Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for General Tire Evertrek HP

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

General Tire Evertrek HP

Average Customer Rating:
3.809 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
1
14 of 21(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for General Tire Evertrek HP
Review 1 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:etobicoke

Great tire

Date:February 8, 2013
"Nice and quiet on the road. Just drove in blizzard and the tires started, stopped and handled very well in the snow. Highly recommended."
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Niagara Falls, On

Horrible lasting tire

Date:October 10, 2012
"Previous set lasted 57000 km. Replacement set lasted 37000km. Yes both sets were rotated at a CTC dealer where I bought them."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Nova Scotia

they don't last

Date:September 9, 2012
"good tire for rain and dry driven.
But they don't last long,
under normal driven.
"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Southern Alberta

Worst Purchase Ever

Date:August 26, 2012
"I put these tires on my wife's 2008 Focus. The road noise was a little louder than expected, my vary with your vehicle.
The biggest disappointment with these tires was the tread wear , she only got just under 45,000 km, highly unacceptable for a tire that is on a vehicle that is used for highway driving and is rarely winter driven (couldn't get out of my driveway when I tried to use it after 2 inches of snow fall - poor to no traction).
I wouldn't recommend these tires to anyone. In my opinion this is a buyer beware purchase.
"
+18points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Grand Prairie, AB

Great tire for the price

Date:August 25, 2012
"This tire replaced the pirelli's i had on there and I must say bang for the buck,, the better tire. It does everything you want it to do, especially in the rain where it sticks to the road.
I would buy this tire again"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON

Very Poor Tire

Date:June 24, 2012
"I am 60 yrs old and have purchased many aftermarket tires in my lifetime. These General Evertrek HP's are probably the poorest tires I've ever owned. In particular, I only got 27,000 kms (18 months) out of these tires until I got to the 3/32" mark. The tire wear bars were easily visible at this point as well as the tire stamp in the middle tread of the tire face which said to replace the tires. In fairness, I never rotated them off the front of my 2000 Camry, but some people put that much mileage on them in a year and wouldn't have rotated them. I am not hard on tires as a driver - if anything, I start / stop too slowly for most people. I treated these tires no different than the many others I've owned over the years. They did not last very long nor were they very good in winter or snowy conditions (most all-seasons aren't very good in winter conditions, but these ones were poorer than any others I've owned and I only buy all-seasons). Its also possible that one of the tires was out-of-round (although they both wore out equally fast with no uneven signs of tread wear). The out-of-round feeling came during slow (idling) speeds when the front end wobbled slightly sometimes. I would discourage others from buying these tires - get the Motomaster SE 1 if you can."
+22points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Liverpool, NS

excellent all round tire

Date:May 3, 2012
"I purchased these tires on my Mazda 3 and so far I clocked 60.000 km with them and I still have tread left.
Nice even wear. Excellent handling. Not too bad in snow. Hopeless on ice as most "all-season" tires.
Starts to pull sideways at 90-95 km per hour in standing water on the road with almost immediate traction when taking foot off accelerator.
Yes there are quieter tires available out there. Wagon or hatchback owners for that reason may choose another tire because the noise will resonate into the cabin more so.
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Clinton, ON

Poor All Season Tire

Date:April 20, 2012
"These tires had absolutely no traction on snow or ice. We had to buy snow tires for even light snow conditions."
-6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmundston NB

Good Buy ForToyota Camry 2004

Date:April 15, 2012
"good buyDate: April 8,2012
Vehicle:toyota Camy 2004
"I Bought 4 to replace the Good Year Integra. Wow !! talk about a difference ! the General Evertrek HP are realy less noisy than the Good Year and handle better in the rain. Bought them on sale at $101.95 a tire. I will not be using them in the snow will only be use from spring to fall. So I want be able to comment on how they handle in winter condition.
Great Buy !!
"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good buy

Date:March 31, 2012
"I bought 4 of these in april 2008, I change over to winter tires every year so these are used from spring to, well the first forecast of snow. I am installing them on my car for the 5th season now and they still have decent tread left. will probably be the last year for them but I put alot of miles on them. definitly worth the money. PS I got them on sale ( buy 1 get 1 half price ) they are a little noisy, but tolerable."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent tires for the price

Date:March 30, 2012
"Got these last summer (2011) to replace Goodyear Assurance Tripletreds in a 2003 VW Golf GL. Had them for 9 months and they perform extremely well in wet and light snow conditions in Vancouver. Mind you, winters here aren't as cold as in the prairies, but we got hills and these tires grip very well going up, and most importantly they do stop downhill on lightly snow covered roads. I must warn you that these aren't winter tires but are far superior to regular all season tires in winter. Compared against the Tripletreds, these are a bit on the softer, mushy side when cornering; but grip and traction are about the same. Though I have read a lot about noise issues, I can't really tell the difference between these and the Tripletreds. I do not notice greater gas consumption against the Tripletreds even though these tires are a bit softer at the same PSI."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto

Very Good except....

Date:November 26, 2011
"I agree with one other post here . .excelent ride, cornering, hydropaning resistance.. BUT..very noisy after about 6k. So much so that I thought I had a bad wheel bearing. Ok if your mostly in-town but on the highway lots of noise on my cheap Mazda 626 - on a quiet Lexus or Infinity probably no problem."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Whitby, ON

Reasonably priced but very much on the noisy side.

Date:September 18, 2011
"Newly installed we took these from Whitby to Sydney N.S.. and back. Performed very well in the rain. Plenty of control even in heavily rutted roads with pools of standing water. Very stable under wet and dry cornering. Major drawback. The low frequency drone sets in at low speed and increases in volume with speed. Not tolerable at highway velocity. Hoping that with tire wear this will be less of an issue. I used other reviews when selecting these tires. I'm disappointed that the noise these tires produce was not mentioned. Nothing to mention regarding performance in snow. Gas savings is they exist are negligible."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, ON

Excellent Tires!

Date:May 31, 2011
"Bought these tires to replace the Pirelli tires on my Ford Focus ZX5...have had to replace those old tires twice in the last 7 years so this is my 3rd set of tires...these tires are excellent! I felt and noticed the difference right away! Best buy ever - great tire and awesome price - HALF THE PRICE of the Pirelli :)
Only got them about a month ago, so I am hoping that they continue to perform in such a great way - will definitely buy them again!"
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pleasantly surprised...

Date:October 30, 2010
"I bought these to replace the run-flat tires that came on my MINI Cooper. They ride so much more smoothly and quietly that it's hard to describe. Handling in wet & dry is excellent. Traction in the snow is not an issue for me as I have winter ice & snow tires for that. I have had them for about 7 months and about 10000 Km and they do not seem to have worn much - time will tell about that but all is good so far.
Great replacement tire - only good things to say. They were on sale, too - very reasonable and MUCH cheaper than the original equipment run-flats."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON

Good so far

Date:January 31, 2009
"I purchased these on sale, but that was not the only determining factor. I needed to replace the worn out BF Goodrich tires on my 01 Grand Am and the reviews I read indicated these to be a good buy. I purchased in late November 08 and not long after the snow here in southern Ontario started! It is now Jan 31/09 and have about 3000km on them and I am happy with the performance in both light and mid levels of snow and the ice and cold weather performance is satisfactory for an all season - but keep in mind that they are NOT up to the performance that a good winter tire will achieve. I would recommend and repurchase these."
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

Exceeded expectations

Date:January 26, 2009
"I had my doubts, but I would have to agree with other reviews: The tire is pretty good. I was expecting to buy Michelin or some decent GoodYears, but the General Tire Evertrek HP is what I tried. Winter 2008/09 has been brutal so far and the traction is pretty good for an all-season. Control and cornering feels confident and the tires are incredibly quiet. Hydroplane management is up to the task with very low steering pull. I am so far quite happy with the purchase."
+26points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid purchase!

Date:October 26, 2008
"After reviewing a few models of tires from varoius manufactures, I made a great choice. These are my second replacement tire on a 2000 Hyundai Elantra and I have never had General Tires on any of my vehicles thus far but read good things about them. I got them on sale to boot. Time will tell on how durable they are going to be heading into fall/winter but so far they provide a quiet and cofortable ride with good performance."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Tire

Date:September 21, 2008
"Bought a set to replace a much more expensive set of tires. These tires give the best ride I have ever had. Quiet and very smooth..."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for General Tire Evertrek HP
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ontario

Great Product

Date:May 23, 2008
"I purchased these tires mainly because of the free alignment bonus with them. The tires were also a great deal and I have found them to be a great prouct. They have been great in rain and the wear strip is a nice feature. I would recommend these general evertrek tires to anyone who needs tires and wants a good product for a reasonable price!"
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2