Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hankook Optimo 4S

Hankook Optimo 4S

Average Customer Rating:
3.949 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
27
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
9
75 of 98(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hankook Optimo 4S
Review 1 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greater Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily

More than a compromise

Date:January 30, 2016
" Just purchased a second set 3 years after installing the first set on a Honda. They work well in Vancouver's winter with all the rain. Tread wear seems faster than that of the OEM tires. But the added grip in rain and the occasional snow and slush makes it worthwhile. The second set went on a Prius. This winter, the Prius no long slips on every manhole cover or uphill starts. The tire noise is comparable to that from the low rolling resistance tires these replaced. The Optimos give a slightly more comfortable ride. It is too early to tell what impact these have on fuel consumption but I am quite satisfied with them overall so far. "
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. John's, NL, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily

Works great as a winter and summer tire.

Date:January 8, 2016
" I just purchased my second set of to go on a Toyota Corolla. The fact that I live on the East coast of Canada and purchased a second set after having them on another vehicle for two years says a lot. These are genuine alternatives to having a dedicated set of snow tires on your vehicle. I do live in a city but I have driven on these tires through some pretty bad snowstorms and to me they are the same as if I had dedicated snow tires on. I highly recommend them. It's such a relief not to bother with the twice annual tire swap. I can not comment on how long they will last since I'm only on my second season for my first set. "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Very Good Tire

Date:November 14, 2015
" Had these tires for 2 weeks on a 2001 Ford Focus. I live in the Fraser Valley and Drive to Vancouver daily. Haven't had any snow yet, but in the Rain have no hydroplaning at all. Very quiet tires, very stable when cornering. Car feels very confident driving now. Fuel mileage seems to have improved as well. Had a wheel alignment done right after install will see how well they wear. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gibsons, BC, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great tire

Date:October 13, 2015
" The tires that came on our brand new 2007 Pontiac Vibe from GM were touted as being amazing high performance tires that would last 60,000Km or more, but they didn't last 20,000Km. Never trust a salesman! Then we bought new all season tires, which lasted close to what they were rated for, about 40,000Km. However, since we make many trips to northern BC and even the Yukon and also south through mountain passes and even desert country, we wanted a tire, if there was such a one, that would run well and LAST in all conditions.
The Hankook Optimo 4S has done more than impress. The very first trip we took when they were brand new took us through standing water, compact snow, slush and a really nasty blizzard, and it drove like we had studs! These tires perform exceptionally well, and give us great gas mileage, too.
I see some complaints about treadwear, and maybe they wear quicker on a heavier vehicle, but we have over 60,000Km on ours. We are finally about to replace them, mainly because I had the misfortune of running over a couple of nails that were too close to the edge for conventional patching. Instead, I installed plugs, which have thrown the tires a bit out of balance. Also, they are worn enough that I am happy to replace them before this winter. We more than got our money's worth.
The ONLY downside to these tires is that they are much noisier than all season tires and transfer surface roughness to the vehicle. That is a small price to pay for the overall performance. I highly recommend this tire for a light car like ours.
"
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Duncan BC
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Hankook Optimo 4S

Date:August 7, 2015
" I bought my tires 3 1/2 years ago. I've put 40,000km on them with regular tire rotations. I was impressed with them. However, I just learned I have 5-10% left on the fronts and 30% on the rear. They recommend new tires. I have a fwd and don't drive like a maniac. I don't brake a lot as it is a manual transmission. Bottom line, these tires are a joke. Other companies have now come out with the same all year round tire concept which costs more than double what i paid for but they have a much harder rubber and will last longer. Never again will I deal with Canadian Tire. You get what you pay for! "
-29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maple Ridge, BC, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

all weather tire

Date:July 26, 2015
" really good all weather tires, has enough traction in rain and snow. although tires lasted me 60,000 kms only. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reliable tires.

Date:July 25, 2015
" I've had this brand on a previous vehicle and they are very good at half the price of the other more expensive brands. Good in all kinds of weather and driving conditions. "
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good tires but...

Date:July 24, 2015
" I purchased these tires approximately 2 years ago after conducting a fair amount of research into replacing my former All Season tires. To be able to have both winter and summer tires without changing tires twice yearly is remarkable.
These tires are superb in winter and summer driving.
However after 23,000 kilometers (13,800 miles) I have had to replace these tires as the tread is finished. "
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Awesome

Date:July 19, 2015
" My car was equipped with these tires as factory default. I now have 160,000 km on my car. I do switch to winter tires, so about 100,000km on my Hankook tires. Still ample tread left to last me until winter tires again in late October. Next spring will replace them, very satisfied after 4 years and over 100,000km. "
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA SK
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great Tire!!!

Date:January 29, 2015
" Have never posted review before but these rate a first. Bought these after reading other online reviews. Don't know mileage they will get but are a GREAT tire. First test - freezing rain to start the early winter off - passed a vehicle stalled on glare ice GOING UPHILL - since then we have had 2 snow falls of 6 inches overnight and in both cases the tires performed without missing a beat or any loss of traction plus increased braking performance. Bought on recommendation of local CT store Auto Manager who put them on his wife's car. "
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

So far I'm impressed!

Date:January 10, 2015
" I only bought these today, but what a difference it made on my drive home.
With the winter we've had, I was sliding all over the roads to get to the garage. But on my way home, there was so much traction that I was tempted to take a drive in the country just for enjoyment.
The best part is that I don't have to change them in the summer.
Also, it's nice to see this technology reasonably priced. "
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Yorkton, SK, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

No noticeable difference from an all season tire

Date:January 9, 2015
" Bought a set of 4 of these for my Kia Spectra about 7000 kms ago, Oct. of 2014. Nice ride compared to the Nokian's that were on the car when I bought it, and quieter too. I can honestly say that I've noticed absolutely no difference in snow or on ice from an All Season tire. I don't think I wasted money though, as the price was comparable to an All Season. Only concern I have is that they have no mileage rating on them. Guy at my local Canadian Tire told me I'd probably get 50 or 60 K out of them. Maybe next time I'll try an actually 'winter' tire. "
-6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kingston, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Superior Ice and Wet Tire

Date:January 4, 2015
" Over 50,000 Km and still great!
These tires offer amazing wet and ice traction, even now almost worn out they still are a fantastic ice, slush and rain tire. I drive all over Ontario in the winter to deliver my son to hockey games, so have seen it all weather wise. I was going to replace them, but we had snow and ice in Nov/Dec and they are still keeping me straight on the road even at 100 KM/hr on rural ice covered back roads.
I drive a beat up 2004 Hyundai Elantra and so got these tires to run 12 months a year.
They are a soft tire, very soft sidewalls and that probably has a lot to do with their ability to grip.
Not bad in deep snow, even now they can handle 20 cm of snow without leaving you stuck or slipping. Granted they are not really a "snow" tire with deep lugs, but you will never know it and be surprised just how well they handle deep snow, especially during their first 30-40,000 Km.
If you want a great winter and year round tire, this is it.
The real benefit of this tire is it truly is a great 4 season tire. I don't really notice anything bad about them on dry pavement....but don't really care as their wet and ice performance is so great.
The soft sidewalls can make them look flat if you park the tire on an uneven surface, the tire really spreads and envelopes uneven terrain. I notice this softness can make the car a little bouncier as the tires get older.....this actually gives the car a much softer ride.
Being so soft they are better with Nitrogen rather than air, especially int he winter...the Nitrogen just helps keep them at a consistent pressure.
When I read the Canadian Tire test results, I was not surprised when these tires performed so well.
"
+16points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great value

Date:January 3, 2015
" I put a set of these on my Mazda hatchback four years ago. I live in Vancouver and got them for the drive to Whistler and occasional snow in town.
They have worked great and I've always felt confident in the snow. They also handle well on the highway and don't hydroplane in puddles, so I am happy to run them year round.
As everyone points out the downsides are a noticeable hum compared with regular all-seasons, particularly from the rear in my hatchback, but they are far quieter than regular snow tires.
Also they wear quickly if you drive them hard year round. So far I have done +30K km. They are showing wear, but I have not measured them to say exactly home much more life they have.
Great compromise if you just want one set of tires but need to handle occasional snow. "
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Pretty Good Tires

Date:November 9, 2014
" A good tire overall. Maybe a little extra noise, but nothing too bad. Way better than the practically bald tires they replaced, just had a big snow storm and they handled almost perfectly the entire time. Good value for the money, plus you can use them all year long. "
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great wet/dry traction, but only for 50,000 km

Date:October 23, 2014
" I've had these tires on my car for 4 years and they've just ticked over the 50,000 km mark.
The Canadian Tire test video is very accurate - they give great dry and wet traction, even when extremely worn.
The DOWNSIDE is that they only last 50,000 km. Mine are down past 20% and extremely worn in a few places. They have also become very noisy and rolling resistance has increased. A local tire dealer told me that the tread is separating and they need to be replaced.
If you are only keeping a car for a short period of time and you need one tire for all year around then sure, get these. But I would argue it's more cost effective and you'll get better performance with dedicated summer and winter tires. "
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Safety on winter/icy condition. Best All-Weather!

Date:October 23, 2014
" Bought four tires last November 2013. These sets of tires had been my life saver. Drove in a freeway and about to merge into an exit and had this big truck passing by on a fast/accelerated speed and blew my van away off the the highway. Imagine the down-pour of that heavy snow, good thing I got the Optimo 4S, the traction and handling wasn't that bad to manage on a very cruel icy condition and prevented my van from falling in the ditch. Every since, I never stopped promoting this brand of tires. True to their testing and research. The only one approved by RAC to be driven with during snowy/icy conditions. Check it out and do your research. It didn't fail me and saved my life. "
-5points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great year-round tire

Date:October 21, 2014
" We keep them on all year. Not noisy. Good grip in rain and snow. Will purchase again. "
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very good tire

Date:October 20, 2014
" We bought these for our Honda and they were very good. Looking to put them on the Saturn now. "
-3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo BC
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent

Date:October 14, 2014
" I bought these tires last year and they are amazing on my Corolla. I haven't seen much tread wear and they are great in both the rain snow and ice! "
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5