Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Michelin Defender

Michelin Defender

Average Customer Rating:
4.631 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (111 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
104 of 111(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Michelin Defender
Review 1 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingston, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Tires

Date:July 17, 2015
" Glad I bought these tires. Way better than the goodyears I had on before. They are amazing during the winter on my rear wheel drive and the price is very competitive. Also happy I bought from CT as I did get a nail in the tire and it was repaired for free. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Country, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great all-seasons tire

Date:July 7, 2015
" Got these Michelin Defenders a little over a year ago and couldn't be happier with them. They got me through a snowy winter with no problems at all and are equally as good in rain conditions. No hesitations in recommending these. "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

hard tire

Date:June 8, 2015
" I have this defender almost 30 days on my 2007 Honda Crv , i dont like them . they are very hard and I feel any single bump or pot on the road.i wish I can return them. "
-6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:North York, Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good but not as good as the Energy LX4

Date:November 20, 2014
" the tire is very good at everything except for the gas mileage as compared to my original Micheline Energy LX4 that came with my 2007 Honda Odessey EX-L. "
-35points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Qualityseeker

Date:October 30, 2014
" I find these tires give me a smoother ride and more control. "
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:sherbrooke
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very good tire

Date:October 22, 2014
" Very smooth on the road and very good grip, I used it on my kia sportage , have also good fuel economy. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good tires!

Date:October 16, 2014
" It's been a year since I had these installed and I have had no issues!
Good traction and grip.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dartmouth, NS, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Seasonal
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Michelin Defender

Date:October 7, 2014
" best tires i have ever bought good traction in the snow and on ice "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Good tire, not great installation

Date:October 5, 2014
" It took me four trips to Canadian Tire to have my new tires (purchased and installed by Canadian Tire) properly balanced. Once they got that figured out, they are great tires. Just a lot of hassle to get them on... "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaver Bank, NS, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Totally awesome tires

Date:July 24, 2014
" My last set of tires lasted me about 11 months. I went with a cheap Federal tire to save some money. Wrong move. I've had Defenders on my car for about 18 months now and they are barely worn. Easily the best tires I have ever had. "
-8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Impressed with the Ride and Ability to shed Water

Date:March 31, 2014
" Bought a set of 4 new Defenders for my Honda Accord at Bedford CTC in early March. Was optimistic winter was over. I drive between Halifax city and the airport alot. Water collects in the asphalt depressions in the heavily traveled lanes in wet weather. At 100km/h there was no trace of hydroplaning with these tires. We had one snowstorm in mid March that I drove where 8 inch drifts built up across the hiway. At 70-80 km/h the car punched through the drifts on those tires with no loss of control. On dry pavement the ride is very smooth and quiet. The tires are rated for 140,000km. Am looking forward to continued solid performance. "
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent tire for the $.

Date:March 12, 2014
" I waited 6 months to comment on these tires as I wanted to evaluate how they would be on our 2007 FWD only Honda CR-V in winter conditions around Hamilton ON. Surprisingly good grip with careful, responsible winter driving. We didn't really want to get into buying dedicated winter tires and related storage, change overs 2x a year etc. so the Defender has been a great choice for the urban/ suburban conditions in our area. $70 rebate took about 6 weeks to process.
Smooth and quiet on dry pavement up to 130 km (oops!) and no wet weather concerns in city or on highway.. Excellent install by Burlington, ON. CTC store on Fairview.
"
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Michelin performance outstanding

Date:November 4, 2013
" I purchased these tires in early Oct 2013. I have driven on dry roads, tough corners, wet roads, and now light snow and wet snow. I am very impressed with these tires so far. I have not driven in very cold weather yet. But as promised so far, they are quieter, I get better fuel economy, I am very satisfied with the smooth ride and the handling ability of these tires.
I drive a 2006 rear wheel drive Chrysler 300.
"
-25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hamilton, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily

Purchased in 2007

Date:October 25, 2013
" Awesome and amazing tire. I purchased a set of 4 back in 2007 and have put 120,000 km on them with out any regrets. With winter approaching around the corner I am ready to purchase another 4 and drive with confidence. There still is adequate tread left for normal spring/summer/fall driving (could easily put another 20k -30k km on them), but not enough to handle Southern Ontario's unpredictable winters. "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, Ontario
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Great Tire for my X-trail!

Date:September 8, 2013
" Just put the Defender on my Nissan X-trail, Very smooth acceleration, great tires!, I will buy it again. "
-8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great tire

Date:August 13, 2013
" I commented on April 16 already, when I stated how performance was great after 1000 km. Now, after driving the new tires for 10'000 km, I can comment on tread wear and fuel economy: I don't see much of wear at all. the fuel efficiency improved for me by a bit. I drive them at a pressure of about 35-40 psi.
I would buy them again!
"
+27points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fredericton
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Ride

Date:August 12, 2013
" I just put these on my Suzuki XL-7 and I am amazed at the nice, smooth ride I am getting.
I have ran Michelin tires for 20 years and have found these tires the best so far.
I cannot say how they are in snow but I doubt they will be suitable. I usually put on snow tires for the added safety level.
Overall I like these tires so far and would recommend them.
"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sidewall split

Date:July 22, 2013
" We had these on an empty Focus Wagon for 6 weeks when on a hot day the rear passenger tire sidewall blew. Canadian Tire replaced it under warranty and a nominal charge for mount and balance. The tires themselves have very smooth rolling, have improved our fuel economy, and were well priced when on sale. They seem like a good tire but the sidewall split makes me hesitant to recommend them to a friend. "
+19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Tire

Date:July 5, 2013
" I just purchase these. My gosh what a comfortable quiet ride. Best tire on my car yet. "
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Michelin Defender
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Prince Albert, Sk

amazing warrantee

Date:June 5, 2013
" I had purchased these tires a few years ago and had a problem with my front drivers tire alway losing air. Canadian tire not only replace this tire but the passenger side as well so they would wear at the same rate. Amazing service! "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2