Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Tires or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Hankook Optimo 4S

Hankook Optimo 4S

Average Customer Rating:
3.933 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
25
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
9
68 of 89(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hankook Optimo 4S
Review 1 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA SK
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Tire!!!

Date:January 29, 2015
" Have never posted review before but these rate a first. Bought these after reading other online reviews. Don't know mileage they will get but are a GREAT tire. First test - freezing rain to start the early winter off - passed a vehicle stalled on glare ice GOING UPHILL - since then we have had 2 snow falls of 6 inches overnight and in both cases the tires performed without missing a beat or any loss of traction plus increased braking performance. Bought on recommendation of local CT store Auto Manager who put them on his wife's car. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

So far I'm impressed!

Date:January 10, 2015
" I only bought these today, but what a difference it made on my drive home.
With the winter we've had, I was sliding all over the roads to get to the garage. But on my way home, there was so much traction that I was tempted to take a drive in the country just for enjoyment.
The best part is that I don't have to change them in the summer.
Also, it's nice to see this technology reasonably priced. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Yorkton, SK, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

No noticeable difference from an all season tire

Date:January 9, 2015
" Bought a set of 4 of these for my Kia Spectra about 7000 kms ago, Oct. of 2014. Nice ride compared to the Nokian's that were on the car when I bought it, and quieter too. I can honestly say that I've noticed absolutely no difference in snow or on ice from an All Season tire. I don't think I wasted money though, as the price was comparable to an All Season. Only concern I have is that they have no mileage rating on them. Guy at my local Canadian Tire told me I'd probably get 50 or 60 K out of them. Maybe next time I'll try an actually 'winter' tire. "
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingston, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Superior Ice and Wet Tire

Date:January 4, 2015
" Over 50,000 Km and still great!
These tires offer amazing wet and ice traction, even now almost worn out they still are a fantastic ice, slush and rain tire. I drive all over Ontario in the winter to deliver my son to hockey games, so have seen it all weather wise. I was going to replace them, but we had snow and ice in Nov/Dec and they are still keeping me straight on the road even at 100 KM/hr on rural ice covered back roads.
I drive a beat up 2004 Hyundai Elantra and so got these tires to run 12 months a year.
They are a soft tire, very soft sidewalls and that probably has a lot to do with their ability to grip.
Not bad in deep snow, even now they can handle 20 cm of snow without leaving you stuck or slipping. Granted they are not really a "snow" tire with deep lugs, but you will never know it and be surprised just how well they handle deep snow, especially during their first 30-40,000 Km.
If you want a great winter and year round tire, this is it.
The real benefit of this tire is it truly is a great 4 season tire. I don't really notice anything bad about them on dry pavement....but don't really care as their wet and ice performance is so great.
The soft sidewalls can make them look flat if you park the tire on an uneven surface, the tire really spreads and envelopes uneven terrain. I notice this softness can make the car a little bouncier as the tires get older.....this actually gives the car a much softer ride.
Being so soft they are better with Nitrogen rather than air, especially int he winter...the Nitrogen just helps keep them at a consistent pressure.
When I read the Canadian Tire test results, I was not surprised when these tires performed so well.
"
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great value

Date:January 3, 2015
" I put a set of these on my Mazda hatchback four years ago. I live in Vancouver and got them for the drive to Whistler and occasional snow in town.
They have worked great and I've always felt confident in the snow. They also handle well on the highway and don't hydroplane in puddles, so I am happy to run them year round.
As everyone points out the downsides are a noticeable hum compared with regular all-seasons, particularly from the rear in my hatchback, but they are far quieter than regular snow tires.
Also they wear quickly if you drive them hard year round. So far I have done +30K km. They are showing wear, but I have not measured them to say exactly home much more life they have.
Great compromise if you just want one set of tires but need to handle occasional snow. "
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Pretty Good Tires

Date:November 9, 2014
" A good tire overall. Maybe a little extra noise, but nothing too bad. Way better than the practically bald tires they replaced, just had a big snow storm and they handled almost perfectly the entire time. Good value for the money, plus you can use them all year long. "
-5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great wet/dry traction, but only for 50,000 km

Date:October 23, 2014
" I've had these tires on my car for 4 years and they've just ticked over the 50,000 km mark.
The Canadian Tire test video is very accurate - they give great dry and wet traction, even when extremely worn.
The DOWNSIDE is that they only last 50,000 km. Mine are down past 20% and extremely worn in a few places. They have also become very noisy and rolling resistance has increased. A local tire dealer told me that the tread is separating and they need to be replaced.
If you are only keeping a car for a short period of time and you need one tire for all year around then sure, get these. But I would argue it's more cost effective and you'll get better performance with dedicated summer and winter tires. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Safety on winter/icy condition. Best All-Weather!

Date:October 23, 2014
" Bought four tires last November 2013. These sets of tires had been my life saver. Drove in a freeway and about to merge into an exit and had this big truck passing by on a fast/accelerated speed and blew my van away off the the highway. Imagine the down-pour of that heavy snow, good thing I got the Optimo 4S, the traction and handling wasn't that bad to manage on a very cruel icy condition and prevented my van from falling in the ditch. Every since, I never stopped promoting this brand of tires. True to their testing and research. The only one approved by RAC to be driven with during snowy/icy conditions. Check it out and do your research. It didn't fail me and saved my life. "
-4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great year-round tire

Date:October 21, 2014
" We keep them on all year. Not noisy. Good grip in rain and snow. Will purchase again. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very good tire

Date:October 20, 2014
" We bought these for our Honda and they were very good. Looking to put them on the Saturn now. "
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo BC
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent

Date:October 14, 2014
" I bought these tires last year and they are amazing on my Corolla. I haven't seen much tread wear and they are great in both the rain snow and ice! "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Smooth and Quiet

Date:October 12, 2014
" Purchased a set of 4 before traveling 4,000 km last summer. The tires maintained a good grip on the road in dry and wet weather. A very smooth and quiet ride. Fuel economy was comparable with our previous set of tires. Looking forward to driving in the snow to see how well the tires work in the winter. Great price on the set of 4. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

very good tire

Date:October 5, 2014
" I bought 4 optimo 4 s 95000 km ago(2 winters) and I have to say that I am very happy .probably the fact that I drive 95% on hwy was the reason that they last so long .I will buy one more set for my Mitsubishi gallant but after I read so many bad reviews I do not know if I want to buy for my wife Tucson "
-9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Satisfied user

Date:October 1, 2014
" The tires are great, during snow weather the tires were clearly better performing than my summer tires on my second car. It now came the time were I will be replacing my summer tires with another set of optimo 4s "
+5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Tires Wore Too Quickly.

Date:September 26, 2014
" For a Northern Alberta winter: These tires became rock hard in temperatures below 15 degrees. Not good on ice, at all. Does not have treads deep enough to grip and move through unpacked snow. In summer the tires were fine, maybe slightly better than a regular all season in wet conditions. Reduced fuel mileage in summer with these tires. And the worst thing of all (but maybe at the same time the best thing) the tires did not wear very well at all. I got one winter and two summers driving out of them, and was not even a daily driver. They lasted 20,000 km's approximately. Now I'll have to spend money buying a better set of winter tires and a new set of summer tires in appropriate time. Do not believe that these tires will be good in winter conditions due to an all weather claim. You will end up further ahead by purchasing two sets of tires (winter and summer) because of getting more mileage out of them both. "
-19points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:East GTA
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

225/60/17 on a Buick Terraza Van

Date:September 18, 2014
" These are all weather tires so they are a compromise between winter and all season tires. Of course they won't perform as well in snow/ ice as a dedicated winter tire and the tread will wear down quicker then all season tires. They are the best alternative to having two sets of tires and doing a twice yearly switch over.
I think they are the best buy for the buck when you get them on sale. I researched the Nokia WGR3 (more expensive) and Nokia Nordman WR ((competitively priced but limited availability ) plus Nokia is only available at select tire shops which could be a problem if you encounter a road hazard that destroys a tire.
I have had these tires on my van now since January 12/12 (72,000 km) and will be replacing them before the snow flies with another set of Optimo 4S, As the tread is now getting low
They have performed well in snow, and adequately on ice ( never got stuck in the past two winters in the GTA) I have no complaints with handling on dry roads and do not find them noisey.
Would definitely recommend them to drivers that want one tire to run year round. Where your not plowing through a foot of snow all winter and if you don't mind sacrificing some mileage that you would get from an all season.
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

205/55/R16

Date:August 21, 2014
" London West Location
Excellent service,
Great Tires,
Good buy!
"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Penticton, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Good product and value

Date:July 14, 2014
" Not quite as good as a true winter tire, but a lot better than an all season for winter driving.
Slightly more road noise than a decent all season tire.
Treadlife didn't live up though. Rated at 64,000km, but I only got about 40,000km (vehicle doesn't have any alignment issues,tires were rotated regularly, etc.).
If you don't want to own two sets of tires and be switching them twice a year, and are willing to live with the few above mentioned concessions, then these tires are a good value.
I am planning to replace them with another set of the same. The only other alternative are Nokian WRG3's which are quite a bit more expensive.
"
+13points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent

Date:July 5, 2014
" I got 4 of these after the previous tires I had were Motomaster AW's.
The winter traction on my car(Nissan Sentra) was much improved with these tires compared to the AW's I had before. Only downside is they are noisy in the summer but the extra winter traction is worth it. "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

Prius1 correction

Date:May 26, 2014
" Ok, so I have to leave another review to counter the negative review I left a few months back. As it turns out the tires are not noisy after all but I had a bad wheel bearing! Now my care is quiter then ever and they handle superbly in all conditions. "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5