Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Compressors or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Heavy-duty Air Compressor

Heavy-duty Air Compressor

Compressor provides quick and effortless inflation of vehicle and bicycle tires, sporting equipment, and small inflatablesInflates a standard car tire (P195/65 R15) in approximately 3 minutes; however, time may vary depending on weather conditionsEfficient direct drive motor provides inflation power
Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
9
29 of 44(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer Reviews for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Review 1 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Prince Albert, SK, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works Great

Date:June 5, 2014
"Bought this to keep in my truck and and it works great. will pump up a tire fast and tells you what the poundage is"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oshawa, ON, Canada
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

heavy duty air compressor

Date:May 15, 2014
"I purchased this compressor 2 years ago and has kept my tires pumped, it is fast and gets the job done. In the winter I keep my compressor in my house take it outside and plug it in, first it will show how much air is in the tire then I push the on button and in a couple of minutes my tire is normal......"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Springhill, NS
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works great for occasional use, quiet

Date:May 3, 2014
"I used it several times while on a road-trip. It's very quiet compared to other portable compressors that I've used. The built-in gauge is handy. I would buy again."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great little compressor

Date:March 8, 2014
"2nd one ( first one the gauge didn't work), takes about 10 min to fill completely deflated tire, bright light, handy when filling toys comes with accessory tips which can be stored in cavities in the bottom of compressor. Comes with fuse, only thing I didn't like is it sometimes over loads car fuse, and if not prepared (extra fuses) can leave high and dry. Have a tire that has a slow leak so use it weekly on the winter days,"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works Great

Date:February 11, 2014
"I bought this yesterday as I was getting tired of driving around the city to find a service station that offered free air. There are pretty much none left in Regina as all of them are all pay now. I purchased it on a -35C day here in Regina and went home. My wife's car had a really low tire so I pulled it out of the package and threaded it onto the valve stem and plugged it in. Worked great filled up the tire in less than 5 minutes. Decided to do all the tires on the car and my truck and it only took about a half hour to get them all back up to snuff. Its compact and works as advertised. This isn't some big compressor but it does a good job. I would hook it to a tire and go back in the house and wait five minutes. Come back out and voila it was filled to the pressure it needed. Definitely handy."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very good compressor

Date:February 9, 2014
"Quiet, no vibrations, accurate pressure indicator, nice design of the stand that allows to wrap the cable and hose. Fast too. Will recommend to others. Be careful with the plug. Is not very strong built. Overall worth the money."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Not overly impressed

Date:February 3, 2014
"Bought this a while ago when it was on sale, glad I didn't pay full price for it!
Used it a fair amount, the plug broke rather quickly, for some reason it cuts out once in a while and the foot broke on it while being in the back of the van just from sliding around a little.
Not quiet at all.
Just got a call from the wife and her tire is really low but due to the plug being broke she can't get it to work.
Pointless having it if it cant be used
Note that a lot of reviews are posted on products before people have had the item for long enough to use it enough for a valid testing.
i have had this for about 2 years
"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thunder Bay, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

does the trick

Date:January 23, 2014
"Bought this last summer and I've used it once for my truck, my motorcycle and quad. Like it so much I bought another on sale for camp this summer. Maybe I don't get as many flats as other's but for the price, it hasn't let me down yet."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver

Good product

Date:January 15, 2014
"Very good product that we ever purchase. Reasonable price and last for the period that it supposed to be."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:toronto
Researched the product online before purchasing:No

Great little compressor

Date:January 6, 2014
"Good for keeping your tires up to pressure until the fuse goes. It takes a 15-amp glass fuse that Canadian Tire does not seem to stock. They will offer you a 15-amp ceramic fuse for a microwave, but you will find that this does not fit. You have to go to Acklands-Grainger or some other automotive supplier for the correct size of glass fuse."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works Great

Date:November 23, 2013
"Very quick! Hubby bought this over a year ago and have helped us out on more then one occasion, as well as a couple of co workers. It's in my van now so buying him one Christmas. Well worth the money. Only complaint, it's not very quiet contrary to the description."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Works fine

Date:November 7, 2013
"Bought this compressor on sale about a year ago and have used it several times since with no issues. Yes, the cigarette lighter plug is cheap, but if you're careful with it, it'll last.
I haven't used it to fill a completely deflated tire, though I have done this with other compressors like this in the past and they melted. If you must fill a completely deflated tire, I suggest giving the compressor a break halfway through so it cools down."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good compressor, cheap plastic adapter

Date:October 22, 2013
"The compressor seems solid and does a fairly quick job of inflating even a truck tire.
The problem lies with the cigarette lighter adapter plug itself. The end cap is a cheap plastic screw on type for access to change the fuse, and snaps in no time at all. I've had two break in the same way within a few months. Is it really so hard to make one that's solid? A cheap cell phone charger is better built.
Overall a good price for a solid charger just tape the adapter before you ever use it so you don't lose all the parts when the plastic inevitably breaks. Fix that simple design flaw and you would have a fantastic product which I would then easily give 5 stars."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Bad design, fuse overheats

Date:September 26, 2013
"I bought 2 of those and they were both broken after a few uses. The pump works quite slow especially on higher motorcycle or car tire pressures. this means that it has to run for a few minutes. If it runs this long the 12V plug becomes very hot and the fuse and contacts inside the plug will become too hot and and eventually melt solder and disconnect."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sydney, NS, Canada

On number 4.

Date:July 14, 2013
"Bought one years ago when I had a problem rim. Kept my tire inflated just fine. But after a year, it died. Took it back and they replaced it no problem. Same thing. Used it for months, then the fuse blew. No available fuses. So returned number 2. They replaced it again, no problem. The third one got a good working out. Used it all the time. Again, in less than a year, it too died. Just had that one replaced as well. This is number 4 and they are using a different plug and fuse now. Maybe they figured out the issue. Lets hope this one lasts more than a year. I gave it 4 stars because when it works it is good, and they replaced them no problem. If it lasted longer, them maybe a 5 star. I think the store staff that keep replacing it are worth 5 stars, but the pump is not."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Heavy Duty *NOT*

Date:June 4, 2013
"Bought the unit and put in the truck (inside) to use 'just in case'.
Went to use it for first time this spring, blew it's fuse immediately.....no light flick, no pump start, nothing at all, just blew fuse IMMEDIATELY.
Put spare fuse in.......same story.
Ran out of fuses......found out YOU CAN'T BUY REPLACEMENT FUSES at the store, you have to order them from the 'manufacturer via the 800 number in the manual.
After you give them your address and email they send you replacements (I figure it was a scam to get that info for SPAM)
Got replacement fuses.....THEY ALSO BLEW before the unit even started.
Am returning unit today to see if I can refund without receipt (long gone now).
Looks like, according to the reviews, this unit has inconsistent quality and thus is unreliable.
DON'T PURCHASE....unless you plan on wanting to eventually be let down.
"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sault Ste. Marie, ON, Canada

great value

Date:May 22, 2013
"compact for taking in the travel trailer, handy to have"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chomedey, Laval, QC, Canada

good compressor - bad plug

Date:May 21, 2013
"Worked perfectly once !
2nd time, compressor stopped working and had to change the fuse in the plug. Worked ok after.
3rd time, compressor started to slow down after a minute or so. Noticed significant smoke coming from the compressor unit's plug inside my cigarette lighter socket (I do not smoke and never used the socket for anything else). The spring that provides fuse contact inside the plug was burnt to the point it had collapsed and not providing a good electrical continuity.
As I wanted to keep the $25 powerful compressor, and did not want to return the unit to get a replacement with the same cheap cigarette lighter plug, I simply cut off the burnt plug and replaced it with 2 strong alligator clips and an inline fuse receptacle and I now plug the unit directly onto my car battery's post. No more problems !!!!"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Pump Ever

Date:May 19, 2013
"This is absolutely the best pump I have ever tried. It would still be worth it if it was $149.99. Amazingly fast and powerful, the light.... well that's not the brightest, but if your ever stuck at the side of the road, it surely will help. It's surely worth it at $49.99, and when they have it for $24.99, if you don't already have it, quit wasting time and run on over and pick one up. You will not be disappointed. I don't know what people are saying about the fuses. I bought another one yesterday as an extra. I've had one for 5 years and it still runs like new and hasn't blown a fuse. Take my advice, get over there and buy one. What are you waiting for???"
-7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Heavy-duty Air Compressor
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I returned 2 of them

Date:March 21, 2013
"I bought one of these compressors last fall. After blowing 4-20 amp fuses in the wife's mini-van a mechanic friend suggested i try ( even tho not recommended ) a 30 amp fuse. After it blew 2 of them and also blew a fuse when i tried plugging it into an outlet in my truck i gave up and returned it, The 2nd. one would start slowing down after a few seconds and if you shut it off and restarted it ...it would run for 30 secs then slow down again. After 3 or 4 mins. it also blew a fuse. I gave up and returned it. They were nice enough to refund the difference when i purchased the smaller one that inflates tires in 4 mins. Cross my fingers...i have not tried that one yet."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3