Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Hankook Optimo 4S

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Hankook Optimo 4S

Average Customer Rating:
3.836 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
8
49 of 67(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hankook Optimo 4S
Review 1 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg

Extremely noisy

Date:April 14, 2014
"This is my first review ever on tires but since I don't want any others to experience what I did I took the time to write. The traction is fair for Winnipeg winters but they are very very noisy. It is a loud howling sound. I drive a Toyota Prius which is supposed to be a quite car, not anymore. Now I am stuck with these and hopefully I get some miles out of them before I scrap them. Next time I buy a tire I will look at the tread first - coarse tread equals noise. On the other hand my Noks I bought for the van at the same time are awesome, better traction and quite."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Exactly what I was looking for

Date:February 26, 2014
"I purchased a set of 4 of these back in November. I have been driving on them for 4 months now through the worst winter Winnipeg has had in a long time. All I can say is wow. They handle very well, have good grip on the road and are excellent in the snow. Things to remember about tires like these. First, make sure you have a good wheel alignment, otherwise they will wear. Mine show no real wear after 4 months. Keep proper tire pressure. Being under or over will increase wear greatly. Drive properly. No gunning it or slamming on the breaks. I have had all season, winter tires and now these. I like these the best. I have them on my van and will soon put them on my car."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Scarborough, Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Impressive

Date:February 6, 2014
"Purchased a full set in late Nov.2013. The first thing that struck me was how smooth & quiet the tire is. The tire feels like a premium all-season tire, they absorb & cushion bumps & all types of road impacts very well. With so many bad roads in Toronto you need a tire that can absorb road impacts well. I was very surprised at the high level of grip on ice. There has been a lot of ice in Toronto this winter & the tire somehow grips with almost no slippage on ice. General handling is quite good, feels responsive with sporty driving. Very good grip in the wet & dry. The only weakness I've found so far is the tire seams to have some trouble cutting through thick greasy slush; there is some slippage but they still provide enough grip & control in this road condition. Maybe this is because the tire cannot clean itself quickly enough of greasy slush."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

A noticeable improvement on my older tires

Date:February 4, 2014
"After having read the 2 completely opposing reviews on this tire, I did more research, spoke to more people, and decided to give them a try since they seem very well suited to my 2001 Volvo XC wagon. They are more 'beefy' than my older Pirelli Scorpions, which I quite like aesthetically since my wagon is a bit of a work horse, but the moment I drove away I felt like the car was brand new, ie, a good combination of a very smooth ride with a solid footing. I will give them some time and report again after I return from a fairly long road trip that includes rainforest, a snowy mountain pass and desert conditions."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Blind Bay, BC V0E, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Not a good tire

Date:January 25, 2014
"They were great in the beginning after a few months they started to leak air.They would fix one ,another would start to leak so on and so on it got to the point every month had to fix a tire.It turned out to be the bead of the tire would not seal by the time they figured the problem out the tires were worn out with only 40,000 km ! DON'T BUY THESE TIRES They did swap out the tires for me and gave me a set of Goodyears !"
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

All weather great name

Date:January 24, 2014
"I've had these tires on 2 years now and about 15000 km on them. They still look like new, very good in the snow, quiet, smith and soft riding. They are better than any all season that I have used. For our climate they are sweet. I made the mistake of buying defender tires for my wife's car after hearing all the hype about them and now regret that desision. They are horrible, taking them off and replacing them with optimo s. So in a word, yes I will buy them again."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Nice tire

Date:January 24, 2014
"I have had these two winters now and have never had a problem getting around. In the summer they are quiet and smooth running. Winter traction Is very good,way better than any all season that I have run. It was a between these and a extra set of snows, buying the Opitmo was the best decision I made. Made a mistake buying Michelin defenders for my wife after reading all the reviews, what a mistake, loud, rough riding and no grip in snow. They are coming off a new set of Opitmo's are going on. I have only 15000 km on them but they still look new. Ps I rotate them every 8k."
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes

Amazing all-weather

Date:January 9, 2014
"Bought a full set of these for my Versa hatchback in the fall and they've been great through the crazy winter we've had this year in Toronto. Excellent handling in snow and slippery conditions. Probably still not a substitute for a proper winter tire if you're outside of the city, but for mostly city driving I'm very satisfied with them. Haven't noticed any noise issues. Have had excellent fuel economy with these too."
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Improvement Over All Season

Date:January 3, 2014
"Put dedicated winters on my wife'scar this year. Did not want to invest in a second set of rims for mine, as we will be selling soon. Still needed tires prior to snowfall. Went with Optimo 4S on sale. They are not quite as good as my wife's winters on snow and ice, but pretty close. WAY better than all seasons on snow and ice, and better than all seasons on wet or dry. I'd buy them again."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Best Tire

Date:December 17, 2013
"I purchased this tire recently due to excessive wear of my previous Michelin tires. My all season Michelin had great mileages on them, but its traction on snow, ice, and rain was just too poor. After installing this tire on my four wheels, I can feel the grip this product is offering. It has amazing traction on snow and ice, although it is not good as snow tire, but it is incomparable to any of four season tires I had.
I strongly recommend this product.
PS. I do not hear any road noise from this product, maybe who ever that is hearing road noise had defected set of tires.
"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Port Perry, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

poor tires

Date:November 29, 2013
"After reading reviews I purchased Hankook Optimo 4s tires . After the first snowfall traction not bad but stopping on packed snow car slid with ABS going but not stopping . I tried on other packed snow and same thing happened .I will be installing full snow tires next week .I would not recommend these tires."
-6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

I think they are average!

Date:November 19, 2013
"I don't have much experience with winter tires as this were my first set. I bought them for a Mazda3. Didn't feel they had a strong grip. I felt the car drifted a few times (nothing major).
The advantage is their noise reduction and can be used during all seasons!
"
-6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pig in Mud

Date:October 23, 2013
"These babies are smooth like butter on those nice summer roads. And stick to the road in winter like a bug on a windshield! I'm happier than a pig in mud with these beauts!"
+28points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, Ont.
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Best all-round tire I have ever bought.

Date:August 7, 2013
"I bought these tires over 8 months ago and they are just what I needed. In the winter, they were significantly better than the all seasons I had used before. Wet and dry performance is equal to any tire I have owned. They are a true all-season tire so they are not perfect in any one situation but are at least very good. The only thing I would say against them is that they are a little noisy on dry pavement but not enough to be a problem. I would recommend this tire to anyone. I am going to get them for my second car."
+43points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton,AB

A little better than typical all season

Date:May 30, 2013
"I only have about 12000km on this set but they show no sign of wear. However, on a four season tire I expect a little shorter life as it is a little softer to perform in winter conditions. Generally performs well in all weather, very resistant to hydro planing. I usually use the Nokian WR g2 suv's cause I need an agressive tread in summer as well for minor offroad, but thought I would give these a try. They are a lot cheaper. In the end I think the Nokian are a touch better however not enough to make up for the significant price difference."
+49points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:kamloops bc

excellent bc approved tire

Date:May 29, 2013
"an excellent allweather icbc approved tire.good allround tire.the best so far."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a decent all=-season tire

Date:May 27, 2013
"A decent all-season tire, just don't assume it will give "winter tire" traction in the cold months!"
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great for the first winter - but wear out quickly

Date:May 24, 2013
"Purchased a set of these in October 2011 and was very impressed with their performance over the winter months.
Winter of 2012/13 - we were slipping and sliding all over the place... and with under 35,000 kms on them, the tread is worn right out. Considering that comparably priced tires have a mileage rating of 100,000+ kms - this is just unacceptable... and apparently why there is no mileage rating for them!!
Worst tires we've ever purchased"
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Hamilton,on

Terrible road noise

Date:May 23, 2013
"I have put about 8000k on these tires and at first I was really happy with them. They were noisy in the wet but not too bad, they worked well in the snow. However as the kilometers went on the tires became more and more noisy. Right now the noise is so bad I am considering buying other tires.
These were a really bad purchase"
-9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best tires I have ever bought

Date:May 22, 2013
"The Hankook Optimo 4S tires are the best tires I have ever bought, and I have bought a set for each vehicle I have purchased. I have complete control of my vehicle while driving in slick conditions as well as icy conditions with these tires and have not noticed any change in traction on dry roads as mentioned in other comments. These tires also serve as a great conversation piece because most people cannot believe that I bought such a durable tire from Canadian Tire..."
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4