Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Garage Tools or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton

MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton

2.5 ton Locking Jack has a three position safety locking mechanism that provides maximum load securitySafety locking positions: 8-3/4, 11-1/4 and 13-3/8" (22.2, 28.5 and 34 cm)Automatic bypass prevents jack damage from over pumpingSuitable for compact and mid-size passenger cars as well as SUVs and
Average Customer Rating:
2.69 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
11
13 of 29(45%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Review 1 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sault Ste. Marie, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Dependable

Date:October 17, 2014
" I bought this jack about 5 and have used it on cars and trucks. For the size of the jack, it is very dependable and I would recommend to others. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bowmanville, Ontario
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Good Jack

Date:May 4, 2014
" Good basic Jack. Works well. No issues. I found that it got the job done. "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sussex, NB, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Did not last

Date:November 26, 2013
" Got it as a gift so no receipt, did not get a year out of it "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works Fine...

Date:November 16, 2013
" Not sure what all the bad reviews are. I have this jack for years and still works after spending many winters in the garage. No leaks, loose of dropping when fully extended. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suprised of all the bad reviews!

Date:July 3, 2013
" I have used this so many times since I bought it on sale, used on Toyota to Volkswagens and to heavy BMWs and it has no problem jacking them up.
No sign of oil leaking or any damage after many uses. It looks very well built and would recommend this to everyone. The jack has automatic locking mechanism but it's very irritating sometimes if you forget to unlock it before you lower the car because you can't take the jack out, you would have to jack the car up a bit until you can unlock the jack and lower it again.
To be very honest, I'd say I have used this more than 50 times already, from tire change to oil change to strut replacement and to brake pad change. So far it still looks new and strong and ready to go! "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick, Canada

Didn't make it

Date:May 14, 2013
" Started leaking after second lift. Would not hold a lift after had to return. Buy a better one. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Died after a year

Date:November 11, 2012
" Bought this jack as a gift to my dad. It no longer works after a year of light use ( putting winter tires on and taking them off on 2 cars in the fall and spring). Went to lift a car to put the winter tires on last week and the jack leaked. After that, it couldn't lift high enough to get the car on jack stands. If you get it for cheap and don't use it much, this is a good disposable item. If you need something reliable, do yourself a favor and don't bother with this item.
I ended up buying a much more expensive michelin floor jack which offers a much higher lifting capability that will be useful for my pickup truck.
"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:October 30, 2012
" Other users are right: the 'locking' feature is more a pain than a feature.
I also did not like that no rubber pad was included with the jack - the metal cup damaged the jack points on my vehicle. Grr.
if you're going to use this jack, make sure that you have a lot of room to swing the lever - you'll be doing it a lot, and you need a lot of room to do it.
No problems with the jack leaking though #yet#.
Canadian tire sells lots of different jacks. Buy one of those, instead. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto,ON

Good as long as it works

Date:April 6, 2012
" Bought two of these in the last two years.First one worked for @ 40 liftings , when it started to leak and it was loosing the pressure . Second one even worse, after about 10 uses won't lift the car .You'll have to pump every minute to keep the car up .
Pros:
It's a well built jack(I use this on a ML320 which is a heavy SUV), not the best one but it's worth the price...in a way.
Cons:
Dies after 15-30 uses.
"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works great

Date:March 31, 2012
" Lifts my 98 Jeep Grand Cherokee without any problems - the locking mechanism is simple to operate and is a great added feature. Take a moment to familiarize yourself with the mechanism prior to your first use else you might be as the other user who had no clue how to unlock the mechanism (raise the jack until you can press down on the lever, then release the jack --- very simple).
Strange that some users commented about warping; my jeep is a good weight and the jack handled the lift without any issues.
If there are any future problems I will report, but right now I am very satisfied. "
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON

Disposable Jack

Date:March 18, 2012
" I bought this on sale knowing it wouldn't last long as it's motomaster predecessor lasted only 3 years of very occasional home use.
This one is even poorer quality. I question the 2.5ton rating as it strains and warps under the weight of my MINI.
I suspect the hydraulic seals have deteriorated because after less than two years (6 oil changes, 6 tire changes, and a brake job) it will no longer lift the car.
This is a great jack if you can get it for $20 and you have a small car you only need to lift once.
Otherwise stay away from this jack
"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brossard, QC

Good purchase

Date:November 24, 2011
" Easy to use and safe. The hard metal lock provide a safe option in case the hydralic valve goes wrong. Easily gets my SUV up. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto Ontario

Can't lower it down!!!

Date:October 15, 2011
" I'm having some issues here!!! I can't lower the jack. It says to turn the handle counter clockwise!! I did repeatedly without success. I had to use a bottle jack to take that jack off underneath my car. The jack is on my workbench and still trying to figure out how the lowering system works. I used the valve but it locks when it get to a certain position!!! "
-30points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little jack

Date:December 14, 2010
" I was hesitant to purchase this after reading all the negative comments but am now glad I did. This is a great little jack and easily handles my ford focus. It may be that some people did not use this jack correctly from the start by pumping air into the hydraulic cylinder and then did not know how to purge it. The instructions are sparse but are there and can be figured out fairly reasonably. The locking mechanism is simple to use and put in place to hold open while lowering the jack. All in all I call this little guy a winner. "
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Great purchase

Date:October 6, 2010
" I've had this jack for a couple years now and am very pleased with it.
Makes for changing tires and oil so much easier and quicker than the stock car jack. I even used this jack to get under my extended van, with the use of blocks of course, I never put 100% faith in a jack when under a vehicle.
My very first use of this jack was in the middle of winter when I had to lift a friends 2002 Cheroke at work when he got a flat.
Height is a little limited, but that is expected from a small jack like this. I'd glady buy another one if needed and do recommend this jack to friends and family. "
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Another bad review

Date:January 21, 2010
" Well I should of read these reviews first, this jack did not even last a day. Jacked my Mazda a few times and when I was ready to remove my axle stands, I found my self pumping and pumping to keep the jack up. The valve was tightened all the way and it was still giving, almost stranded my car on my stands. No good don't buy this product, front the extra cash to get a better one. Just bought the 3 ton speed jack buy Motor-master and already night and day in performance and way it is built. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fair 2.5 Ton

Date:January 14, 2010
" Had this for a while now and works fairly well for a smaller, portable and light jack. When it reaches the top portions it makes a few concerning noises, so I avoid pushing it to it's max "
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:ottawa, on

Design Flaws, Plus...Failure

Date:January 11, 2010
" This jack has worked for me for a few years. After a bit of learning, I got the hang of it. Here are the problems in my experience working with it:
1) It's been leaking oil upon raising. I have a Subaru Impreza. It's spewed so much, it barely lifts and almost left the car stuck on jack stands. It now goes back to the store
2) The jack and handle is so short and the throw so long to move it, it's difficult to raise the car from the differential (rear) / jack point (front). In the case of the rear you need to slide the jack under the car, find your way in there and jack it up slowly.
3) As the jack is so short, when releasing the jack, you have to disengage the safety lock by holding it, it will put you in harms way, unless you you use another long handle to hold it in while you use the supplied one to turn the release valve.
Overall, pretty junky. "
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

spend more

Date:January 7, 2010
" I bought this because I figured i just needed it for a tire change or two, but its too flimsy. I would suggest spending more on a better built jack, especially if you intend to be under the car while you are using it "
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for MotoMaster Locking Jack, 2.5-Ton
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Great gift

Date:December 29, 2009
" Received as gift. Will do the job for small lift jobs ie VW beetles...
I agree, not instructions whatsoever, good thing I had 15 minutes to look for the pressure relief valve...
"
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2