Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for General Tire Evertrek RT

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

General Tire Evertrek RT

Average Customer Rating:
3.744 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
7
31 of 43(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for General Tire Evertrek RT
Review 1 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Edmonton
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

These wore out so fast!

Date:June 29, 2014
"Same as everyone else. I have to replace them after 3 summers. I run winters the other half of the year. Stay away from these unless you drive a tiny car with no weight."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC, Canada
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

great tires

Date:June 1, 2014
"Delvers confidence inspiring traction and control. As well, good on ice and snow and wear down slower than most."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kitchener, ON, Canada

worn out after 40,000kms

Date:November 17, 2013
"I had 4 of these installed on my 2006 Toyota Sienna 2WD minivan at Canadian Tire 2 years ago and after 40,000 kms there's about 1/8" thread left to the wear bars on all 4. these are cheap tires and you get what you pay for"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

General RT-Super tires

Date:March 21, 2013
"These tires really helped to reduce the cabin noise in our Caliber, and the ride feels the same as the original tires. For the price these are a great tire, as for wear they claim 125 K, we will see."
+15points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

don't be fooled

Date:August 15, 2012
"Looks like a good tire and often on sale. Tire itself performs ok but was shocked at having to replace them after less than 40,000 kms. Wore evenly on all 4 tires so was not an alignment problem, just poor treadwear. Would have been better to go with the motomasters, as now i have to replace these. Hey, it's my lucky day, they're on sale again!!! I won't be fooled again and you shouldn't either."
+81points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

*WARNING* Do not buy these tires!

Date:August 5, 2012
"You get what you pay for! There is a reason there is no mileage claim for these tires. They only last a couple of months, they wear unevenly, they are very loud on the road, they will not balance, and the sidewalls develop bulges. I put 4 tires on in the fall of 2010 and have had to replace all 4 of them already. If you buy these be prepared to loose the smooth quiet drive you had in your vehicle!"
+46points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good tires - rough ride

Date:August 3, 2012
"Pros: These are good tires.
Cons: I like to feel the road but the Dulops I had gave a much smoother ride."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chilliwack, BC

Great for minivans

Date:July 13, 2012
"We did a lot of research before choosing these tires. Happily, they were on sale when we got them.
This is a great tire. Our originals were Bridgestone Potenzas and these tires are ten times quieter and smoother. I don't get why they don't come on the vans from the factory.
We bought them in April and haven't tested them in snow but when we were asking around, we were told that they were great in the snow and that one of the employees at Canadian Tire had gotten a set for his wife's Caravan. She was nervous driving in snowy conditions. As the story went, she was really happy and very confidant with her new Evertreks. Nice to know since we live up a mountain!
Buy these tires. Get the warranty. We just had a screw punch through the tire and it was repaired no questions asked. If you are lucky, they'll be on sale but if not...they are still worth the money."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON

I don't recommend this tire.

Date:June 11, 2012
"We got these General Evertrek RT on sale, we are not happy with them. The tires would wear out quick and in a few months we had to replace two tires because they blow and couldn't hold air. The tires are kind of noisy when your driving."
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:jasper alberta

Dramatic change

Date:April 27, 2012
"i got these today for my 02 honda coupe, handling is impressive and the noise reduction of tires are very well improved. these tires are quiet and i mean it. not bad for a price of 92$ on sale."
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pembroke, ON

Corolla 2003 Great Tire

Date:April 23, 2012
"Great tire, had to travel on business 2 day after purchasing them on a rain soaked hwy 11. They performed great in wet weather and dry. Low rating on snow and tread because I have to info on those categories."
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cape Breton Highlands

Great for the price

Date:April 12, 2012
"I've had these for a year on an 08 Outback.and got them for a great sale price. I live in a mountainous wet area . On wet roads with lots of curves and twists, these have performed well. I wish Can Tire would put the actual wear rating as stamped on the tire. The tead wear they use (100, 000kmetc.) is OK, but the tested wear rating is what counts. I think these are a 440."
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Reasonable Performance, Poor Treadwear

Date:April 9, 2012
"Tires were quiet and performed well. Unfortunately these tires wore out after only 43000kms spring/summer/fall driving only. Tires were rotated regularly and treadwear was even all around. They were down to 3/32 after this short driving period. Best look elsewhere if you want longevity."
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Tires

Date:June 6, 2011
"Replaced the Michelin LX4s on my Honda Odyssey (235/65/16). The Generals seem to be just as grippy and handling is about the same, although we are not "performance" driving. We all agree they are noticeably smoother and quieter. The UTQG numbers are even slightly better. Load rating is the same so I don't expect any problems there. It's too difficult to measure gas mileage accurately enough to see any difference and I won't know about durability for a few years. They are vastly superior to the OE Bridgstone Turanza EL42. Sale price was the best deal on earth."
+39points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg

don't waste your money

Date:December 23, 2010
"Bought these tires for my daughter's '06 Pontiac Pursuit. Had to replace them after less than two years and only 32,000 miles. (sorry - old school)Wore right down to the wear indicators. Yes, pressure, alignment and rotation were all maintained. Even for an inexpensive tire, they should last longer."
+30points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Windsor, ON

Excellent buy!

Date:December 13, 2010
"I just had these installed on my '06 Grand Prix to replace my Goodyear Eagles LS Touring.
First thing I noticed was how quiet they are. We had snow yesterday and no spinning at all. Traction was excellent even though there was only about 2" of snow and slush.
I've had Generals before on a T-Bird and found them to have excellent winter traction and performance on that car as well. They lasted about 110,000 k's. T-Birds are notoriously poor winter cars .
So far, I'm really happy with my choice and they were on sale too! :)
"
+29points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent tire

Date:December 8, 2010
"I put these tires on my 2004 Montana Ext. in Oct 10. They have great cornering and minimal road noise. Traction on wet, snow and icy roads is excellent for an all season tire. As for tread life, I'll have to see. I only put 20000 km a year. So it hope it take awhile to find out. Just for the traction through snow and ice makes it worth buying again. The only tires I have bought that have been the same or better were Pirelli at twice the price."
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mississauga Ontario

BEWARE long term

Date:November 29, 2010
"the intial reviews of these tires are good. but my tires only lasted 35K then had to be replaced. CT techs could not explain why but agreed it could be inferior rubber compound. i had them installed on a 2007 nissan minivan driven on normal roads, mostly highway. tire pressure was electronically monitored so conditions were ideal. tires are warrantied against road hazards but not tread wear so you are out of pocket to replace. grip is good and they perform well but i would not recommend them due to high wear."
+25points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well worth the money

Date:November 29, 2010
"I had a pair placed on the rear of my Sidekick to replace my worn out winter tires and since I already have a pair of General Ameri's on the front I figured I would put some generals on the rear as well. As fate would have it, it snowed the next week.
I was happily surprised at the great traction I got in the snow and slush also the performance cornering and low travel sound is great. I will definately consider buying these tires again.
"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for General Tire Evertrek RT
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Parry Sound

Not suitable for Grandcaravan

Date:November 14, 2010
"I was recommened this tire as the price was right and the specs were outstanding, so I purcased these to replace the original tires in 2008.
The 2004 Grandcaravan would sway back and forth and over steer. It would bounce back and forth on every slight steeing adjustment and was continous work to drive the van and keep it on the road.
One Canadian tire store told me to just live with it.
After 6 weeks and 1500 km I returned to the store that installed the tires. After a lot of testing it was found that the sidewalls were not firm enough to carry the heavier Grandcaravan. I suspect that this tire may be good for other lighter cars.
It was a learning experience for the service department.
They were great and ordered the Michelin Hydro Edge tire for me. It only cost me the difference in the tire cost. Sometimes you only get what you pay for and I could not be happier with the Michlins.
Rather than being unhappy and just living with the problem, I never regret giving a bussiness the opportunity to make me a happy customer.
I was so pleased with the service manager and staff , that I wrote letters to head office.
"
+48points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3