Canadian Tire Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Canadian Tire
Shop Miscellaneous or
Choose a Department

Customer Reviews for Goodyear Nordic

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canadian Tire.

Goodyear Nordic

Average Customer Rating:
4.441 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(236 Reviews) 228
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (236 reviews)
5 stars
150
4 stars
60
3 stars
14
2 stars
4
1 star
8
213 of 236(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Goodyear Nordic
Review 1 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Very good winter tires!

Date:August 10, 2014
"I have had these on both of my cars for years and for the price you cannot beat them. Great grip, control and stopping power on snow. They are a little noisy on dry pavement, but what winter tire isn't. I'm just getting set to to go out and buy two more for the upcoming winter."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 2 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

tires

Date:June 4, 2014
"great price, heard some good things about these, friends have them"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 3 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

winter tire

Date:May 29, 2014
"not the best tire i have used - would probobly go into a Yokohama next time"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 4 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:May 25, 2014
"Great traction. Works well with my Dodge. It is a moey worth purchase."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 5 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St Clements,ON
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Monthly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Goodyear Nordic

Date:May 15, 2014
"Can't go wrong with Goodyear. They make a good long lasting tire like this one."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 6 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miramichi NB

Best purchase ever

Date:May 14, 2014
"Great to have when you are driving safely on public roads"
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 7 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

First time buyer

Date:May 4, 2014
"This is the first winter I have bought winter tires instead of the all season and I have found a huge difference in traction and feel much safer in winter driving conditions. I love them and can't believe I have made it through so many winters without them, slip slidin' around in neutral no more."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 8 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barrie, ON
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

First time purchasing winter tires

Date:May 2, 2014
"I had never purchased winter tires before, and can't believe the difference. These tires had great grip and stopping power and I felt safe in the worst of conditions."
0points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 9 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Kingston, ON, Canada
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Weekly
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:Yes
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Good winter tire, good price! 3.5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2014
"Lived in Canada 14 years and this is the first winter tire I have purchased...and glad that I did with the winter we are having. I have found the colder the weather the better the traction with these tires. No comparison between All Season and these. Grips better and stops better. Not as good when temp is around 0c +/- Good on those rainy days too. Biggest negative for me was the gas mileage. Lost about 200km per tankful with these tires on. Fortunately I work at home and have not traveled much this year."
+2points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 10 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fernie, BC, Canada
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Frequency Of Use:Daily
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

first winter tire - goodyear nordic

Date:January 4, 2014
"This is actually my first dedicated winter tire. I did a bunch of research prior to purchasing these and had gone into the store to purchase a completely different tire. Unfortunately, my local store did not have the tire I wanted so I ended up settling with the Goodyear Nordic and chose to stud them as well. I figured since they are solely a winter tire, it made no sense not to stud them. I used them last winter and the first part of this winter. This is the only winter tire I have ever owned so I don't have anything to compare with but I feel like I should get better performance than I do with these. They are good but I just feel they could be better."
+1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 11 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Lindsay
Age:55 to 64
Gender:Male
Researched the product online before purchasing:Yes
Would purchase next Canadian Tire product online:No
Would purchase a Canadian Tire product as a gift:Yes

Not As Good

Date:December 4, 2013
"I bought these thinking they would be better than the original Nordics. I was mistaken. I spin on wet roads and they do NOT have nearly as good traction as the originals."
-1point
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 12 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Waterloo,ON

good tires

Date:May 23, 2013
"i bought this tires in my first winter in canada. i wanted to take precautions. that's why. but it is really nice."
-49points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 13 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario

Best winter tire you can buy

Date:May 3, 2013
"I have bought a few types of winter tires before but I always come back to these tires. I never have any issues with grip in winter under any condition. I provides confidence when driving in slippery conditions. Tires wear well"
+8points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 14 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good snow tire

Date:April 19, 2013
"I have used these tires on 4 different vehicles,the last 2 times studded,they have served me well in Labrador,nothern Alberta and Nova Scotia winters.Found them very good without studs but excellent with studs.Yes they are noisy but stop,go and stearing is excellent and I got a pleasant suprise in that they don;t hydroplane in very wet weather.Good buy,especially the sales price."
+14points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 15 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:saskatoon, SK

Good for Saskatoon Ice Ruts

Date:April 3, 2013
"We got record snow fall this year and Saskatoon is a small city, all back alley and Cul-de-sacs dont get get plow in winter. With record snow fall and now spring thaw, these tire sinking deep ice and snow ruts are everywhere. This snow tire is simply amazing. Even my light weight Vibe with 1 wheel drive and small ground clearance, I could navigate 10 inches deep rut without too much trouble.The tire able to grip at the edge of the ice without slipping down to the rut which is amazing."
Review Photos
Click for larger images
User submitted photo
+9points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 16 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southwestern Ontario

Definitely worth the money!

Date:January 24, 2013
"About 10 years ago my wife wanted to buy a Mustang. We both have to drive for our jobs in Southwestern Ontario and the one thing I asked her to do was to get snow tires for it,
As it turned out the Nordics were on sale so that is what she purchased.
The first time I drove her car in a decent amount of snow it caught me totally by surprise as to how good they were! Yes they can be noisy but that is really a small price to pay for the excellent traction they supply.
Since we do drive for our jobs we do go through cars faster than most but it also gives us a good idea of how long things like snow tires will last.
Her current car, a Taurus is on its third year of their Nordics and my Fusion is on its fourth season.
Two winters ago on our way to Florida for Christmas we got caught in a snow storm on the I-75 in Kentucky that they shut down the highway for.We made it through there holding about an 80K per hour average just before they closed everything down.
Will I buy them again? You bet!
"
+17points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 17 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC

Exceeds expectactions

Date:January 4, 2013
"Despite the many positive reviews, there weren't many that compared against other tires. I've had plenty of experience driving snow tires in New Hampshire and Vermont on RWD, FWD and AWD cars, so I figured I'd help with my viewpoints.
These Nordics are almost as good as the General Altimax Arctic (Altimax is identical to the original Nokian Hakka 1, which was also sold as a Gislaved Nordfrost) in snow. I've had Altimax on a different Nissan Sentra but same model year in New Hampshire. Noise level is also similar, which is quite loud compared to all-season tires. What I didn't expect was how well these Nordics wear even when driven year-round in Vancouver. They probably won't last as long in the east's hot and dry summers. They should last at least 100,000 kms in Vancouver. They had sufficient grip on a drive to Whistler and back on bare pavement following a 3' snowstorm, and cornering grip was not an issue at all, easily keeping up with the rest of the higher speed traffic. Dry grip and rain grip are better than Altimax, and this really impressed me the most. Snow and ice performance aren't as good as Altimax, Bridgestone Blizzak, nor even as good as Nokian's WR and WR2 all-season (WRs last 30,000 miles, but are still snowflake rated for winter) tires, but the price of the Nordics can't be beat and it's still close enough (no more than 10% loss in snow/ice traction) that the shortcoming is not a safety issue compared to all-season tires (at least 50% loss in snow/ice traction)."
+21points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 18 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto

get what you pay for

Date:December 6, 2012
"Better tha my all season tires in the winter, and pretty goodin deep snow and deep slush. Treads still in good shape, but hard as rock.
Wet roads and ice, my caravan is helpless on these tires. I stay below the peed limit now
I would grab something else next time"
+4points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 19 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB

Great choice for an Edmonton winter.

Date:December 2, 2012
"Highly recommend these tires. We are into season three on a Toyota mini van. Hauling our family of 5 safely on snow, ice, and wet stuff. Great value. I estimate we will go into seasons four with good tread remaining.
They perform extremely well in the city in deep snow, icy intersections, and slush. We have used them to Jasper/mountains and Saskatoon confidently - no issues, only safe travels.
When it comes time to research our next set we will look at these again for sure."
+6points
Was this review helpful to you?
Review 20 for Goodyear Nordic
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Gatineau, QC

Tough and made for Canada

Date:November 29, 2012
"I'm going on my fourth winter and still have a reasonable amount of tread left on these tires. I will say I think they are better on snow than ice. In cold -10 or below conditions many tires will slip especially on black ice or in freezing rain conditions and these tires are no exception.
Where these tires really excel is in snow. They grip and respond well on snow and the braking distance is as advertised, and gets even better if your car is equipped with traction control. On clean pavement road noise is average to loud but typical of winter tires.Overall highly recommended. Try to get them on sale, I did and saved considerably.
"
+10points
Was this review helpful to you?
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12