Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Michelin HydroEdge

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Michelin HydroEdge

Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Michelin HydroEdge
Review 1 for Michelin HydroEdge
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

You get what you pay for

Date:November 20, 2012
" I bought the HydroEdge for my 2000 Taurus over 7 years and 100,000 km ago and I am now just about to replace them. They are actually still in good shape but starting to get some minor cracking in the sidewalls. They were not the cheapest, and still aren't, but I will be getting them again. They are excellent in wet conditions and I have been very satisified with the handling in snow despite some other comments to the contrary. Spreading the cost over 7 years, they are great value and I couldn't ask for a much better ride and performance. "
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Michelin HydroEdge
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best bang for your buck

Date:November 7, 2012
" Amazing treadwear: 800 UTQG (Uniform Tire Quality Grading - Rating out of 1000, the higher the number the longer the tire will last) That is the MAGIC number when comparing tires.
This tire usually goes on sale for $112, and get the mail in rebate for $70. I put just over 100,000 kms on a set and recently purchased another set.
"
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Michelin HydroEdge
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, On

Great tire but.....

Date:March 22, 2012
" I've had all season tires all the time I've been driving (35 years) with no problem....until I bought these tires. They are HORRIBLE in ice and snow. Little or no cross treads so little or no traction and terrible stopping. Having said all that - they are great otherwise. I pull a 3500 lb travel trailer with these tires with no problem and I'm now going to buy another set of these as the last set have been worn down. So buy these but if you live anywhere where it snows (most of Canada) plan to get yourself some snow tires. "
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Michelin HydroEdge
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Great rain tire at expense of some noise

Date:March 8, 2012
" We always buy Michelin tires.
Execellent performance, unchanged in wet.
Wet performance is improved over Michelin Harmony (another great tire!) at expense of some road noise. "
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Michelin HydroEdge
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing tire!

Date:December 25, 2011
" I purchased a set of these tire in 2005 with 72,000 on the clock. My car now has 275,000 and its time for some new shoes! Now minus the 2 past season on winters, we'll call that 20,000k, thats 183,000kms on a set of tires. I rotated these about every 15-20000kms, and to echo another review, these stick like glue to the road! I live in the lower mainland, I know rain, these are the best. And if you are a commuter, these will save you money down the road as well with the amazing tread life. They are very good for performance for being so geared for wet traction. I have come through the ess corner just before Chilliwack at a buck forty and have felt nothing but confidence. I cant say anything bad about these tires, in fact I recommend them completely! "
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Michelin HydroEdge
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St-Jérôme, Qc

Best tires in many years

Date:October 2, 2011
" I purchased a set of 4 Hydroedge Michelin tires in Spring of 2011. I am totally satisfied with these tires. Very good traction on dry and wet pavements. I found though a bit of aquaplanning in very heavy downpours. Otherwise, no problem whatsoever and lots of confidence when driving my 2066 Solara. "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Michelin HydroEdge
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alberta

Great 3-season Tire

Date:April 19, 2011
" I have a set of these on my Camry (bought them after driving a friend's Volvo equipped with them on the German Autobahn a couple of years previously). Drove through torrential downpour in Michigan and Ontario last year (mid-September) and they stuck to the road like glue..no hydroplaning at all.
They are not recommended for winter use in Canada though...the rubber tends to get stiff when temperatures go below freezing and lose grip; I switch over to a set of Michelin X-Ice II for winter use. Fantastic combination with great life when used appropriately. "
+56points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Michelin HydroEdge
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best All Season Tire Ever

Date:January 16, 2011
" I just went to Pittsburgh and Came back to Canada in two Snow Storms. This is the best All season tire I ever had in past 10 years. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Michelin HydroEdge
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

over all best winter performance

Date:August 17, 2010
" these tires are great for all season driving but when i used them during the winter i never put my old winter ones back on
these are the best for winter driving
my friend bought these for himself and he loves them as well "
-88points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Michelin HydroEdge
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great!!!!

Date:June 29, 2010
" best summer/fall/spring tire I have ever used, but definitely scary for winter use. highly recommend winter tires anyway; they save and limb and money in the long run. "
+35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Michelin HydroEdge
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High quality tires

Date:December 29, 2009
" I love them. The best I ever bought. They are very good in all summer conditions. "
+23points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Michelin HydroEdge
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia

Never regret these tires

Date:September 21, 2008
" I bought these to replace 4 all season tires which were beginning to show signs of too much wear. I live in an area where when it rains the roads become very tricky to drive without hydro planing. We also get lots of slush. I have had no problems with them on either the highway or local streets. I feel very safe and in control of the steering especially with my family in the car. I have put a few thousand Kms on them now across 4 different provinces and I am extremely happy with them. I have driven them on dirt, concrete and asphalt in a wide variety of weather. I am very happy with the low road noise from all surfaces and they handle very well. I have no regrets in opting for this brand of tire and have recommended it to several friends. "
+101points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Michelin HydroEdge
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:GTA

Hydro-plaining is history

Date:June 3, 2008
" Great set of these in 195-65R14 on a '01 Toyota Corolla. Worked great for 25,000 km on that vehicle. Now running on a '92 Corolla and have been running steady for last 50,000. Excellent all-year tire for light winter use. Great cornering and stopping in wet weather. Dry performance is also top notch thanks to the aggressive tread pattern and side wall reinforcement. Tire looks almost square and offers a bigger then usual contact patch with the road. Wear is far better then expected for a wet-weather friendsly all-season tire. "
+41points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Michelin HydroEdge
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oshawa, ON

Amazing

Date:April 11, 2008
" These tires were a replacement for Yokohama tires that came with my car. Even though the Yokohama were really good on dry pavement, they were not so good on wet and awful in winter. When it came time to replace the tires, Yokohama did not have any models in stock, everything was on backorder so I went with Hydroedge as alternative, and I've never been happier. They perform really good on all surfaces and feel really safe. From what I can tell after 40k, they will also last a lot longer too. "
+37points
Was this review helpful to you?