Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop All Season or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Hankook Optimo 4S

Hankook Optimo 4S

Allows you to have only one set of tires year round - both a summer tire and RAC approved winter tireThis tire has been tested for life in Canada
Average Customer Rating:
3.905 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
24
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
9
64 of 84(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hankook Optimo 4S
Review 1 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Pretty Good Tires

Date:November 9, 2014
"A good tire overall. Maybe a little extra noise, but nothing too bad. Way better than the practically bald tires they replaced, just had a big snow storm and they handled almost perfectly the entire time. Good value for the money, plus you can use them all year long."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great wet/dry traction, but only for 50,000 km

Date:October 23, 2014
"I've had these tires on my car for 4 years and they've just ticked over the 50,000 km mark.
The Canadian Tire test video is very accurate - they give great dry and wet traction, even when extremely worn.
The DOWNSIDE is that they only last 50,000 km. Mine are down past 20% and extremely worn in a few places. They have also become very noisy and rolling resistance has increased. A local tire dealer told me that the tread is separating and they need to be replaced.
If you are only keeping a car for a short period of time and you need one tire for all year around then sure, get these. But I would argue it's more cost effective and you'll get better performance with dedicated summer and winter tires."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Safety on winter/icy condition. Best All-Weather!

Date:October 23, 2014
"Bought four tires last November 2013. These sets of tires had been my life saver. Drove in a freeway and about to merge into an exit and had this big truck passing by on a fast/accelerated speed and blew my van away off the the highway. Imagine the down-pour of that heavy snow, good thing I got the Optimo 4S, the traction and handling wasn't that bad to manage on a very cruel icy condition and prevented my van from falling in the ditch. Every since, I never stopped promoting this brand of tires. True to their testing and research. The only one approved by RAC to be driven with during snowy/icy conditions. Check it out and do your research. It didn't fail me and saved my life."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great year-round tire

Date:October 21, 2014
"We keep them on all year. Not noisy. Good grip in rain and snow. Will purchase again."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very good tire

Date:October 20, 2014
"We bought these for our Honda and they were very good. Looking to put them on the Saturn now."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo BC
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent

Date:October 14, 2014
"I bought these tires last year and they are amazing on my Corolla. I haven't seen much tread wear and they are great in both the rain snow and ice!"
+3points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kelowna, BC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Smooth and Quiet

Date:October 12, 2014
"Purchased a set of 4 before traveling 4,000 km last summer. The tires maintained a good grip on the road in dry and wet weather. A very smooth and quiet ride. Fuel economy was comparable with our previous set of tires. Looking forward to driving in the snow to see how well the tires work in the winter. Great price on the set of 4."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

very good tire

Date:October 5, 2014
"I bought 4 optimo 4 s 95000 km ago(2 winters) and I have to say that I am very happy .probably the fact that I drive 95% on hwy was the reason that they last so long .I will buy one more set for my Mitsubishi gallant but after I read so many bad reviews I do not know if I want to buy for my wife Tucson"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Satisfied user

Date:October 1, 2014
"The tires are great, during snow weather the tires were clearly better performing than my summer tires on my second car. It now came the time were I will be replacing my summer tires with another set of optimo 4s"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Tires Wore Too Quickly.

Date:September 26, 2014
"For a Northern Alberta winter: These tires became rock hard in temperatures below 15 degrees. Not good on ice, at all. Does not have treads deep enough to grip and move through unpacked snow. In summer the tires were fine, maybe slightly better than a regular all season in wet conditions. Reduced fuel mileage in summer with these tires. And the worst thing of all (but maybe at the same time the best thing) the tires did not wear very well at all. I got one winter and two summers driving out of them, and was not even a daily driver. They lasted 20,000 km's approximately. Now I'll have to spend money buying a better set of winter tires and a new set of summer tires in appropriate time. Do not believe that these tires will be good in winter conditions due to an all weather claim. You will end up further ahead by purchasing two sets of tires (winter and summer) because of getting more mileage out of them both."
-10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:East GTA
Age:65 or Over
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

225/60/17 on a Buick Terraza Van

Date:September 18, 2014
"These are all weather tires so they are a compromise between winter and all season tires. Of course they won't perform as well in snow/ ice as a dedicated winter tire and the tread will wear down quicker then all season tires. They are the best alternative to having two sets of tires and doing a twice yearly switch over.
I think they are the best buy for the buck when you get them on sale. I researched the Nokia WGR3 (more expensive) and Nokia Nordman WR ((competitively priced but limited availability ) plus Nokia is only available at select tire shops which could be a problem if you encounter a road hazard that destroys a tire.
I have had these tires on my van now since January 12/12 (72,000 km) and will be replacing them before the snow flies with another set of Optimo 4S, As the tread is now getting low
They have performed well in snow, and adequately on ice ( never got stuck in the past two winters in the GTA) I have no complaints with handling on dry roads and do not find them noisey.
Would definitely recommend them to drivers that want one tire to run year round. Where your not plowing through a foot of snow all winter and if you don't mind sacrificing some mileage that you would get from an all season.
"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, ON, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

205/55/R16

Date:August 21, 2014
"London West Location
Excellent service,
Great Tires,
Good buy!
"
-2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Penticton, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:No

Good product and value

Date:July 14, 2014
"Not quite as good as a true winter tire, but a lot better than an all season for winter driving.
Slightly more road noise than a decent all season tire.
Treadlife didn't live up though. Rated at 64,000km, but I only got about 40,000km (vehicle doesn't have any alignment issues,tires were rotated regularly, etc.).
If you don't want to own two sets of tires and be switching them twice a year, and are willing to live with the few above mentioned concessions, then these tires are a good value.
I am planning to replace them with another set of the same. The only other alternative are Nokian WRG3's which are quite a bit more expensive.
"
+12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Excellent

Date:July 5, 2014
"I got 4 of these after the previous tires I had were Motomaster AW's.
The winter traction on my car(Nissan Sentra) was much improved with these tires compared to the AW's I had before. Only downside is they are noisy in the summer but the extra winter traction is worth it."
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes

Prius1 correction

Date:May 26, 2014
"Ok, so I have to leave another review to counter the negative review I left a few months back. As it turns out the tires are not noisy after all but I had a bad wheel bearing! Now my care is quiter then ever and they handle superbly in all conditions."
+11points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cochrane, AB, Canada
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Great tire in all seasons

Date:May 23, 2014
"I purchased a full set of these tires for my CRV in October, 2012. My daily round trip commute is 182 km, plus I've driven to the coast 6 times (+/- 12000 km). It's now May 2014, and these tires still look almost brand new. Winter traction is comparable to full on winter tires, without the headache of switching them out every season. They are a little noisy, but the trade-off is worth it. The best part is not having to carry chains to get through through the mountain passes. I will definitely buy this brand again."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:No
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good tire if it does not snow....

Date:May 18, 2014
"Got 4 of them for my Tucson in October 2011. It was great in 2011/12 winter on snow and ice.
In 2012/13 winter it did hold in snow, was not as good as the previous year
In 2013/14 winter it was very unstable, the car kept on moving around in snow and braking was a nightmare
It did snow well in Toronto but at 30,000 km, I expected a better performance .I feel it is a good 4 season tire for the first 10-15k
On snow, after 20-25k I don't think this tire is advisable. I would replace it before coming winter to be safe (about 40,000 km or less)"
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg

Extremely noisy

Date:April 14, 2014
"This is my first review ever on tires but since I don't want any others to experience what I did I took the time to write. The traction is fair for Winnipeg winters but they are very very noisy. It is a loud howling sound. I drive a Toyota Prius which is supposed to be a quite car, not anymore. Now I am stuck with these and hopefully I get some miles out of them before I scrap them. Next time I buy a tire I will look at the tread first - coarse tread equals noise. On the other hand my Noks I bought for the van at the same time are awesome, better traction and quite."
-12points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Exactly what I was looking for

Date:February 26, 2014
"I purchased a set of 4 of these back in November. I have been driving on them for 4 months now through the worst winter Winnipeg has had in a long time. All I can say is wow. They handle very well, have good grip on the road and are excellent in the snow. Things to remember about tires like these. First, make sure you have a good wheel alignment, otherwise they will wear. Mine show no real wear after 4 months. Keep proper tire pressure. Being under or over will increase wear greatly. Drive properly. No gunning it or slamming on the breaks. I have had all season, winter tires and now these. I like these the best. I have them on my van and will soon put them on my car."
+7points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Hankook Optimo 4S
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Scarborough, Toronto, ON, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Impressive

Date:February 6, 2014
"Purchased a full set in late Nov.2013. The first thing that struck me was how smooth & quiet the tire is. The tire feels like a premium all-season tire, they absorb & cushion bumps & all types of road impacts very well. With so many bad roads in Toronto you need a tire that can absorb road impacts well. I was very surprised at the high level of grip on ice. There has been a lot of ice in Toronto this winter & the tire somehow grips with almost no slippage on ice. General handling is quite good, feels responsive with sporty driving. Very good grip in the wet & dry. The only weakness I've found so far is the tire seams to have some trouble cutting through thick greasy slush; there is some slippage but they still provide enough grip & control in this road condition. Maybe this is because the tire cannot clean itself quickly enough of greasy slush."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5