boosting, even though I see some people crying that they can't boost with it (sheesh!). Have bought 2 now and they're both awesome! "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thornhill, ON

Charge it!

Date:May 27, 2013
" Great product for charging and maintaining you battery. Comes with 3 different connectors. It's compact and reliable. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Battery charger

Date:May 15, 2013
" Keep my battery top up while I was away for two weeks, car turn right over when I was back. Perfect. "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Date:May 10, 2013
" i used this on my bike last year and it worked great. Its half the price of the OEM one and works as well. I would wait till they go on sale for 29.99 "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sundre, AB, Canada

Hit or miss

Date:May 8, 2013
" Bought 1 three years ago and 2 one year ago. The first one is still working the other two lasted until it got down to -30C and died. All were hooked up to motorbike or lawn tractor batteries in the same manner and location and all batteries load test well. Maybe I got a bad batch the second time but I'm now looking for a different brand. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kelowna

Ruins batteries.

Date:April 29, 2013
" Was set to charge my motorcycle battery. Boiled it dry. Now just guess what my chances are to get a replacement battery. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pierrefonds, Montreal, QC, Canada

nice charger for stored batteries / cars

Date:January 25, 2013
" I bought this unit a few years back (when on sale, 1/2 price) and have used it on all my cars and boat batteries - Unit works well and I like the LED feature that tells you when the battery is full, since I can then cycle other batteries / cars that are in my garage..
I had an older unit that died after 4 years, no big deal, since it was just ~ $19.99 on sale back then..
:) "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for MotoMaster Eliminator Intelligent Battery Charger, 2A
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, easy, cheap!

Date:December 15, 2012
" I'm a lazy knucklehead and was able to have this hooked up and charging in no time at all. I bought it on sale for around $25 about a month ago. So far it has been perfect for my 300ZX TT, which is in hibernation for the winter. There were a couple nice days when I decided to take it out for a run and removing and reconnecting the charger was a breeze. The quick connect is a superb feature. This is a "plug it and forget it" charger/maintainer. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2