Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop All Season or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Michelin Defender

Michelin Defender

Green X provides 17% improved rolling resistance over HydroEdgeUnique 3D sipes, with an assymetric, modern non-directional design. Silica-based tread compound
Average Customer Rating:
4.698 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
92 of 96(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Michelin Defender
Review 1 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaver Bank, NS, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Totally awesome tires

Date:July 24, 2014
"My last set of tires lasted me about 11 months. I went with a cheap Federal tire to save some money. Wrong move. I've had Defenders on my car for about 18 months now and they are barely worn. Easily the best tires I have ever had."
-5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Impressed with the Ride and Ability to shed Water

Date:March 31, 2014
"Bought a set of 4 new Defenders for my Honda Accord at Bedford CTC in early March. Was optimistic winter was over. I drive between Halifax city and the airport alot. Water collects in the asphalt depressions in the heavily traveled lanes in wet weather. At 100km/h there was no trace of hydroplaning with these tires. We had one snowstorm in mid March that I drove where 8 inch drifts built up across the hiway. At 70-80 km/h the car punched through the drifts on those tires with no loss of control. On dry pavement the ride is very smooth and quiet. The tires are rated for 140,000km. Am looking forward to continued solid performance."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent tire for the $.

Date:March 12, 2014
"I waited 6 months to comment on these tires as I wanted to evaluate how they would be on our 2007 FWD only Honda CR-V in winter conditions around Hamilton ON. Surprisingly good grip with careful, responsible winter driving. We didn't really want to get into buying dedicated winter tires and related storage, change overs 2x a year etc. so the Defender has been a great choice for the urban/ suburban conditions in our area. $70 rebate took about 6 weeks to process.
Smooth and quiet on dry pavement up to 130 km (oops!) and no wet weather concerns in city or on highway.. Excellent install by Burlington, ON. CTC store on Fairview.
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Michelin performance outstanding

Date:November 4, 2013
"I purchased these tires in early Oct 2013. I have driven on dry roads, tough corners, wet roads, and now light snow and wet snow. I am very impressed with these tires so far. I have not driven in very cold weather yet. But as promised so far, they are quieter, I get better fuel economy, I am very satisfied with the smooth ride and the handling ability of these tires.
I drive a 2006 rear wheel drive Chrysler 300.
"
-12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily

Purchased in 2007

Date:October 25, 2013
"Awesome and amazing tire. I purchased a set of 4 back in 2007 and have put 120,000 km on them with out any regrets. With winter approaching around the corner I am ready to purchase another 4 and drive with confidence. There still is adequate tread left for normal spring/summer/fall driving (could easily put another 20k -30k km on them), but not enough to handle Southern Ontario's unpredictable winters."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, Ontario
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Great Tire for my X-trail!

Date:September 8, 2013
"Just put the Defender on my Nissan X-trail, Very smooth acceleration, great tires!, I will buy it again."
-7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great tire

Date:August 13, 2013
"I commented on April 16 already, when I stated how performance was great after 1000 km. Now, after driving the new tires for 10'000 km, I can comment on tread wear and fuel economy: I don't see much of wear at all. the fuel efficiency improved for me by a bit. I drive them at a pressure of about 35-40 psi.
I would buy them again!
"
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fredericton
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Ride

Date:August 12, 2013
"I just put these on my Suzuki XL-7 and I am amazed at the nice, smooth ride I am getting.
I have ran Michelin tires for 20 years and have found these tires the best so far.
I cannot say how they are in snow but I doubt they will be suitable. I usually put on snow tires for the added safety level.
Overall I like these tires so far and would recommend them.
"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sidewall split

Date:July 22, 2013
"We had these on an empty Focus Wagon for 6 weeks when on a hot day the rear passenger tire sidewall blew. Canadian Tire replaced it under warranty and a nominal charge for mount and balance. The tires themselves have very smooth rolling, have improved our fuel economy, and were well priced when on sale. They seem like a good tire but the sidewall split makes me hesitant to recommend them to a friend."
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Tire

Date:July 5, 2013
"I just purchase these. My gosh what a comfortable quiet ride. Best tire on my car yet."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Prince Albert, Sk

amazing warrantee

Date:June 5, 2013
"I had purchased these tires a few years ago and had a problem with my front drivers tire alway losing air. Canadian tire not only replace this tire but the passenger side as well so they would wear at the same rate. Amazing service!"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Three hills, Alberta

Great tires!

Date:May 23, 2013
"Just installed the defenders on my jetta. Much quieter ride, WAY smoother ride, even improved my fuel milage. Rated 145,000kms just a great tire!"
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:London Ontario

Second time buy for Michelin

Date:May 22, 2013
"Just got the Michelin Defender tires. Tucson handles well on dry pavement. Tracks in a straight line. Tires are much quieter than the General Evertrek RT tires that they replaced. Put 80,000 kms on the Generals so they were well worn. Maybe that's why the Michelins seem to track better.
Gas mileage was 22 mpg with the old tires but am getting 25 mpg with the Michelins.
Drove in the rain the other day and braking was fine but I haven't had a reason for a panic stop yet.
"
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB

Great Tire

Date:April 16, 2013
"I drive my new defender tires for about 1000 km. I cannot comment on fuel efficiency or tread wear yet. I was impressed how well they handled the snow during the last spring storm here in Alberta. The defenders provided excellent traction in the 20 cm of fresh snow. Also the defenders perform excellent on wet roads, muddy roads, unpaved and dry roads. On highways the ride is quiet and comfortable. A great tire."
+41points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa

Great Tires

Date:April 3, 2013
"We just returned from a round trip to Florida. These are replacement for the OEM Bridgestone Duelers, and are far superior in every way, except, maybe fuel economy.
We experienced, ice, snow, rain, 80 mph highway speeds, twisty mountain roads and more and in all cases the tires felt secure, and ran very smoothly and quietly.
Too early to really comment on durability.
I had a puncture en route due to rolling over a nail, but had it repaired at a local Michelin dealer in case warranty service was required, but it was successfully repaired.
I would recommend these to anyone driving a CUV."
+31points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fredericton, NB

Smooth ride

Date:April 2, 2013
"Just got these for my 2009 Civic Sport. Had the Good Year Eagle RS A on it before. These tires give a really smooth ride and they take the corners fairly well. Great on wet conditions also ! Definitely a step up and would recommend to anyone ! Plus, its Canadian Made !"
+24points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London

Best tires on road to-day.

Date:March 13, 2013
"I have driven on virtually dozs of different types of tires on many makes and models of vehciles for over 50 years now. These have the best roadfeel of anything i have ever driven on and seem almost invicible to any road surface I cross in any weather as well. Being Canadian made helps a lot as well to the quality of them."
+37points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

I like these tires a lot

Date:October 25, 2012
"I have yet to drive in snow with these tires but they are very smooth and quiet on the dry roads and handle well in the wet. Too early to assess tread wear, but so far they are great on my 2007 Equinox."
+38points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:burnaby, bc

Best rain tires

Date:October 18, 2012
"I am a tire tech over 15 years, michelin has the best rain tire. It is like night and day when wet, it stops on a dime. My oem tires were sliding all over the place during wet braking, the abs would kick in and feels like you are on black ice. But these michelin defender are wonderful in the rain. I like it so much that i bought a 2nd set for my wifes car too because she drive the kids most of the time and you just can't put a price on safety. Haven't try it in snow yet so i don't know what the snow traction is like."
+70points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent tires

Date:August 29, 2012
"I just had these installed on a Dodge Caravan sport
and they are smooth riding. They seem to fit the car to a T.
"
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2